We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please turn the heating on!”
Review of Midland Hotel

Midland Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Midland Hotel
Ranked #670 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Four of us payed £95 for our room for one night including breakfast. Not really great value :-( The owner is nice, friendly and very helpful however the rooms were freezing!!!
Breakfast was ok but the coffee in individual packets was green????? (Not sure why).

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraineinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

Ok firstly the manager/owner John was very nice and very helpfull so thumbs up there.

Lets move onto the hotel.

The hotel had a general smell of damp which was over powering when walking in so maybe alarm bells should of rang. The room had a double bed which felt like lying on a bag of spanners as there were springs popping out every where and the single bed was worse. There was a scent of urine from one corner of the room so im guessing a previous victim/guest was a bit smashed at 2am and thought the radiator was a urinal! The noise was pretty bad all night as im sure a few of the guests were smashed and had lost keys and needed to ring the bell to get in. I had read reviews that although the room was a let down the breakfasts made up for it, well im guessing the tastebuds were dead from boozing as the breakfast was awful!

Im not a complainer and im generally pretty easy going but I will never stay at the midland or advise anyone else to do so in the future and defo warn anyone thinking of staying to think again and to have the cheek to charge £60 a night was joke!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldmember3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel is filthy and the furniture has clearly been there since it opened. Beds are uncomfortable with springs sticking out everywhere with a horrible smell in the rooms.
It is noisy with guests coming in and out with doors banging until early hours.
The breakfast is served at 9am and most of the food has been pre-cooked and put in the oven hours before so is dried up and over cooked.
Cost for two rooms for one night £120 is a total rip off. I would definetly not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Totallyunimpressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We booked a family room by phone last minute. On arrival we thought the place looked shabby , dark and dull. The family room consisted of a double bed and bunkbeds with a very small shower room. It looked dated but we dumped our bags and went into Blackpool, returning 7 hours later very tired. The room smelt dusty and the pillows and duvets were very dusty. There were stains on the headboard and the walls. One of the remote controls had no back on it and was held together with grubby tape. The shower was filthy, the top of the hot tap was missing, the toilet squashed between the shower and the wall. No wardrobe just a rail that was so high you couldn't reach it. After being kept awake by snoring and a mobile phone from below and a noisy drunken group above we packed up, put our young daughters in the car and drove home at 2am. Complained to the manager/owner the following morning (not even sure he knew we weren't still there) who refused any kind of refund and denied any issues at all. A bail hostel would have been nicer, the hotel should not be allowed to trade like this.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We wanted to stay just one night in Blackpool and this hotel was the only one who would let us do just the one night and had availability.

It is located in a great spot just off the Prom.

Room was ok in size, the double bed was more like a large single and creaked badly every time you moved and the ensuite was old and dirty. Still had someone else's hair in the sink. Yuck. The TV had a pink tinge to the picture. UHT milk pots were off, teaspoon was filthy, cups were placed upside down on the tray and had stuck to it.

Breakfast was another matter, very tasty and freshly cooked by John. Cereal, toast, fruit and yogurts were all available and you could have as much as you liked. Breakfast was it's saving grace really.

We do have photos to back up what we have said about the room, I will gladly email them to any other traveller.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJay60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Nice Hotel and good location, we only stayed 2 nights as we were on a tour but, enjoyed our experience and wold return again

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkivdok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackpool
1.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,166 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#1 of 10 in Morecambe
2,472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#109 of 861 in Blackpool
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#341 of 861 in Blackpool
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#284 of 861 in Blackpool
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midland Hotel

Address: 16 Rigby Road, Blackpool FY1 5DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #670 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £36 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Midland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated near the Central Pier, a few minutes from Blackpool’s city centre, close to two ample car-parks, the Midland Hotel is open all year, and welcomes families as well as couples, and sports enthusiasts. All bedrooms have their own en-suite facilities and can accommodate up to four persons; a home-cooked Full English breakfast is offered, together with a healthier buffet; our non-alcoholic Bar is equally appreciated by many health-conscious residents. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing