We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of North Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Ocean Hotel
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed at the North Ocean last night. Thanks to Wayne and the staff for a brilliant stay, couldn't have wished for a better place. Room was perfect, bar inexpensive and very homely, breakfast was delicious and the room ultra comfortable. Thanks again people and we will certainly see you again, very soon!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Many thanks Ian for a great review and glad you both enjoyed your short stay with us. Our aim is to make all guests feel comfortable from the moment they arrive and during the whole stay, no matter how short. If you're happy we're happy! Look forward to seeing you again soon! Wayne on reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    61
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
114
483
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with a girlfriend, for a few days away from Glasgow. Wayne and all the staff were delightful. So polite, very friendly and informative. Place was clean, beds so comfortable.. so much so we couldn't get out of it for our hangover breakfast before 10.00am! Wouldn't hesitate going back. See you soon hopefully!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Many thanks for a lovely review Layla, it was great to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us soon! Wayne on reception x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just got home after a couple of days in Blackpool, don't bother going anywhere else , this place will do you just fine . food excellent, top marks chef. Decorating throughout is unfussy and nicely done and I know how difficult that can be in a busy establishment. Staff all great and hotel is clean and faultless. Keep up the good work folks and you will succeed, but just remember that trip advisor is always going to throw up a negative review from time to time,you will never please everyone all the time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Many thanks for the great review Dave, it's appreciated very much. We're working very hard to achieve the end result we desire and have many plans for the hotel over the next 12 months. After we finish every bedroom (should be 4 to 6 weeks from now) we can start to concentrate on the finishing touches.

Your dead right about a looming negative review and when that day comes we'll simply and professionally respond, learn from it and move forward. I realise that you can't please everybody all of the time but it's how problems are handled that matter to guests and should in itself speak volumes about us. Thank you once again for visiting the hotel and then leaving a great review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Wayne on reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Just had 2 nights stay at north ocean hotel & it was fantastic.. Wayne & Chris.. What can I say, these guys are top class, nothing was too much they went above & beyond top class service & also lovely genuine guys, made our stay a pleasure.
The hotel has been renovated to a high standard & is immaculately clean, our room had beautiful sea views, bath & shower, tea & coffee facilities & a flat screen TV.
The food at the hotel was amazing !! We ate at the hotel both nights of our stay, we only planned on eating at the hotel on our first night but the food was sooooo good we ate in the second night too. If your a lover of steak you must try steak on a hot stone, best steak we've ever eaten! Also had fish & chips which was beautiful & was in the option of 2 courses for £11.95 which is excellent value for top quality food & huge portion sizes.
Both nights of our stay we had drinks in the hotel bar, Wayne & Chris would ask about your day, give info on nice places to visit & there always was good conversation & abit of banter!! I cannot praise these guys enough they made our stay at Blackpool amazing & we cannot wait to return
Thanks for a fab two days guys & see you soon,
Claire & Vinny xx

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Many thanks for the cracking review Claire and Vinny, it's much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, it was nice chatting and cooking for you on both nights. Some guests leave it until the last night to eat in the restaurant and end up kicking themselves whilst remembering how much they spent and what they have eaten for the first few days in Blackpool, so I'm pleased you decided to eat on the first night. Thanks once again and we look forward to your return! Wayne on reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at the hotel. Stayed in a room at the front of the hotel with a big bay window, great view. The hotel is spotless and Wayne, the proprietor, can't do enough for his guests. The breakfasts are top quality. If you're planning a stay in Blackpool, look no further, we'll certainly be back. Thanks Wayne.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monster4459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Owner at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Wonderful review greatly received from this unknown person, thank you. Although, looking at the other reviews you have for Blackpool I believe I know who this is. If correct, thank you for coming to stay at the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Thanks to everyone there, great place to stay. Nice clean rooms with plenty of room. Breakfast was amazing. We'll done to All the staff. Was an easy walk into the center of town. Great location with transport within easy reach

Room Tip: Ocean view room would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Many thanks for the nice review Peter. The one thing that we can't do anything about is the weather, but it'll annoy you to know today the weather is lovely! So you'll just have to come back soon! It was lovely to meet you both and hope your UK tour goes well. Wayne on reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Left this morning and what can I say, if you are wanting a somewhere nice to stay for your break in Blackpool then look no further, Wayne & his team will look after your from the start to finish of you break. It's a bit further than the North Pier, but with the trams outside everywhere is accessible, and away from the madness of the centre.
The hotel rooms are all nearly renovated, and to a high standard, tea & coffee facilities, all on-suite, ours had a bath & shower, hair-dryer & flat screen TV !!
Breakfast is cooked freshly and enough to keep the hunger pains at bay for most of the day. I did not eat in the evening there, but whilst using the bar for a quick drink before going out the food which I saw come out look fantastic and plenty on the plate

I would definatley recommend to anyone to use the North Ocean Hotel, I would use again on my next visit to Blackpool

Keep up the good work lad's

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaynorTuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Many thanks for a great review Gaynor. It was good to meet you all and glad you had a nice time in Blackpool. We look forward to seeing you again soon at the hotel. Maybe you can try some of our evening food next time. Wayne on reception x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
3.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Ocean Hotel

Property: North Ocean Hotel
Address: 390 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — North Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality promenade hotel in Blackpool. Clean, professional, friendly and very reasonably priced. Evening meals are available in The Stone Grill from 5pm to 10pm every evening. Great Location on the North Promenade. Open all Year. All En-Suite Bedrooms. Free Wi-Fi. Fabulous Breakfast served 8am-10am Free Parking (limited on front of hotel) Flat Screen TV's in all RoomsTea & Coffee making Facilities in all Rooms. Sun Terrace overlooking the Promenade. 24 Hour front desk. NO Stag or Hen Parties and NO Children under 14 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your North Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing