We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Viagra(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Stretton Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Parisienne Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Vienna(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Claremont Hotel(Blackpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveller rating
265
246
99
54
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
246
99
54
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings holidayshearings hotelssea viewsqueaky floorboardsnorth piernational holidayscoach driverfloor boardsbar pricesweekend breakevening entertainmentper dayexcellent entertainmentthe dining room staffplenty of hot watertop floorentertainment room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
511 - 516 of 684 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Me my wife want short weekend away before Xmas decide to come Blackpool and seen this hotel and thout we try it out on first getting to hotel we new we had to pay for car parking witch we just put in the car across the road quick checking in on Friday we was up on the second floor witch of a nite you heard loads on creaking floors boards room was nice and light just orange walls look bit dirty and tried but we did not mind went down for dinner and was shown to table then witch was quick (Patrick who seat us ) food was very good then we had few drinks in the bar and then went out breakfast was very good the bacon was cooked prefect to what I like we went out for the day Xmas shopping :( got dragged around shops Shirley tolds us about the hounds hill witch was good then we went in for dinner I had the beef curry and was very nice so really understand the las comment but can't please every one my wife had fish was very nice went into bar few drink with vouchers we got but only 4 drink free and can't carry them over to next dayshame really michael on Saturday nite was great kids singing all tipes with them and few dance moves on check out was fast and quick will be booking up again in the new year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jason201099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Thank you for such a great review after your recent stay with us. Your comments that you can’t please everyone are very true, people like different foods etc and all you can do is take any feedback into consideration and improve where you can. I’m pleased that you enjoyed the curry, we hope to see you again very soon.

Best Wishes

Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Went with friends for a xmas weekend break, checked in quick went upto room. Room was large with a bay window but was absolutley freezing, turned radiator up and went down to the bar area.
Bar area nice but again found room to be cold. Upon going back upto room it had warmed up thank god. Bathroom could have been cleaner floor coming up from back of toilet, bat left a lot to be desired used the shower instead which was over the bath, quick shower and out.
Evening meal was crap. Breakfast was ok small portion but ok. Saturday night me and my husband went for the chefs special - BEEF CURRY - it never saw a curry it was beef chuncks (possibly out of tin) in gravy type sauce with rice one small mouthful saw me calling the waitress over to complain given the other options on the menu we went without.
Entertainment was good but not on long ended up going to bed at 11pm.
Could not sleep with people banging fire doors, singing etc and the bed was very hard and not at all comfortable not slept with sheets and blankets for years why have they not modernised and gone for duvets,
Room was dirty could have done with a good clean, bay window fithly, paint peeling from walls
Would not stop there again even it was free of charge.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jelly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Regarding your heating complaint the heating is on at prime times to ensure sufficient heating is on while guests are in and around the hotel which has not caused any problems in the past, had you informed us that you felt cold we would have made sure you were warm by supplying extra heating. If your room was not clean enough I would have liked the chance to discuss this with you, I am sure I could have rectified any problems you had with my housekeeping team. Regarding your comment about the curry we had 120 guests in and no one had a problem with this dish, as you can see from other recent trip advisor postings they praise the curry and say it was very nice. Take my advice if you have any problems with a future break please give the management a chance rectify these for you.

Kind Regards

Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Stayed 10th to 14 th December.Liberty's is a typical Shearings hotel, in dire need of refurbishment. That said, my wife & I had a lovely 4 night stay there. We were on the 3rd floor (Room 308) which afforded views of the tower & the sea front. On the negative side, the floorboards squeaked like mad (pity those on lower floors); the double glazing failed to keep out the draughts; and the shower and radiators were very hot regardless of the settings. On the positive side, the TV reception was good, albeit a CRT rather than a flatscreen; the restaurant provided a good choice and quality of food with the best service we have ever enjoyed at any Shearings hotel; the bar staff were also very cheerful and efficient and, again, the service was very quick. Entertainment was provided every night and, in our opinion, was probably the best overall of any previous hotel. All in all excellent value for money and the positives vastly outweighed the negatives. We would have no hesitation in returning at some future date.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CybilSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Hi cybilsurry and thank you for such a positive posting. We aim to provide our visitors with value for money holidays and I am sure after reading this posting you would agree the value for money factor has been met. Yes some areas are in the process of being refurbished but when you are as busy as we are you have to do things on a gradual basis, we will get there but it will just take a little time. I will pass on your great comments to all and we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Just returned from a weekend break with some friends. Ignore the poor reviews; check in was swift and efficient, room spacious and clean, food varied and tasty and entertainment enjoyable. OK this isn't the RITZ and don't expect a Las Vegas floor-show but for value for money this can't be beaten. Don't be put off by the rather small reception area which could do with a smarten up and may give a false first impression. I found all the staff very friendly and very efficient. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank blackburn_rover95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Thank you for your great review, we are glad you had a good stay with us and recognise that this is not the Ritz however; you are charged a price that gives you good clean accommodation, good food, good entertainment and friendly staff.
We hope you will be back soon.
Best Wishes

Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This was my second stay at libertys hotel.me and my hubby stayed for two nights mid week.There was two coach parties staying at the same time.even tho me and hubby was youngest guests,we had a realy nice time and met some lovely pensioners.our double room was lovely and clean also realy warm and cosy.it was freezing outside,so it was lovely to come back to our room when we had been out during the day.all the staff are so nice at libertys i would recommend staying here.The only niggle i had was the matress on the bed,the springs was digging in my back.as we was only staying two nights,i didnt bother asking to get it changed.but i am sure the staff would have changed it no problem. Thankyou to all the staff at libertys. hope you all have a lovely christmas. s.blair : )

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shellyb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Hi shellyb11 and thank you for such a great review after your recent stay with us here in Blackpool. I will pass on your kind comments to my team at our next meeting to let them know our standards we work hard to achieve have satisfied more of our visitors.
Best Wishes and have a good Christmas

Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews