We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank goodness we didn't pay full price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Winsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thank goodness we didn't pay full price”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We have just returned from a 5 day trip with Shearings. We booked last minute, i.e. the week before and only paid £132 each which was ok for the standard of hotel. The rooms were clean but very basic and one of the light fittings over the dressing table was faulty, appeared loose and the light kept going on and off. The meals were ok but sweetcorn and red cabbage with braised steak seemed an odd choice to me lol. My husband had apple crumble one night and it appears the chef mistook the salt cannister for sugar UGH!!! The soups were lovely and the service excellent although I would request that the hotel update its cutlery, the knives and forks were big enough to do a spot of gardening with and i found this most off putting. The evenings entertainment was a bit of a letdown, one decent singer and a young lady who tried a little comedy with some songs, her mother turned up, a lady obviously in her sixties and she sang better than her daughter, perhaps the hotel booked the wrong family member! The week was saved by the coach driver and our trips out to Fleetwood and the lakes and an unexpected excursion for a couple of hours to St Annes on the final morning. All in all we had a decent week but if we had paid the full price of £259 pp we would have been very disappointed. I think the hotel would have to have had some more refurbishment and better entertainment before I stayed there again. Oh, while I remember, the bar prices were ridiculously high.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Thank you for your comments and me and my team will go through them at our next meeting. We try to offer good value for money holidays and from our entire customer comment cards and with our trip advisor responses we do achieve this on a high level so I’m very surprised by your comments. Our rooms are standard rooms which as you agree are kept to a very good and clean standard which comes within the value for money category. We are sorry that the light may have been faulty and if we were informed of this we would have rectified this straight away. We again receive great comments regarding our food although at times some guests do not always like selections, we are glad you enjoyed the service in the restaurant.
King Regards Russell Bradshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    217
    94
    49
    18
See reviews for
93
325
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St.Helens
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Just returned home from a three day break and will definitely be returning. The staff are very friendly and we really enjoyed the food served by Patrick, our waiter, who was excellent. We were in a sea view corner room and although there were some minor issues i.e. leaking shower and tired decor, these by no way spoiled our fab time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saint91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
It’s great to hear you enjoyed your break with us. I will gladly pass on your comments to the staff as it’s always nice to know the hard work put in is appreciated. We aim to give value for money and as you are a happy customer on departure, we feel we have got it right. Please visit us again. Kind regards Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Creaky floors,electrics abit dodgy,lumpy bed,but oddly,when settled down quite cosy.Food and the staff that served it, very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliver42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Hope you had a safe journey home and thank you for your posting on trip advisor. Glad to hear you enjoyed our food and service during your stay, we work very hard to try and deliver customer satisfaction and value for money and I think I am right in saying we have achieved this for you?. All feedback is well received and we thank you for your comments. Kind regards Russell GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Just come back from a Monday to Friday stay with shearings . Was very disappointed with the standard of the rooms, had no remote controls to work the tv, beds were springy and not enough pillows , toilet seat kept falling off decor very dated and stuck in a time warp!! On the plus side the food was plentiful but could be a bit hit and miss depending on what you had ordered. Although the staff was very friendly and our bus driver saved the day by taking us all to the lakes which was worlds apart from Blackpool . Overall I would not recommend this hotel and certainly would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ralphiebear0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
We hope you had a pleasant journey home and thank you for posting. Yes some of our rooms are a little older but as all Hotels you have to have an action plan and update so many rooms per year. We will be looking into the bed situation as we always do when we receive guest feedback, I will pass on your comments regarding friendliness. We are constantly updating the Hotel to keep with the times but as mentioned this is something that takes time but we do ensure all our rooms are kept to a very high standard of cleanliness and in working order. Blackpool itself is under refurbishment and we will post photos when it is complete for all to see.

Kind Regards

Russell Bradshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

It was our 47th wedding anniversary and did not want to travel to far so this hotel came up with National holidays,it was ideal for a walk into to town i asked for a room not to far to walk for my husband it was a bit of a trek, but once we got used to it not bad at all, our room was good and clean, our meals were very good, entertain was good, thought the drinks were a little over priced, but have to say the staff all over the hotel were excellent would make another trip there. The weather was on our side which made a few days away a nice break.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulgaria2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Congratulations on your 47th Wedding Anniversary and we are glad you had a nice break with us. As I have previously stated in other replies we try very hard to give our guests value for money breaks with good food, clean accommodation and entertainment for all ages, your feedback is much appreciated as it helps us to monitor if we are achieving this. It’s always a bonus when the weather is good when you are away let’s hope you bring it with you on your next visit. Regards Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Did a 3 night break here in July 2011. Upgraded to a sea view paying extra and wish as previous reviewer we hadn.t wasted our money. Room 306 shabby , cracked walls , paint peeling from sides of window, bathroom dingy and dirty looking, bits kept falling off taps, someone elses rubbish in bin. Dated duvet cover etc, On the sat night no hot water. Receptionist, english girl with g;lasses not too pleasant after we complained about room and car park, told me i didn't need to park in their carpark and could park across road for £17. Car park small and you either have to be blocked in all your holiday or if you block someone in leave keys for their staff to move your car about which i wouldn't do.Huge entertainment hall which had only one act on on the sat night so we didnt stay in. This has been a lovely hotel at one time and could be again. It is shabby and rundown like the rest of blackpool. it is situated near the north pier so not too far to walk. When we were ther it was awful windy and wet weather and being in the attic sea view room it was awful with the wind howling through the windows that didn't close right. We put on the radiator as we were so cold but it then wouldnt switch off just kept turning round and round so was like a sauna our last night. I am shocked shearring is using this hotel without refurbishing it. We went to great western oban last year and upgraded which was an excellent hotel so expected the same standards. The good point was the food and the service we have no complaints there at all. Just wished we hadn't wasted our money........

Room Tip: don't bother paying extra for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank letitia114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Some of our rooms are a little tired and we are working on an action plan so we can refurbish parts of the Hotel at a time, In an ideal world we would refurbish all the rooms left to do in one go but as you can appreciate this is not possible. We are sorry if there was rubbish already in the bin this is something that should not happen and this will be fully looked into. I remember the car park issue as the Receptionist you mention did inform me of the conversation. You stated you were not willing to block someone in or be blocked in, so rightly you were informed you can park across the road in the pay and display if you do not wish to park in our car park. We have parking for nearly all of our self drive guests at the weekend and we do this by using all the spaces we have. We offer excellent entertainment in all our Bay Hotels, our entertainment is enjoyed by many from our guests to outside visitors. Thank you for saying you enjoyed the food and service this is something we take great pride in and all of the above comments will be discussed with and passed on to the relevant staff.

Kind regards
Russell Bradshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockenzie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Once again just spent Fri- Mon at this hotel .......this is our 5th time staying here!.Please don't listen to all the negatives written about it!.....Yes the hotel is an older building but the staff are always friendly,especially Tracey,who we now class as our friend,nothing is too much bother for her. The food is great ,always a choice & well presented too.The rooms are comfortable with eveything you would need for a weekend.The down side would be that since Lay-De-John has left the entertainment is poor....hopefully they will take this onboard for the future! Lastly have to say the price was excellent.....£79 per person for 3nts,dinner B&B!!! some places charge that per night!! Will be back again hopefully in November....do yourself a favour & book a great weekend here!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leemarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
It was great to see you again and it’s great to hear we are still providing you with value for money. We aim to provide good food and good service with comfortable surroundings and it gives us great pleasure to see yourselves and many others returning time after time. As you know we used to run a full floor show with dancers, comedian and singing act so you will see a difference in our entertainment, the decision was made to move away from this to ensure consistency throughout our Bay Hotels brand. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 73 in Blackpool
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,195 reviews
2.5 mi away
Silversands Hotel
Silversands Hotel
#43 of 73 in Blackpool
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Property: Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Address: 1 Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With weekend and mid-week short breaks available, Liberty's on The Square offers high standards of luxury accommodation. Situated close to the centre of Blackpool, with its famous Blackpool Tower and Golden Mile, Liberty's on The Square is the ideal base to make the most of your holiday. Each of our bedrooms have been appointed and tastefully designed to create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertys On The Square Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing