We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“honeymoon in blackpool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hounddog Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hounddog Hotel
Ranked #247 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“honeymoon in blackpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

we have just spent our honeymoon at the hounddog hotel where julie and phil were once again outstanding hosts.we were greeted with a lovely cuppa, shown to our fantastic room with four poster bed which was amazingly comfortable.the breakfast was brilliant as usual and the evening meals left us full indeed.cant think of a better way to start our married life than stayin here with an amazing couple.thank you julie and phil .see you soon karen and fintan mcpherson

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

As normal great time with Phil and Julie, breakfast great! room great! very helpful always there to help in any way in which they can, great location to central pier and the town. Many many thanks Martin, Teressa and all the family.

Room Tip: Room 3 for large familys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Definetly the best B & B in Blackpool thanks to Julie & Phil. Stayed here for 3 nights in August. The evening meal was great. We had chicken one night, beef the next & gammon the last night with all the trimmings. The puddings were just as good. Phil & Julie even stayed up with us having a drink & nattering with us. They are so friendly. Upon arrival we were greeted with a nice cuppa. The beach is just a five minute walk away & the town just a 15 minutes away. Aready booked up for the illunimations.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Browneyedbeauty68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Me my mum and my little girl all stayed in this b n b it was brilliant food and brilliant company.would 100% stay here over and over again.i made the most of a cooked breakfast every morning and was offerd a great selection of cold and hot breakfasts choice.thank you julie and phil you helped us have a fantastic weekend

harriette,veronica and gracie.xxx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hettybettyboo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Just got back from yet another brilliant 3 night stay at the Hounddog. We went half board and had a different meal every evening so I don't know what that Scottish family were harping on about. They are the only people ever to give a bad review. Myself, my hubby and 2 daughters went for a break at the hounddog again, it's just so fantastic, we wouldn't go anywhere else. Phil and Julie are absolutely brilliant they do anything for you. They are always up for a laugh and always on hand should you need anything. They are with their guests from morning til night every day. Thankyou to you both for a fabulous time once again. Will be seeing you soon. Love Janice and co. x

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeJay1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

My family and i have just returned from a four day stay at the fabulous Hound Dog Hotel.The owners Phil and Julie are a credit to the hotel industry.Their enthusiasm and the entertaining way that you are treated as a guest are truly remarkable as is the high standard of service..Our children loved every minute,especially when Phil gave the kids one of his famous puzzles to solve.The room we had,room 3 was absolutely perfect and such a delight to stay in,the room was very bright and airy and very comfortable.Breakfasts were excellent as Phil and Julie personally came to your table and asked you what you would like to have.In the evenings when you returned to the hotel,Phil and Julie were on hand with offers of tea and coffee,and refreshments for the children and then there was Phil's speciality his laptop Juke box which was very entertaining.Nothing was ever too much trouble.If you are looking for a memorable holiday in Blackpool then we have no hesitation in recommending The Hound Dog Hotel.We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked again for the October half term.In our opinion you arrive as a guest and you leave feeling as if you are part of the family Well done.

Richard & Fiona Wark and family.

Room Tip: Room 3 first floor,facing the front.Outstanding family room sleeps 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Phil & Julie are a lovely couple, nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is fantastic... best we've had in Blackpool in all the years we've been going. They had everything we could possibly need for my 2yr old and were fantastic with her.
The hotel is in a great central location and kept lovely & clean.
Would most def recommend this to anyone. Thank's again Julie, Kath & Carmen

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curly_1676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.5 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#302 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#84 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Maydor
The Maydor
#352 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#219 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#342 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hounddog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hounddog Hotel

Property: The Hounddog Hotel
Address: 25 Bairstow Street, Blackpool FY1 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Hound Dog' is a small, friendly, family run hotel / Guesthouse located just off the promenade in Central Blackpool. Being only seconds from the promenade and Central Pier; and only a few minutes walk from the Tower, Winter Gardens, Grand Theatre and all the town centre shops and attractions you will find the Hound Dog the perfect location from which to base your Blackpool holiday. The 'Hound Dog' has 6 tastefully decorated bedrooms (4 family and 2 double), 3 of which are fully en-suite. All are maintained to a high level of cleanliness. Your full English breakfast is cooked to order and served in our light and spacious dining room. Special diets can be catered for with prior notice. Families, Couples and Senior Citizens will always find the warmest of welcomes from what is rapidly becoming one of the most popular small hotels in Blackpool. 'Never treated as a room number, but as an extended part of our family.' One night bookings also accepted. Own keys are provided so you can come and go as you please. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing