We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“last minute booking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“last minute booking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

It was our 47th wedding anniversary and did not want to travel to far so this hotel came up with National holidays,it was ideal for a walk into to town i asked for a room not to far to walk for my husband it was a bit of a trek, but once we got used to it not bad at all, our room was good and clean, our meals were very good, entertain was good, thought the drinks were a little over priced, but have to say the staff all over the hotel were excellent would make another trip there. The weather was on our side which made a few days away a nice break.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bulgaria2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Congratulations on your 47th Wedding Anniversary and we are glad you had a nice break with us. As I have previously stated in other replies we try very hard to give our guests value for money breaks with good food, clean accommodation and entertainment for all ages, your feedback is much appreciated as it helps us to monitor if we are achieving this. It’s always a bonus when the weather is good when you are away let’s hope you bring it with you on your next visit. Regards Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    200
    88
    47
    18
See reviews for
86
308
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Did a 3 night break here in July 2011. Upgraded to a sea view paying extra and wish as previous reviewer we hadn.t wasted our money. Room 306 shabby , cracked walls , paint peeling from sides of window, bathroom dingy and dirty looking, bits kept falling off taps, someone elses rubbish in bin. Dated duvet cover etc, On the sat night no hot water. Receptionist, english girl with g;lasses not too pleasant after we complained about room and car park, told me i didn't need to park in their carpark and could park across road for £17. Car park small and you either have to be blocked in all your holiday or if you block someone in leave keys for their staff to move your car about which i wouldn't do.Huge entertainment hall which had only one act on on the sat night so we didnt stay in. This has been a lovely hotel at one time and could be again. It is shabby and rundown like the rest of blackpool. it is situated near the north pier so not too far to walk. When we were ther it was awful windy and wet weather and being in the attic sea view room it was awful with the wind howling through the windows that didn't close right. We put on the radiator as we were so cold but it then wouldnt switch off just kept turning round and round so was like a sauna our last night. I am shocked shearring is using this hotel without refurbishing it. We went to great western oban last year and upgraded which was an excellent hotel so expected the same standards. The good point was the food and the service we have no complaints there at all. Just wished we hadn't wasted our money........

Room Tip: don't bother paying extra for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank letitia114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Some of our rooms are a little tired and we are working on an action plan so we can refurbish parts of the Hotel at a time, In an ideal world we would refurbish all the rooms left to do in one go but as you can appreciate this is not possible. We are sorry if there was rubbish already in the bin this is something that should not happen and this will be fully looked into. I remember the car park issue as the Receptionist you mention did inform me of the conversation. You stated you were not willing to block someone in or be blocked in, so rightly you were informed you can park across the road in the pay and display if you do not wish to park in our car park. We have parking for nearly all of our self drive guests at the weekend and we do this by using all the spaces we have. We offer excellent entertainment in all our Bay Hotels, our entertainment is enjoyed by many from our guests to outside visitors. Thank you for saying you enjoyed the food and service this is something we take great pride in and all of the above comments will be discussed with and passed on to the relevant staff.

Kind regards
Russell Bradshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockenzie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Once again just spent Fri- Mon at this hotel .......this is our 5th time staying here!.Please don't listen to all the negatives written about it!.....Yes the hotel is an older building but the staff are always friendly,especially Tracey,who we now class as our friend,nothing is too much bother for her. The food is great ,always a choice & well presented too.The rooms are comfortable with eveything you would need for a weekend.The down side would be that since Lay-De-John has left the entertainment is poor....hopefully they will take this onboard for the future! Lastly have to say the price was excellent.....£79 per person for 3nts,dinner B&B!!! some places charge that per night!! Will be back again hopefully in November....do yourself a favour & book a great weekend here!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leemarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
It was great to see you again and it’s great to hear we are still providing you with value for money. We aim to provide good food and good service with comfortable surroundings and it gives us great pleasure to see yourselves and many others returning time after time. As you know we used to run a full floor show with dancers, comedian and singing act so you will see a difference in our entertainment, the decision was made to move away from this to ensure consistency throughout our Bay Hotels brand. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

allocated room 106 with sea view ,toilet soap towels only,bath held together with mastic tile missing. parking car mission impossible staff seem to take up most of the spaces never mind a donation of £17 to blackpool council for 72 hours parkinghelps.entertainment
friday saturday pub quiz and singer would put you to sleep zzzzz good points comedian saturday night good food excellent,breakfast and dinner piping hot waiter service fast,and efficent

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gordie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Hi gordie48. Firstly thank you for your comments regarding the excellent food and fast and efficient waiter service this is something we try very hard to achieve and I will pass on your comments to all staff. Some of our rooms are a little tired and we are currently running an action plan to improve rooms and bathrooms on a monthly basis but we keep them clean and in great working order. I will speak to my housekeeper as there should not be a tile missing under any circumstances I do apologise for this. As stated on our website and on all booking confirmation we have limited parking at the Hotel, I am concerned with your comments stating staff take up most of the spaces this is not true, if any of our staff bring their cars to work we wait until the car park is full and park in the middle as we are able to move these cars when necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

need a complete makeover from top to bottom. very squeaky floorboards lift very poor .we stayed in room 306 bathroom very dirty no toiletries shelf, shower screen held in place with
a ton of mastic ,bad mattress, window frame taped and paint peeling. reception staff very unsociable the only decent thing from our stay we could not fault the food. never go again or reccommend

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank snowdrop4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
Hi Snowdrop4. Some floorboards on the 3rd floor are in need of replacing and the action plan is in motion as we speak. I am very surprised to hear comments regarding the bathroom being very dirty and we do apologize for this, we do have some older bathrooms with a little wear and tear but there should be no excuse for a bathroom not being clean. Your comments regarding reception staff being very unsociable is a shock as I work on reception myself and we are all friendly and willing to help in any way we can. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food, after reading your posting I went up to room 306 which was on our plan to redecorate and I agree it was looked a little tired so we moved the room up the list and have newly redecorated it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel on a 5 day Shearings holiday. Was not impressed with the hotel at all The hotel room was very tired needed decorating the bathroom did not have a shelf for toiletries, we had to go to reception as our key was faulty to our room which they had to change. The food was nothing to write home about , no atmosphere at all, the only atmosphere was with the smokers outside. The only good side to this hotel as the staff was very helpful. The entertainment was of a good standard but nothing was done to encourage people to stay in the room or even go to the room for the entertainment The artiste worked hard and the few people in the room.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Sandrasholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you for your posting and your comments. The Hotel is a little older than some and some areas are due for a re-paint which we schedule when possible. It’s unfortunate that your key was not working but you must appreciate this is something that will happen from time to time as things do break and I am 100% sure the lock was replaced immediately. It’s great to hear that you found our team very helpful and this comment will be passed onto them. We advertise the entertainment in all the rooms and we hand out an entertainment programme on arrival to ensure all guests are aware of what is going on. We also have posters in Reception of the entertainment but sometimes guests are not here for the entertainment and we appreciate that they may have other plans or interests so will not attend.

Kind Regards

Russell Bradshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We went on a 5 day holiday with shearings we were happy with our 1st floor room very clean and the food was nice waiters very polite but we were very dissapointed with the entertainment we were expecting a good show but it seems they dont have that anymore just a singer their was no atmosphere at all we had to go out and find somewhere with entertainment, and as for Blackpool its like a building site along most of the front being dug up might look ok in 10 years when it could be finished definatly wont go back came home feeling like we need a holiday to get over that!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bowieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
We are very glad to hear that you were happy with your room, food and service during your stay with us in Blackpool. Regarding the entertainment we moved away from the full floor show in February 2010, this was to ensure consistency throughout our Bay Hotels brand in our opinion it works very well. We try very hard to provide guests with value for money and the entertainment runs alongside that. Yes Blackpool has been under redevelopment and it has been difficult to walk along the Promenade, all the work is nearly complete now and it is looking fabulous and I’m sure it will bring many tourists back to this resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Property: Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Address: 1 Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With weekend and mid-week short breaks available, Liberty's on The Square offers high standards of luxury accommodation. Situated close to the centre of Blackpool, with its famous Blackpool Tower and Golden Mile, Liberty's on The Square is the ideal base to make the most of your holiday. Each of our bedrooms have been appointed and tastefully designed to create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertys On The Square Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing