We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, amazing people”
Review of The Hounddog Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hounddog Hotel
Ranked #246 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, amazing people”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Me and our family stayed here over Easter with the kids. They loved it. Phil and Julie are the nicest people u could honestly meet, can't do enough for you, they went out of there way to buy my little boy a birthday cake and done the dining room up in banners for him. The breakfast was lovely, fresh, cooked food. We had the biggest room :) which was great, loads of room for our family of 6, we will def be returning here in the upcoming months.. Kids missing Phil and Julie already. Can't wait to come back.. All out love from Gemma, Joanne and kids from Belfast xxxxx

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma1987belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Phil and Julie are everything you could wish for as hosts. They are friendly , accommodating and entertaining. Nothing is too much trouble. Comfortable beds and lovely breakfasts. Always a pleasure to stay at The Hounddog hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just returned from a surprise weekend away with my other half, staying with Phil and Julie, what more can I say other than they are the best hosts, they exude enthusiasm and pride in their business & they love spending time with their guests in the evening rather than hiding themselves away. We thoroughly enjoyed their stories about the hotel and how theyd got where they are today.

Its location a few minutes from the prom was excellent as it meant we could park the car on the Friday and we didn’t get back in it again until we left on the Sunday, its location is perfect for those who don’t fancy a trek to get to the best bits.

On arrival we were warmly greeted with a lovely cup of tea & coffee and a lovely welcome. Phil & Julie are experts about Blackpool, where to go, what to see, how to get there and where best to eat. We were delighted and immensely grateful for information as its such a long time since either of us has been here. We had a lovely time just wandering along the prom, going on the tram (thank you Phil & Julie for making that possible) and just enjoying the atmosphere.

Julie does a mean breakfast, the biggest pot of tea & coffee kept us going and helped start the day perfectly, it was relaxed & a lot of fun. Phil really ought to be on stage and to be honest Im not a morning person but breakfast time was a whole lot of fun courtesy of Phil lol. Im not saying why as itll spoil it for the adults as well as the children.

The rooms are lovely, comfortable and clean with tea & coffee making facilities and plenty of everything so you don’t run out. The 4 poster bed was lovely and comfy. The bathroom had everything you need including shampoo, conditioner & shower gel and plenty of towels. There was nothing that we needed to buy as it was all provided. Everything was perfect. We’ll be visiting again as soon as we can when we need a good cheering up.

We’re sorely disappointed we cant come over Christmas and New Year as we hear its legendary and an unforgettable experience not to be missed, but we will, one day. Thank you for making my surprise weekend just perfect, we both had a fabulous time thanks to you both. Big hugs & kisses, Tim & Angie xxx

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viewfromlounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Had a great time staying here! Would definitely recommend to all who want a good time! Julie and Phil made us unbelievably welcome and made our stay such fun! They both always have a smile to share no matter what! We have booked for 2014 already:-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeLister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Me and my family come back from a week away at the Hound Dog Hotel and we all had a lovely stay as always. I have been staying at the Hound Dog for 8 years now and I wouldn't stay anywhere else! Phil and Julie are the perfect hosts who go out of their way to make you comfortable and the food is out of this world, the hotel is spotless and the rooms are cosy. It really is home from home! So if you are after a nice break the Hound Dog Hotel is the place to stay :) we have already booked for next year which we are already looking forward too! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

The hound dog hotel is the most amazing place iv ever stayed, Phil and Julie are the sweetest couple in the world and makes the stay very welcoming and comfortable. The room are always clean and tidy, breakfast is amazing and Julie's evening meal heavenly (only available upon request at a very small fee)

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just came back from a weekend away, what can I say - Excellent service, excellent food, Extremely warm welcome, spacious clean rooms with Tea / coffee facilities and will go back to this hotel if I return to Blackpool, Great for adults and kids alike as all catered for :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 403Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,091 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hawthorn House
Hawthorn House
#239 of 856 in Blackpool
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#88 of 856 in Blackpool
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#95 of 128 in Blackpool
133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,906 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#228 of 856 in Blackpool
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hounddog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hounddog Hotel

Property: The Hounddog Hotel
Address: 25 Bairstow Street, Blackpool FY1 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Hound Dog' is a small, friendly, family run hotel / Guesthouse located just off the promenade in Central Blackpool. Being only seconds from the promenade and Central Pier; and only a few minutes walk from the Tower, Winter Gardens, Grand Theatre and all the town centre shops and attractions you will find the Hound Dog the perfect location from which to base your Blackpool holiday. The 'Hound Dog' has 6 tastefully decorated bedrooms (4 family and 2 double), 3 of which are fully en-suite. All are maintained to a high level of cleanliness. Your full English breakfast is cooked to order and served in our light and spacious dining room. Special diets can be catered for with prior notice. Families, Couples and Senior Citizens will always find the warmest of welcomes from what is rapidly becoming one of the most popular small hotels in Blackpool. 'Never treated as a room number, but as an extended part of our family.' One night bookings also accepted. Own keys are provided so you can come and go as you please. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing