We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent valiue”
Review of The Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coast
Ranked #335 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We used to go to Blackpool quite often then Ryanair stopped the flights from Stansted and I couldn't face the 600 mile round trip.
However this weekend we decided to drive to Blackpool.
The Collingwood is Excellent value for money.
Our room was just what we needed, en suite, complimentary tea coffee making, hairdryer etc.
Most importantly spotlessly clean and the bed very comfy.
The fella who ran it was very friendly and helpful.
I have been to Blackpool so many times and I have stayed in some nightmare places.
We go to Blackpool for the clubs, bars etc (Funny girls is my fav) and our accommodation needs are basic as we really dont spend much time at the hotel. This hotel is bring your own drink as it has no license
I have stayed in other hotels that are unlicensed and licensed and I wouldn't want to have a drink in them,However I would have had a drink here if I had bought some.
Overall this is one of the nicest places I have stayed at in Blackpool, If you want a bit of luxury the Hilton is close by ( I stayed there about 4 years ago and not good value for money or luxurious) about 200 yards away
I will definitely be re booking this hotel.
Lovely owner.
Spotlessly clean room
Good location
And superb value for money

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank arabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2008

Absolutely superb hotel, as they say, its Home From Home. Welcomed by Paul who carried our bags in from the car, made a pot of coffee before we could catch our breath and looked after us from there on in. Nothing seemed to much trouble for him. We had late keys, rooms were lovely and clean, taxi's were ordered and arrived in minutes and the bar really works well. You bring your own booze and they provide the glasses, soft drinks and a fridge to keep it all chilled in. Didn't half make a difference to how much we spent during the week.
Breakfast was served at 10am for our group as we had a few late nights, but they also did it at 7am for some business guys, so very flexible, and you get full english freshly cooked for you. Only thing we didn't like is that Paul is too good at Billiards!
All in all a 10/10 and we'll all be back soon, if they'll have us:)

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheCrofts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

The Collingwood was a great place to stay. We were there on a hen weekend and were looked after with info on where to go and deals for attractions. Paul and Toni were great and the breakfasts were brilliant. Rooms were clean and some had sea views. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate_Mackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

we stayed here last June for my daughters hen night. Paul and Toni great let us book the whole place out 23 of us of various ages. Arranged a buffet for us to get to know each other as some travelling from North other from South. Had a great time they could not do enough for us. Breakfast was arranged to suit us. Paul even stayed up to greet us on our return and serve us our own beer, which was great. Ideal location only 5 mins in taxi to all the pubs/clubs Paul even booked them for us. We will be back. Thanks Paul

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chunkymonkey_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2008

The Collingwood hotel is situated on the North shore promenade directly opposite the sea.
We recieved the warmest of welcomes, Paul and Toni the hosts are very friendly and accomodating, the atomosphere is informal and relaxed, it really is a home from home. On arrival we were offered a tea/coffee (complimentary).
The hotel is unlicensed and we were invited to 'bring our own', to be served on request, soft drinks are readily available in the bar. In the bar is a bar billiard table(challenge Paul to a game), puzzle games and tv.
Breakfast can be taken at any time by prior arrangement, cereals and full hot breakfast is available.
The hotel is clean, (check out the photo mural on the dining room wall).
The bedrooms are small but fully equiped, including hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities, En - suite with shower.
The hotel has smoking rooms (if you are a non smoker you can request a non smoking room).
We will definately return!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

I stayed at the collingwood in blackpool on Saturday night and found everything about the hotel perfect for a girlie weekend! The rooms were very clean and were not too small and there was a nice view of the sea! the owners of the hotel were very relaxed annd friendly and had no problem with us coming back late and were relaxed about checking out times! Breakfast was made to order so was hot and tasty and made just to our requirements. Overall the stay was really great and I would recomend the hotel to any young people who wnat a relaxed and clean atmosphere!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bec7999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2007

my partner and i stayed at the collingwood for a weekend break in march and found it so relaxing that we did not want to leave.
paul and toni where the perfect hosts and made us feel really welcome. the tea and coffee never stopped flowing and it was all free. the breakfasts were superb and served at a time which suited us. the hotel itself was spotless with crisp white sheets on the bed and the towels also. the hotel was warm and comfortable. we had terrific views from the sun terrace overlooking the sea and although the weather was not its best we had a wonderfull time and will be returning soon.
mal and sue.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank malandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.8 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#86 of 863 in Blackpool
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,281 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#147 of 863 in Blackpool
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast

Address: 394 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England (Formerly Collingwood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £18 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Coast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing