We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holmsdale Hotel

Holmsdale Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holmsdale Hotel
Ranked #344 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

If you want to enjoy Blackpool then you need a good base to enjoy your holiday. This is it ! Friendly family run hotel catering for the more mature people. I visit Blackpool quite frequently and found this hotel a couple of years ago and have used it since. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The food is excellent and always freshly cooked.Nice and quiet at night but not to far from the centre and the owners can even rent you a private garage for your car if needed. What more can you ask for a lovely holiday?

Room Tip: There is a lift so floor level does not matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    35
    9
    13
    6
See reviews for
22
74
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chirk, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My Husband and I stayed for a weeks holiday, the food and atmosphere was great. nice and quiet, ,And only a short distance to all Ameneties. will be visiting again soon.The rooms were comfortable and warm. full breakfast every morning and four course evening meals.room cleaned every day. sitting room was light and comfortable.penny and Philip were very helpful on attractions and where to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Quick visit to Blackpool on way south with overnight stay at the Holmsdale.
The hotel was pleasant quiet and friendly. The bed was comfortable. Having never been to Blackpool before the owners were helpful about where to go and what to do. We had a good english breakfast before leaving in the morning to continue our journey.

Room Tip: The superior rooms on the front are roomy and face south
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Holmsdale Hotel 4th-8th jan and may I say I had a great time.
(very very glad) with my choice to use this hotel .On entering reception I found information ,whats on in blackpool
second only to a tourist information centre .
my room was very clean and decorated to a high standard.
the hosts were perfect and could not have done more to make my stay perfect.
location was great bus and trams a short way from the hotel.
l

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johns186574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have not visited blackpool for 8 yrs myself and my husband plus my sister and her husband chose to go for the wkend and catch a football match in preston on the saturday. On arrival at the holmsdale we was welcomed by the west highland terrier, unfortunatley the terrier could not direct us to the nearest convienience as one of our party was desperatley in need of a convenience, so he chose to find it for himself, in the mean time who we think was the proprieter has he never introduced himself arrived he proceeded to take us to our rooms but we told him we need to wait for one of our party has he has gone in search of a convienince he proceeded to tell us in a curt manner if he had held it and waited he has a convienince in his room. We was taken to our room, room 8 which we paid 56.00 a night for and the bedroom itself was small and cramped and needed decorating and modernising, the bathroom was very poor the toilet flush we fought with constantly and would,nt flush anything away without flushing and flushing !!! The shower was very dated and took at least 10 mins to regulate it so you did not scold yourself or freeze in the shower, the floor covering was lino very old lino which was stained with what i would say was rust but wasnt rust because it was lino so dont know what it was? Breakfast was basic soggy fried bread and hash browns,bacon and egg was ok, but it was presumed we all drink tea & coffee which was not the case and we felt awkward asking for more juice. The customer service skills were extremely poor no one was ever available to complain to. The bell may well have not been there as no one answered it,while we was there new guest arrived which we let in and they rang and rang and no one came so they left to walk around and come back later, This guest house did not have your run of the mill youngsters it was catered for the older clientele and the youngest in our group was 44 and 4 respectable individuals. When checking out the only person available was the terrier and a small child sat in the dinning room.. so the keys were just left on the top of a bureau in the hall, a few moments later who we thought was the proprietor came out i told him no one was there to take the keys and where they had been left we got no thank you and i hope you enjoyed your stay which we didn,t, i walked away and did not complain has i felt this would have turned into a confrontation. Blackpool was very good, preston very good, the holmsdale stay away.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joannemash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peajaybee, Owner at Holmsdale Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Like most dogs the westie always thinks if the doorbell rings it must be for him so he often beats me ther but usually only by a few seconds
They have come in unannounced and before i can answer the bel (a matter of seconds) one of them has taken himself off to find a loo. I suggested it would have been quicker to go to their room. I am sure if I walked into there property unannounced and wandered of to the loo without asking they would find that strange!
The bell works and one of us will answer it as soon as possible when it is rang.
Orange juice is readily available all they have to do is ask if they want more. its quite a common occurrence.
The floor in the bathroom is actually stone tiles.
Yes apparently there was a problem with the toilet flush but they chose not to mention it so we were unaware. It has since been fixed.
The small child was my 6 month old grandson sitting on the floor while my daughter was laying up the dining room so she would have been no more than a few feet away from him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed for a weekend we are a mature couple so didn't want to be where it was too noisey this was ideal near bus and tram stops but also not too far to walk to the centre of town. Run by a very friendly couple able to advise us of what was on and good places to visit, room a little small ours was at the side so no outlook only next door guest house needed to have the light on even in the day time but it was not a problem, very good shower everything very clean slept well and lovely fresh home cooked breakfast each morning. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

We've just got back from a long weekend we are a party of four and this is far the best that we have stayed in very clean. Breakfast is fantastic and the evening meal equally has good. Now that we've discovered the Homesdale this is the only place that we will consider stopping at we've been many times to Blackpool but this is the best. The owners are friendly what a lovely family. Thank you for a fantastic stay and we can't wait to return. Karen

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karentracy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bona Vista Hotel
Bona Vista Hotel
#130 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blenheim Mount Hotel
Blenheim Mount Hotel
#281 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmsdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmsdale Hotel

Property: Holmsdale Hotel
Address: 6-8 Pleasant Street | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holmsdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sorry No Children!! THIS HOTEL IS A CHILD FREE ZONE. Twin, double & single rooms available, but no family rooms - so the hotel cannot cater for children. The hotel does cater for young adults of 12 and over. The award winning Holmsdale Hotel is a select, quiet, privately owned and run hotel offering guests quality accommodation in relaxing, informal surroundings with en suite rooms and lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Holmsdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing