We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good condition and location”
Review of Golden Nile Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Nile Hotel
Ranked #757 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel is in a great location and I had great service. Great value for money. I decided last minute to go with my partner and it was welcoming. The bar stayed open late and was busy. Over all well worth the money I spent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benanglesea4792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed at the Golden Nile again recently, asked for the same room again with a four poster bed, which was a nice touch. Good central location which means most of the major attractions are within walking distance.

The price we payed for 2 nights B & B seemed very fair and compared directly with others in the street. All in all this place is good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

For a last minute decision to stay overnight in blackpool on pretty much the last weekend of illuminations we were so pleased that we found this place. The owner was happy to move his car so that I could park my car at the front. The bar was open till late and the owners were genuinely very friendly and chatty and inviting. The room was average size and the bathroom was clean. It was definitely more than what we expected. The hotel was fairly quiet as it was mid-week. And this meant that we were allowed a later check out time. Next time we visit blackpool we will be sure to stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearldrops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have just returned from a weekend at this hotel and I was pleasantly surprised at the room and hospitality of the hosts. As it was the Blackpool illuminations period we were extra pleased that we got the room that overlooks the top of the brightly pink lit tower!
Breakfast was yum, and we got chatting to some of the other guests around the pool table so all in all we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Pulling up outside I could see I had made a mistake, it looked bad but nothing could prepare me for what was to come......... As I opened the door the stench hit me, and the owner came out with his bean-stained top asking for the coin and told us instantly to be quiet because of all the family's that were staying there (didn't look many to me, in fact the only people I seen or heard were a couple that popped out there room and echoed the words 'awwww it stinks in here') he then told me to move my car about 8 times before I could even get to it. Then we walked up the stinking corridors, getting all muck on my hands when I touched the banisters, the decor was similar to the bates motel. As we got into the room we instantly labelled the single bed as 'the coffin' as it was squashed in between 2 walls and looked awful. The showers were freezing and I felt I had to wear my socks in them, didn't want to put my feet in the wrong place. During the night I kept hearing a Wierd breathing noise from outside the door as if somebody was out there moving from door to door. We were also awoken by the handle been pulled down (good job we locked it) and then the words 'ten o'clock' being shouted at us. The next day I didn't dare eat the food as we read some other reviews about it, Infact I didn't dare see the owner we dumped the key on the counter and went out

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liamlovinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I know you get what you pay for and this was a cheap room for the night but it was just revolting! The whole place stank, it was VERY dated and dirty! We even went out and bought bedsheets for the bed as the ones on there looked like they had never been washed and were practically worn out! The walls were so thin, we could hear the neighbours coming in, talking, arguing, having sex, really was one of the worst nights sleep or lack of sleep I have ever had! We couldnt wait to get up and out of the place, There are so many B&B's in Blackpool..... chose another!
If it hadnt of been so cold I would have slept in my car!

Room Tip: Find another place to stay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I could right a book on this place, worst hotel i have ever stayed in. As soon as we walked in it stunk of human remains, the bloke who greeted us (think hes the owner) has 1 tooth and must be alergic to water as he cant of had a bath in months. Carpets could be on the antiques roadshow they are that old, the rooms are so scruffy and tiny, we borrowed an ironing board and it stunk of curry. You came out of the shower dirtier than when you went in, as an ex soldier i have ate in fields, iraq and afghanistan were cleanliness wasnt the best, however there was no chance of me eating in that dining room. There was all kinds of dirt on the walls and lampshades i wont even say what it looked like, dont book this hotel! The one plus side i would say is that the bedding was actually fresh.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnyburgerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#49 of 73 in Blackpool
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
414 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#46 of 73 in Blackpool
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grange House Hotel
Grange House Hotel
#58 of 861 in Blackpool
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#90 of 861 in Blackpool
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barrons Hotel
Barrons Hotel
#217 of 861 in Blackpool
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nile Hotel

Address: 55-57 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #757 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £39 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Nile Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Nile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing