We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with amazing owners!”
Review of The Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coast
Ranked #309 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel is in a brilliant location, with a small balcony which is perfect for viewing the illuminations but what really sets this hotel apart from the others is the fantastic owners, nothing is too much trouble for them, they were brilliant!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funnygirls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Wonderful hotel in a good location on the sea front. Easy walking distance from the main attractions. The owners were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent value for money. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwc231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I would thoroughly recommend staying here, lovely warm welcome and in depth knowledge of what is available locally from food to events and beyond. Will definitely stay again. Thank you for a lovely birthday weekend x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaGen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just stayed the one night with my two children and I have to say my 11yr old wanted to go back Saturday evening to tell Steve all about his day at Sandcastle Waterworld.
We will definitely be back next year and my brother hopefully going to book for October.
Steve & Trevor were so welcoming and helpful. Their hotel is very clean, very comfortable and breakfast was just the right combination, even if Trevor had to step in to cook remaining guests bbreakfasts as my son engaged Steve in conversation.
Steve & Trevor have plans to update their recent acquisition (19 months) whilst Steve quick to state they would be upgrading we found beds comfortable, ensuite generous size, lounge very modern and welcoming atmosphere. So upgrade can only enhance what is already good accommodation.
See you both next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvest69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Blackpool has hundreds of hotels and thousands of hotel rooms so it really does depend what you need from your accommodation during your stay. If you're looking for an immaculately clean room, and warm, friendly hosts, you can do no better than go to the Collingwood. It is situated right on the prom with a spectacular sea view and about a 10 minute walk to the North Pier. It is just far enough away to be not right on top of all the attractions but everything is within easy distance via tram. Trevor and Steve are the most accommodating of hosts - nothing is too much trouble, and Steve can give you the low down on just about everything that is going on in and around Blackpool. The hotel is clean with the main reception area and balcony freshly renovated and modern. Rooms are a little dated but rest assured they are spotless, with lots of tea and coffee in the room. I had a wonderful weekend in Blackpool and would recommend the Collingwood without hesitation. Thank you Trev and Steve for making me feel so welcome - it was home from home for me!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeenerBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This Hotel was taken over by the present owners 18 months ago and they are in the process of refurbishing. The Sitting Room and Sun Lounge has been completed and is lovely. The Dining room is comfy and on the list to be done. The rooms are next on the list but please do not be put off. This Hotel is superbly clean, cleaner than any five star I have stayed in. I have been in the kitchen and whilst outdated, again, superbly clean. The owners are lovely folk and make you so very welcome.

Did I mention the white fluffy towels and clean rooms? And the superb Full English Breakfast.
The Sea View is fab.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room. Do have the cooked breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomsGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Having just returned from our fourth visit, we already want to book our next. You will never get a warmer welcome than that you receive from Steve and Trevor. Nothing is ever too much trouble, and they were kind enough to accommodate our early breakfast request. We will never stay anywhere else when visiting Blackpool, if you are reading this to see if you should book, you need look no further, clean, friendly, plenty of parking on the side streets nearby and only a couple of minutes to the tram and bus stops. (although only a 10 - 15 minute walk to the Tower).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor H, Owner at The Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thanks Jo, it was lovely to have you here again and thanks for bringing more friends with you and for the wonderful review. Look forward to having your parents here in November and i am sure we will see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,171 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Collingwood Hotel
The Collingwood Hotel
#274 of 861 in Blackpool
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#208 of 861 in Blackpool
160 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
149 reviews
1.8 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#104 of 861 in Blackpool
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast

Address: 394 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2LB, England (Formerly Collingwood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £18 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Coast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing