We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Return to Libertys.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Happy Return to Libertys.”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We came to Libertys 4 weeks ago, and stayed in room 101, it was a lovely room with a sea view. my mother is partially sighted and disabled, we had a wheelchair, and as the front entrance has steps we had to ask for help. we were let in through a level access on the side of the hotel, and helped with our luggage into the lift and all the way to our room, by a young man called Max. we had a lovely relaxing stay, everyone was so helpful our waiter Dominic was so kind to my mother. while we were there we bought raffle tickets to help the Trinity hospice, in Blackpool, and we won a weekend for 2 on a date of our choice, I chose 17 September, for my husbands birthday. We have just returned from an unforgettable weekend, our room was on the 3rd floor, overlooking the car park, the room was clean warm and had everything we needed, we were in room 319, the floorboards creaked, and the lift groaned as it got to the 3rd floor, but at our age we creak and groan so thats all down to old age. The entertainment was very good on Saturday night, Sunday night there is no entertainment, but cards are available , the lager was excellent at £3-20 a pint, much better than the cheap nasty lager offered at a large hotel close by. We will certainly be returning to this hotel and would say avoid any large hotel opposite a nightclub, Libertys offer a quiet nights sleep, and well trained professional staff, who make you feel special.

Room Tip: Dim lighting in bar area, there are steps up to the bar, there are a few steps to dining room access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bevroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
Firstly thank you for buying a ticket helping us to raise money for one of our local hospices and congratulations on winning the raffle. It’s great to hear you enjoyed both your stays with us and we hope to see you again soon. We take all comments very seriously and it really puts a smile on my face when we get such good comments like yours. Thank you for your posting.
Kind Regards

Russell Bradshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    212
    89
    47
    18
See reviews for
90
314
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

great hotel,very clean nice comfy rooms,friendly staff,food very goodand good location for shops and night life and entertainment very good

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louiseoreilly61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2011
Hi Louiseoreilly61. Were very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us in Blackpool. We try very hard to provide guests with value for money and it seems we have again succeeded and met your needs. We hope to see you again if you travel to Blackpool.
Kind Regards
Russell Bradshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My sister and I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our holiday in Blackpool and I would not hesitate in booking this hotel if we came back to Blackpool. The room was clean and tidy, there were plenty of drawers and cupboards to put all your belongings in, and there was both a shower and a bath, which was good, as I know people who prefer one over the other. There was a housekeeper that came into our room every morning to tidy it up, but she did not move or put away any of our stuff which we were very grateful for, and also replenished the tea and coffee in our room. The view was quite nice as we could see the Blackpool Tower and also the North Pier, but to be honest we weren't too bothered about having a sea view. The food was excellent and we were very impressed by the three course dinners which were of restaurant quality. The waiters were really friendly, and we never waited longer than five minutes for our food. The staff at the reception were also very friendly and helpful and answered all of our queries, whether it was luggage storage or the times of the trams. The entertainment wasn't too bad either, but it didn't really appeal to our age group as I am 21 and my sister is 16; so we ventured out and luckily found a free family entertainment night on the North Pier which was perfect for our age. The only suggestion I would make is to update the televisions so they get freeview, although we didn't exactly come to Blackpool to sit in a hotel room and watch tv.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AramintaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
It’s great to hear someone so enthusiastic about Blackpool and our Hotel. Thank you for your comments on your findings during your stay we value everyone’s feedback, it helps us to ensure we are creating the right environment to suit our guests needs. Your comments regarding excellent food and friendly waiters with good clean accommodation help me to ensure we meet the standards expected. I will be sure to pass on your great comments to the rest of the team. Hope you come and see us again if you are returning to this area. Kind regards Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We have just returned from a 5 day trip with Shearings. We booked last minute, i.e. the week before and only paid £132 each which was ok for the standard of hotel. The rooms were clean but very basic and one of the light fittings over the dressing table was faulty, appeared loose and the light kept going on and off. The meals were ok but sweetcorn and red cabbage with braised steak seemed an odd choice to me lol. My husband had apple crumble one night and it appears the chef mistook the salt cannister for sugar UGH!!! The soups were lovely and the service excellent although I would request that the hotel update its cutlery, the knives and forks were big enough to do a spot of gardening with and i found this most off putting. The evenings entertainment was a bit of a letdown, one decent singer and a young lady who tried a little comedy with some songs, her mother turned up, a lady obviously in her sixties and she sang better than her daughter, perhaps the hotel booked the wrong family member! The week was saved by the coach driver and our trips out to Fleetwood and the lakes and an unexpected excursion for a couple of hours to St Annes on the final morning. All in all we had a decent week but if we had paid the full price of £259 pp we would have been very disappointed. I think the hotel would have to have had some more refurbishment and better entertainment before I stayed there again. Oh, while I remember, the bar prices were ridiculously high.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Thank you for your comments and me and my team will go through them at our next meeting. We try to offer good value for money holidays and from our entire customer comment cards and with our trip advisor responses we do achieve this on a high level so I’m very surprised by your comments. Our rooms are standard rooms which as you agree are kept to a very good and clean standard which comes within the value for money category. We are sorry that the light may have been faulty and if we were informed of this we would have rectified this straight away. We again receive great comments regarding our food although at times some guests do not always like selections, we are glad you enjoyed the service in the restaurant.
King Regards Russell Bradshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Helens
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Just returned home from a three day break and will definitely be returning. The staff are very friendly and we really enjoyed the food served by Patrick, our waiter, who was excellent. We were in a sea view corner room and although there were some minor issues i.e. leaking shower and tired decor, these by no way spoiled our fab time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saint91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
It’s great to hear you enjoyed your break with us. I will gladly pass on your comments to the staff as it’s always nice to know the hard work put in is appreciated. We aim to give value for money and as you are a happy customer on departure, we feel we have got it right. Please visit us again. Kind regards Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Creaky floors,electrics abit dodgy,lumpy bed,but oddly,when settled down quite cosy.Food and the staff that served it, very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliver42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Hope you had a safe journey home and thank you for your posting on trip advisor. Glad to hear you enjoyed our food and service during your stay, we work very hard to try and deliver customer satisfaction and value for money and I think I am right in saying we have achieved this for you?. All feedback is well received and we thank you for your comments. Kind regards Russell GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Just come back from a Monday to Friday stay with shearings . Was very disappointed with the standard of the rooms, had no remote controls to work the tv, beds were springy and not enough pillows , toilet seat kept falling off decor very dated and stuck in a time warp!! On the plus side the food was plentiful but could be a bit hit and miss depending on what you had ordered. Although the staff was very friendly and our bus driver saved the day by taking us all to the lakes which was worlds apart from Blackpool . Overall I would not recommend this hotel and certainly would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ralphiebear0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
We hope you had a pleasant journey home and thank you for posting. Yes some of our rooms are a little older but as all Hotels you have to have an action plan and update so many rooms per year. We will be looking into the bed situation as we always do when we receive guest feedback, I will pass on your comments regarding friendliness. We are constantly updating the Hotel to keep with the times but as mentioned this is something that takes time but we do ensure all our rooms are kept to a very high standard of cleanliness and in working order. Blackpool itself is under refurbishment and we will post photos when it is complete for all to see.

Kind Regards

Russell Bradshaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Silversands Hotel
Silversands Hotel
#41 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Property: Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Address: 1 Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With weekend and mid-week short breaks available, Liberty's on The Square offers high standards of luxury accommodation. Situated close to the centre of Blackpool, with its famous Blackpool Tower and Golden Mile, Liberty's on The Square is the ideal base to make the most of your holiday. Each of our bedrooms have been appointed and tastefully designed to create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertys On The Square Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing