We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Ocean Hotel”
Review of North Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
North Ocean Hotel
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends for one night after a Walking Football tournament. Wayne and his staff were very accommodating from the outset. The hotel was extremely comfortable and the rooms were clean. The food was excellent. Parking was available on the streets at the back of the hotel. The North Ocean is located in at the quieter end of Blackpool so if you are heading further into town for instance then the hotel will be nice to come back to as it is away from the hustle and bustle. Close to the piers and the famous tower. I would definitely recommend The North Ocean Hotel to friends and family and would definitely choose this hotel myself again, very friendly and welcoming. :-)

Room Tip: I only stayed one night so difficult to say. It was my first visit to The North Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CHughes178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Many thanks for a great review. What a happy bunch you were and it was a pleasure to meet you all. See you again next year. Wayne on reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is slightly out of the way but exceeds the quality of all other Blackpool b&bs by miles! Rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable. During our stay, the bathrooms were quickly and cleanly refurbished to include sparkly shower heads which changed colour!
What makes this hotel so brilliant however is Wayne and his team. We were looked after from the moment we arrived, our bags were carried from the car and into our rooms and we were made to feel like nothing at all was any trouble, even a phone call in the middle of the night by my daughter for a wifi password! The breakfast was delicious and absolutely outstanding with so much variety. Service is friendly and prompt and we felt well cared for. My daughter who is vegetarian was told she could eat anything that she wanted for dinner so long as she could give 3 hours notice when we enquired what the choice was. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone, 10/10. Thanks Wayne and the team!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank AngelaDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

WOW what a review, thank you so much! We try our best but it's not just me, it's a whole team effort and from a team who take pride in what they are doing. Given a little notice we can source most ingredients for most dietary requirements and do this with pleasure. As for the internet password, it's written on a sheet in all bedrooms but don't worry your daughter won't be the first to miss this and she certainly won't be the last. It was a total please to meet you all and hope to see you again soon! Wayne on reception x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The staff where brilliant very welcoming breakfast was very nice and the staff couldn't do enough for you evening food was very nice too the pool room was a good place to chill out after a long day and the room and shower where very Clean and the hotel has free wifi would go back

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Many thanks for a nice review Danielle. It was great to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Just sorry about the weather during your stay, but it is Blackpool after all. Hope to see you again soon! Wayne on reception x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Made to feel so welcome by Wayne and the Team, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.....stayed the one night to be near the beach and piers......nice, short walk along the promenade to "The Tower"; also close to tram stops.
No problem parking in streets nearby....
Room very comfortable with lovely sea view, clean, comfortable and very spacious. Just 'loved' the flashing lights in the shower! Breakfast nice and plenty of choice.
Wish Wayne and the Team all the very best for the future, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the "flashing lights in the shower"...made my morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS07214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Many thanks for great review, it's appreciated very much. You'll be pleased to know that virtually every shower now has flashing lights! We thought we'd bring our own Blackpool illuminations into the hotel! Glad you enjoyed your stay and of course hope to see you again! Wayne on reception x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Spent 1 night ,19th August, loved every minute and gutted we had to leave. We were here to see Mamma Mia, this also is amazing and highly recommend. Wayne, Chris, Jack and the breakfast staff(sorry don't know your names) were brilliant they cooked our meals ready for sitting down spot on 6pm so we would be ready for the show. The food was amazing , very big portions and well cooked. We also enjoyed the breakfast. Wayne gzve us timetable information for the trams in the afternoon and later in the evening he called a taxi for us to go to our show. Thank you all for a lovely stay. Jackie and Heather

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Many thanks for a fabulous review Jackie and Heather it's much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your one night stay at the hotel and had a fab time at Mamma Mia. Staff read new reviews and they'll appreciate being mentioned for sure. You were great guests so please come back and see us again! Wayne on reception x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

You might think that Blackpool was past it's best, a relic from a bygone era. Not so it seems, as the team at NOH have raised the bar and injected life into a town in need of a facelift. We only stayed for one night, but in that time the first impressions and continued excellence of service and accommodation mean that we will certainly return for an extended break. Having parked in the allocated spaces out front, we were welcomed with a firm handshake and hello from Wayne, who checked us in and made a call to have our bags carried upstairs. Spotlessly clean and furnished to an unfussy bright standard, Room 23 offered great views of the Sea, and a very comfortable living space. Our favourite touch was the shower head, which sparkled away in true Saturday Night Fever fashion each time we paid a visit. It had me reaching for my white suit and gold medallion! The hotel also benefits from a strict 'no noisy reveller' policy which ensured we had a sound nights sleep despite the howling winds outside. Dinner was superb, after we had visited the games room, resplendent with pool table, dart board and an outside space for enjoying a drink or two al fresco. We took advantage of the restaurant offer, taking two courses and having a free bottle of excellent Pino Grigio. A well stocked bar also catered to all tastes, including a decent draft Cider, which is becoming so rare as hens teeth. We had mammoth Prawn Cocktail, and Tempura Prawns to start, which were large in portion size and perfectly cooked. For our mains, we opted for Steaks on a stone, which I can only say that if you like meat, you must have. In fact, as word gets round Blackpool, you might find the restaurant fully booked on your next visit, with no room for Guests. Alongside fresh as a daisy chips and side salad, the steaks arrived sealed on both sides sitting on a piping hot stone, enabling us to slice and cook the meat as we liked. Paired with three tasty sauces, I can't tell you how good it was. But I will, it was melt in the mouth stuff. Bravo. Needless to say, the Breakfast was equally good, cooked to order with the freshest ingredients, along with fresh bread to toast, and coffee re-filled at your leisure. Congratulations to Wayne, Chris and the Team for breathing new life into Blackpool, and proving that hard work and a smile go a long way. My only complaint is that you're not charging enough! See you soon.

Room Tip: 23. A perfect Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeBeth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

WOW, I couldn't have written a better advert myself! Thank you so much to you both. Perfect guests, even if it was just for one night. I'm a bit lost for words and don't think I need to add much to what you have already said apart from a big thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Wayne on reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

just got back yesterday from a 4 night stay with wayne and the team .if your going to blackpool this is the only place to stay from walking through the door you are made to feel so welcome ,we stayed in room 9 lovely room with every thing you need to hand .we booked for the evening meal on the 1 st night and was so impressed by the quality and service didn't eat anywhere else, the food is to die for and service the best you could wish for . the bar is well stocked and really good value for money cheaper than drinking in the centre of blackpool .we loved the place so much we have booked for my 50th birthday in December im counting down the days already ,see you all soon guys and keep up the fantastic work that you all do xxxxx

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bluebell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Reception at North Ocean Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Many thanks for a absolutely fantastic review John and Julie! It really was great to meet, chat and cook for you each evening. Glad you mentioned the food! It's something that we like to do and love it when guests say wow and take photos of the dishes when they go to the table. You also must be the first person actually looking forward to their 50th birthday! See you in December! Wayne on reception x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,332 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,279 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Ocean Hotel

Address: 390 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £48 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality promenade hotel in Blackpool. Clean, professional, friendly and very reasonably priced. Evening meals are available in Radley's Bistro from 5pm to 10pm every evening. Great Location on the North Promenade. Open all Year. All En-Suite Bedrooms. Free Wi-Fi. Fabulous Breakfast served 8.30am-10am Free Parking (limited on front of hotel) Flat Screen TV's and Tea & Coffee making Facilities in all Rooms. Sun Terrace overlooking the Promenade. 24 Hour front desk. NO Stag or Hen Parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your North Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing