We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of North Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Ocean Hotel
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the North Ocean Hotel for 1 night . On our arrival I was met by Wayne who kindly took our bags up to our room, we booked a double room with the possibility of a Seaview at check in there was none left which was perfectly ok as we only booked the night before so never expected to be any left however Wayne upgraded us to a bigger room which was a real nice touch.

After a nice walk down the promenade we came back had couple drinks at the bar & sat with Wayne & the guys , great bunch of guys who are genuine and want you to have a great time staying with them & take pride in making sure you do.

The room was spotless ! Very clean & had the most amazing mattress to sleep on, we had a early rise to go enjoy the pleasure beech the next day but struggled to get out off bed it was that comfy!

Included in the very reasonable price was a lovely cooked breakfast ! Set us right up for the busy day ahead!

We defiantly found our home away from home when visiting Blackpool.

As the headline says

NOT TO BE MISSED

Thank you wayne & the team for making it fantastic stay .

Richard & Natalie

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Many thanks for a great review Richard and Natalie, it's much appreciated. It was a pleasure meeting you and having you to stay at the hotel. You were a great young couple and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Wayne on reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel after reading positive reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed! From the moment you arrive Wayne and his staff look after you,initially by taking your luggage up to your room for you!Room-superb sea view, very clean recently renovated, food- had breakfast and evening meal, both of high quality and plenty of it! Very reasonable price for the weekend,and far enough out of the mayhem, but easy to get into.Would not hesitate to re-visit and recommend this great hotel.Wayne and staff, many thanks, the McClure family.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank dmac1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for a great review Denise and Family! It was great to meet you and glad you had a great time in 'Great Blackpool'. Look forward to seeing you again. Wayne on Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

On a girly weekend in Blackpool this hotel only added to what was a really memorable seaside break away. It was a truly lovely place to stay, ticking every box possible. Wayne was an absolute gem, Chris and the other staff were something special and all would go out of their way to be warm and approachable. This coupled with a beautiful sea view room, cleaned to perfection, outstanding food of which the portion sizes were huge and a good location to be able to walk to and from the centre of Blackpool along the promenade in around 20 minutes. The tram stop is about 5 minutes away as well making it easy to access the centre at night. The whole weekend was a fab girly weekend made all the better by picking a wonderful hotel that was a pleasure to stay at. We will be back as soon as we can for more of the same. Lots of love to Wayne and the team from Lauren & Jules

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurenthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Many thanks Lauren & Jules for taking the time to write such a warm review. You were amazing guests, fun, lively and perfect ladies thought your stay. Although some days exhausted, we're still very much loving what we are doing at the hotel and it's all because of guests like you! We can't wait to see you again soon! Wayne on reception x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

When I reviewed the north ocean in march I said they'd get a ten from len , after several more visits the place just gets better and better. You usually find on returning to hotels that it wasn't quite what you thought the first time ,as I said above not here they are always striving to improve all aspects of how they run it . Wayne and all the team cannot do enough for you nothing is too much trouble,we cant wait to return in august for the bank holiday and relax and enjoy things ( especially a few beers with wayne,dave and chris) . We are staying in a fabulous sea view suite so we know we will have plenty of space to enjoy ourselves and sample the fabulous food while we are there
See you soon Steve and Kay

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Steve and Kay, what can we say apart from thank you for all your support! In our first four months of being open you've been to stay a total of eight times! Each time we look forward to seeing you and having a good giggle. You've seen the ongoing alterations being made to the hotel and watched on as things develop with the new business. We've used you as Guinea pig's for new dishes from the kitchen. You wrote the infamous ''Ten from Len'' review which so many guests have commented on during their stay and now this is your second review. A MASSIVE THANK YOU!!! and see you again soon. Wayne, Dave and Chris x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was a last minute decision on my part, and I was lucky to find one single room remaining.
What a great weekend!
Greeted by name by Wayne as I arrived, and Chris took my bag up to the room. Both really nice touches.
I had #22, with a wonderful sea view. 2 and a half flights up. A pair of cow-patterened ironing boards and irons stand guard outside the door - and at several other points throughout the hotel.

The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the pure white linen on it very appealing. The hotel does not take hen/stag parties or very young children, and they are very keen to stop any kind of encroaching noise - in return, they ask you to take care with make-up etc on the pristine whiteness of the bedding and towels ~ and you certainly feel like you want to try!

The room had a bedside drawer unit, and plenty of hangers in an open hanging space above.
It had a full-sized kettle, and a hair dryer - just lying on the unit, not wired into the wall or a drawer as in so many places.

The bathroom was spotless, with a good shower, and a well-flushing loo!

Breakfasts were amazing, the full English was so tasty, completely irresistible.
Evening meals were also great - huge portions, even when I tried to order the smallest thing on offer (a toasted sandwich), that was massive too, and delicious. Oh, and incredibly good value too.

5 minutes' walk to the tram stop for access to Blackpool, Fleetwood and all points in between.

From lending me a usb plug to providing a fan for the bedroom to just a bit of a chat en passant, Wayne and Chris were excellent hosts. It really did feel like staying with friends, and I hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ailidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

What a wonderful review from an even more wonderful lady! Thank you so much Alice it was a pleasure having you as a guest. . Room 22 has everything needed for a comfortable stay and the added bonus of a great sea view through a large window. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Wayne x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent hotel, spotlessly clean with very friendly staff who go that extra mile for there customers!! The food is to die for and bar prices are a Brucey bonus. Wayne and Chris keep up the good work and we will be back next year for "the usuall" lol,,,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dunclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Many thanks for taking a few minutes to write the great review, we appreciate it very much and for your support in deciding to come back for more punishment next year! Your ''usual'' evening meal will be ready for you!! See you next year! Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Lovely hotel, well run by Wayne and enthusiastic team. The location is good too - away from the madness - good sized rooms - we had suites with a sea view. Highly recommended. The "full English" gets 5 stars. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FootlooseLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

No idea who you are FootlooseLondon, but thank you and you're most welcome. Hope to see you again soon! Wayne on reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
3.0 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,196 reviews
3.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,172 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,310 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Ocean Hotel

Address: 390 - 392 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £58 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality promenade hotel in Blackpool. Clean, professional, friendly and very reasonably priced. Evening meals are available in Radley's Bistro from 5pm to 10pm every evening. Great Location on the North Promenade. Open all Year. All En-Suite Bedrooms. Free Wi-Fi. Fabulous Breakfast served 8.30am-10am Free Parking (limited on front of hotel) Flat Screen TV's and Tea & Coffee making Facilities in all Rooms. Sun Terrace overlooking the Promenade. 24 Hour front desk. NO Stag or Hen Parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your North Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing