We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smokers paradise”
Review of The Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coast
Ranked #313 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 October 2011

well recently stayed at this hotel. shame really very clean rooms but that as far as we can say on the good parts. the rooms smelt like a smokers paradise am not a smoker but i dont complain as i have smokers in the family but this was very bad even after spraying with air freshner the bed was in need of replacing but the sheets was clean with fresh towels, breakfast was ok but basic, friendley host and will not be returning any time soon shame really the basics whree there but thats about all you can say really

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

This was a works night out, with five of us staying in three rooms. We had to pay a deposit and a colleague who cancelled at the last minute lost hers, so it's worth knowing that's a risk.

The hosts were welcoming from the off. The rooms are clean, well appointed and a good size, although very hot! There are white fluffy towels smelling of conditioner and the shower worked fine. We couldn't get our TV to work, although I'm sure it would have been fixed if we'd bothered to ask.

The hotel is a bit out of town and we walked into the centre of Blackpool in the day and had to queue for a tram back. The traffic in the evening was gridlocked due to the lights and the trams back into Blackpool were all full - we had to plead with a conductor to let us all on one tram after a wait of about twenty minutes.

We got in about 2.30 am and hopefully didn't wake anybody! As in most B and Bs, breakfast and departure times are a bit limited but they do have a business to run. We all slept well and managed to drag ourselves out of bed for a breakfast that was well worth it. The hosts were flexible on cooked breakfast orders and also replenished coffee, tea and toast without problem. The food was great and set us up for a bracing walk further along the coast.

Rates are reasonable so this is a perfect B & B for those who don't want to spend a fortune but want a good level of cleanliness, comfort and hospitality.

Room Tip: The hosts seemed flexible on this, although they were very busy when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShazyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Out in Blackpool for the first time with a group of lads. All of us were very happy with our stay, and our host Paul. Breakfast was the perfect cure to a day of recovery from the night before. No doubt we'll be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottie556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The Collingwood is easy walking distance of the city centre attractions but nice and quiet at night time when trying to get some rest.

My partner and I booked 3 nights at the Collingwood and found the owners Paul and Toni were excellent hosts and never made you feel anything you asked them was a problem. They made us feel relaxed and were full of local knowledge and recommendations of where to go for entertainment and excellent places to eat. Paul even offers amazing tricks to entertain you and we always felt that Paul & Toni run this B & B because they want to enjoy making their guests stay as good as possible.

There is a balcony at the front in addition to an enclosed porch at the front to enjoy the amazing views.

You can bring your own alcohol and Paul will even make you a coffee.

We will definitely go back (hopefully next month) : )

Couldnt praise them enough
Brenda & James
x

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank brends13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

stayed her a few mothes back with a stag do,placed needed a good clean to say the least,yes we were happy to lay our heads where ever but this place was horrid,toilets stunk and the breakfast my godneess u got a whole tin of bits of tomatoes,not even whole ones,one sausage one bit bacon and tonnes of beans and tomotoe bits yukkkkk,the cutlery was dirty and so was the whole place,the host was rude and so was the other lass?unsure if that was his wife ? dont stay here

Room Tip: dont stay here ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Me and a friend stayed here for two nights for a reunion up the road, and found the Collingwood lived up to our expectations. The hotel is clean and tidy and the owners Paul and Toni were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The words NO and YOU CANT DO THIS...ETC were never mentioned, a really relaxed and layed back attitude which made the stay even more enjoyable.
All the best guys
Del and Joey.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delboya58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We booked last minute for a couple of nights away at the seaside.

The hosts are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Dogs are welcome and given a lot of fuss. The bring your own alcohol is fantastic as Paul makes sure your drinks are cold and your glass is always full. Spent a long time sitting on the west facing balcony looking over the sea with a drink in our hands. We were even invited to join in a BBQ cooked by Toni. Really did not want to leave! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
1.8 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#92 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#140 of 863 in Blackpool
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 136 in Blackpool
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
2.3 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#342 of 863 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast

Address: 394 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England (Formerly Collingwood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £18 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Coast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing