We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable value for money; outstanding customer service!”
Review of North Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Ocean Hotel
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Remarkable value for money; outstanding customer service!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our second stay in Blackpool. The first time, we stayed in Langtrys (which I also reviewed), which is beautiful, but pricey. So, we opted for a cheaper option this time - the North Ocean Hotel - and we were delighted! It's excellent value for money and Wayne, Chris and the other staff go to great lengths to ensure their guests are happy. Our room was disappointing in terms of the view (the wall and windows opposite) and size (poky), but in terms of facilities and cleanliness it was excellent. We never usually eat supper in hotels, but we were so exhausted on the first night that we did - and it was fantastic (good value, fresh, and with a promotional offer on wine). Likewise, the breakfasts were cooked to order and were superb. We felt happy, relaxed, and valued, and that's why we've already booked a room - this time with a sea view - for next year! Thank you, Wayne and co!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaRew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review Emma (and I presume Richard), it's much appreciated and pushes us on to do even better. Bookings are coming in thick and fast with the best and biggest rooms going first so I'm pleased you've booked a great room for the same time next year. See you soon! Wayne on reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    71
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
120
505
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Needed a family room and after looking for 2 days on trip advisor for a decent, clean hotel in Blackpool was becoming very frustrated. Decided to call the North Ocean Hotel to see if there was anything they could suggest. Spoke to Wayne who immediately suggested a double and twin room which he could supply next door to each other - problem solved. Upon arrival was greeted by Wayne who was very welcoming. Bags were carried to the room which was not needed but provides the 'extra-touch' the Hotel supplies. Rooms were spotless, good sizes (nice decent size bathroom with shower and bath) and beautifully furnished. Decided to try their 'evening meal menu' - food was delicious and of the highest standard. Hubby had the steak on the stone option which he said was the best steak he's ever eaten. Breakfast was lovely, well cooked with top notch produce used (can blame you for our weight-gain). Spent a few nights having a chat with the guys when returning for a drink at the bar of a night - hardworking, lovely people and really do hope this business venture becomes everything they hope for. Wouldn't hesitate to return to or recommend this accommodation - think their reviews speak for themselves. Good luck for the future to all the staff and thanks for making our stay as good as it was. xx Jennie Mc (stayed July 27th & 28th in rooms 7&9)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniemc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Many thanks Jennie and George for taking the time to write such a great review. We try our best that's for sure and it makes life easier for us when guests are as nice as you three! Nothing more to add here as that should say it all. See you again soon! Wayne on reception x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Honestly have no idea how to even start this review as it was all exceptional. Arrived around lunch time on 27th July and we were greeted really warmly by reception. Given all sorts of useful informaton about dinner and breakfast. Our bags were then taken up to our room for us which really is a nice touch.

The room was just wow. We had a deluxe double room and the view was superb and could not fault anything at all with the room. Even though we were road facing there was very very little noise which was great for a great night sleep. Large rooms, perfect size bathroom, lots of towels, very comfy bed and great facilities for tea/coffee making.

We were out all day and decided to head back to hotel and have our dinner there as the deal for £11.95 for two courses and a bottle wine we couldn't pass on that! We didn't even need to have two course as our mains were superb as you can see from the photos! Excellent value for money and the prawns/scallops were perfection I have never seen presentation like it before.

Breakfast was very good. I'm not a massive breakfast person but the staff were very helpful and made me some scrambled egg on its own which I could have toast with that you can make. Good selection of juices and cereals also. Full English looked and tasted great according to my sister.

Overall I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Blackpool when I return. It really is the best of the best and I could not fault anything at all about it. Staff are so friendly and you really do feel at home when you visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
What a fantastic review Danielle, thank you so much for taking the time. We do try and make guests feel relaxed and enjoy their stay at the hotel, happy guest are returning guests and of course make us feel relaxed and happy in the process where we are then able to offer a better service. You ate on the first night that we were offering On the Stone meals so you were one of the first to try and glad you enjoyed the fish platter with scallops, tiger prawns and fresh tuna. So, thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again at the hotel. Wayne on reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Wow where do we start apart from at the start. We were met by Wayne at the front door and were immediately put at ease having never stayed in this hotel before. Chris was shortly on hand to carry our bags to our room although we did choose to do this ourselves.

Our room (21) was scrupulously clean, fresh and perfectly adequate for our 3 night stay. The bathroom again was scrupulously clean, fresh and hygienic. If guests wish for somewhere clean with very comfortable beds and an adequate room size they won't go wrong at the North Ocean. In addition to the rooms the North Ocean has a very comfortable lounge and bar area and a very comfortable balcony area where guests can relax and watch the sunset whilst enjoying their favourite tipple.

Breakfast was another wonderful experience with all staff very attentive and willing to go the extra mile even when Mr Picky (aka myself) requested chopped tomatoes with my breakfast rather than beans. Not a problem! Wayne soon had one of his staff dispatched to the shop to purchase a tin especially for me...what service!

The North Ocean also does a fantastic evening menu from which guests just have to try the Steak on a Stone! The Ribeye was fantastic and because it comes served upon a hot stone you can let it cook to your own taste...just perfect. We also have to mention the starters; again they were just to die for. The prawn cocktail was a meal in itself and very beautifully presented, I myself had the breaded mushrooms which comes served with a homemade garlic dip and this is something you have to try...delicious! Again we requested something not on the menu to go with our steaks and yet again not a problem as Wayne had the chef make up some peppercorn sauce especially for us, you really can't fault service like this!

Wayne and Chris have only been at the North Ocean since December and in fact have only been open to guests for 4 months. In that time they have moved to the number one slot on Trip Advisor which is far better praise for the North Ocean than my wife and I could ever achieve by writing this review.

I hope this review helps to make up your mind to stay at the North Ocean as it truly is a jewel in the North Shore crown. We really cannot recommend this hotel enough and if we had to say one thing it would be...

BOOK EARLY!

Thank you Wayne, Chris and all the staff at The North Ocean you really made our short break a wonderful and unforgettable experience. Penny and I will see you again this time next year...we can't wait!

Chris & Penny (Lincolnshire)

Room Tip: Book Early...really I cannot stress this enough these guys are taking bookings for 2015 already!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris-n-Pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Ditto, where do I start also? Thank you so much for a wonderful wonderful review Chris and Penny. Rome wasn't built in a day and this is only our 4th month open to guests so when you come back again next year for the darts you should see many changes and improvements made at the hotel.

Steak or Fish on the Stone is something new that we've only just started and it's proving really popular already in the first week. You are correct in saying about the bookings for 2015, we can't believe it and periods like May bank holiday 2015 are already about 50% booked. All suites are also fully booked for the world darts next July (including yours). We know we are very lucky and have you and our other fabulous guests to thank for this. Really look forward to seeing you again next July (if not before for a sneaky weekend away!) Wayne on reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I would like to take this opportunity to give a big thank you to Wayne, David, Chris and the rest of the team for a wonderful time. The hotel is spotless and fresh. The first night we arrived late after attending a wedding in Preston and Wayne and Chris were waiting for us with a warm welcome. We had a great sleep in crisp and fresh smelling comfy bed. The next day we were upgraded to a sea view room, Wow!!! it was stunning. Even though our first room was great, the sea view room is to die for, everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel, plus the amazing beautiful view of the sea and sky. I have been to many hotels around the world and I have never witnessed the beauty of the sunset from my bed hovering over the sea. Wayne and his team will make you feel at home, but with many added bonuses including the delicious breakfast that is professionally served to you. The time spent at the North Ocean was truly magical and my wife and I will certainly be returning in the future. A million thanks from Tony and Oksana.

Room Tip: Room 26, Stunning View From Your Bed
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Many thanks for a fantastic review Tony and Oksana, it was a pleasure having you both as guests. We could only fit you in a twin room for the first night as we were fully booked but glad we managed to squeeze you in a suite for the second night where you are correct in saying the view over the promenade and sea is stunning. These rooms are proving so popular with bookings going well into 2015. Once again thank you for both coming to stay and writing this wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Wayne on reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from weekend away with friends at the north ocean hotel. What a fantastic hotel this is, worth every penny. Very well run, fantastic service, very clean and fantastic food. Wayne, Chris and staff can't do enough for you book at this hotel and you won't book at another hotel in blackpool again. Book a seaview room for a little extra and you won't be dissapointed. Ps thanks again for great time guys

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sshieldslads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Many thanks for a supper review gentlemen. I call you gentlemen because that's exactly what you were and you're welcome back absolutely anytime! In fact we insist that you return some day! We could see that you were a tight knit group of true friends and enjoyed a few days away together. See you soon! Wayne on reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My daughter and I have just come back from a weekend stay at this hotel, As we arrived we were truly impressed with the location and cleanliness. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel with a stunning view of the sea. We were greeted by Wayne who couldn't have done more for us. When we were shown to our room I was pleasantly greeted with a bottle of wine and chocolates as it was my birthday. The entire stay all the staff were incredibly polite and would bend over backwards for all their guests. In all the years we have stayed in hotels this was truly one of the best, the staff made it feel like a home from home. The food is impeccable and the portions are generous. Everything is very reasonably priced including the alcohol.
It was an absolute pleasure to stay there and meet Wayne and chris, I would certainly recommend it to anyone and hopefully we will be back in November !! Thanks team! Una and lucie x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucieAllen1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Many thanks Una and Lucie for a wonderful review after a great few days at the hotel. It was lovely to meet you both and have a bit of a giggle on your special birthday weekend. Really really hope you can make it again in November! Wayne on reception x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
477 reviews
3.0 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,195 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Ocean Hotel

Property: North Ocean Hotel
Address: 390 - 392 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — North Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality promenade hotel in Blackpool. Clean, professional, friendly and very reasonably priced. Evening meals are available in Radley's Bistro from 5pm to 10pm every evening. Great Location on the North Promenade. Open all Year. All En-Suite Bedrooms. Free Wi-Fi. Fabulous Breakfast served 8.30am-10am Free Parking (limited on front of hotel) Flat Screen TV's and Tea & Coffee making Facilities in all Rooms. Sun Terrace overlooking the Promenade. 24 Hour front desk. NO Stag or Hen Parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your North Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing