We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aswsome hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“aswsome hotel”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

hi there guys this is jamie and daisy here who stayed with you a few months ago when me and daisy stayed at your hotel we really loved it it was a shirings holiday i loved it the place is amazing great value for money so as for people saying the hotel is going down hill its not yes the floor boreds are qreeky but so what its an old building i really love the hotel and i will be traveling back again in the very near future i love the room and bar and everything about the hotel would like to thank the staff and the host we had he was so funny he was a great singer aswell write back to me would really love to here from you all there at liberty,s hotel jamie and daisy barnnet

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Hi Jamie and Daisy and thank you for your great comments after your stay with us. I will pass on your review to all the team at our next meeting and I am sure they will be as pleased as me with your posting.

Best wishes and see you soon.

Russell and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    212
    89
    47
    18
See reviews for
90
314
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The room was very tired and dated. The bathroom had more than its fair share of mold. It needed a good clean. The floorboards very squeaky. The dining room and lounge area where ok. The entertainment was a bit boring and there was no entertainment at all on the Sunday. The waiter service was excellent as was the bar and cleaning staff all very friendly. The food was very basic.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were not totally satisfied after your recent stay. We view every comment seriously all of your comments will be looked into. Yes some of our rooms are a little dated and we are slowly improving where we can but all should be cleaned to a high standard, it does surprise me that the bathroom is in need of a good clean. I can assure you if you had brought any issues to the attention of me or my team my housekeeper would have been up immediately to inspect and take action if necessary. Our menu choice and quality of food gets great feedback so again I am a little surprised by your basic food comment. Thank you for your excellent comments regarding the service and the friendly staff.

Best Wishes

Russell and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Third time of staying at this hotel. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Entertainment excellent! Food always good. One member of our party had special dietary requirements and we were pleasantly surprised to find his menu noted for suitable food at each meal. - Very thoughtful. As mentioned by other reviewers the hotel is a little tired in places but I consider it to be very good value for money and will be returning. The only down side is that there appears to be a problem with hot water at about 6-7 pm. I assume this is due to short period - high demand.
The hotel is perfectly placed to walk to the busier areas of Blackpool whilst not being too noisy. Would recommend for a great short break.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Hi Denise G thank you for your positive review. We work hard to cater for all dietary requirements your great comments are very much appreciated by the kitchen and restaurant team. Value for money is our aim so again we have another satisfied customer. Strange about the hot water comments as we never have a problem even in high demand but I will get maintenance to check the shower etc.

Best Wishes

Russell and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We have just come back from a 5 day coach holiday with Shearings.
Excellent entertainment with plenty of seats - no need to rush evening meal!! Food good with a good choice. Very good waiter service, always had a smile for us. The only down side was the bathroom. Clean but was worn out. Very little hot water. Taps and showerscreen needed replacing.
Overall excellent value for money. Would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lawrencewhite2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
It’s great to read another posting entitled Excellent Value, this is our target and another satisfied customer puts a big smile on our faces.

Best Wishes

Russell and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley,lancashire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were dubious before arrival after reading some reviews on here, but a swift reception, car parking in rear pre booked so was very useful. We had rooms 319 and 320 right at end of the corridors. Floors very squeaky, especially late at night when rest of hotel was quiet, but it did not overly disturb us. Rooms were warm enough for us. Only complaint I had about the room was the shower in 320, the shower head needed either replacing or de-scaling, the water only came out of around 10-15 of the holes and so a good shower was out of the question.

The meals were good value for what we had paid, the restaurant staff were all friendly and efficient, the only criticism I had with the evening meals were that the vegetables on both evenings were rather cold.

Now for the evening entertainment, what can we say about Michael? What a ray of sunshine, he was so friendly and pleasant with one and all. The artist on the Saturday had to be changed at last moment and the act that stepped in was absolutely the tops. Jo Little, a comedienne and singer, she had us in stitches all night, infact we postponed going out for the evening until she had finished her second spot. The 4 drink vouchers certainly came in useful that night.

All in all it was a great weekend break and we would certainly return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loobysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Hi loobysue and thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I will be sure to pass on all of your comments to the relevant departments to review. It’s great to hear you would certainly return again, and yes you are spot on Michael is a ray of Blackpool sunshine and he keeps all of our guests informed and entertained.
Best wishes
Russell and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The hotel was all steps no ramps for scooters or wheelchairs plus the hotel was cold,the food was great service was also great, only one lift ,and that was out of action,people with disability had to come down on their backsides from the second floor.

Room Tip: The sea view room was very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mafiaman218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Hi yes you are quite correct that not the entire hotel is suitable for disabled guests, however our helpdesk is there to advise guests when booking of any steps outside and inside the hotel. The lift was out of order for approximately 3 hours but was fully back up and running once the engineer had been, we offered assistance to any guests who wanted to come up or down during this time. Things breakdown I am afraid and all we can do is get them back up and running as soon as possible which we did in very quick time. Thank you for your great comments regarding food and service.
Best wishes

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tees Valley
Level Contributor
112 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

After a miserable 8 hour journey, we arrived at Liberty's in the snow, apprehensive that our stay would be as dire as the journey- we we ever wrong.
We had a large room with a sea view, it was warm, comfortable and clean.
Whilst the food would not get a Michelin star, it was always hot, a reasonable choice and served well. Patrick was an excellent waiter,
very fast and attentive.
The entertainment was better than we have experienced in some hotels,
Michael (entertainment manager) was very friendly, took time to talk to the guests.
Housekeeping, fast, efficient always a smile and "Hello"
The "Stars" of Liberty's were reception - so pleasant, helpful, nothing was a problem for them,both day and evening staff were brilliant. I use a mobility scooter or wheechair which has proved to be nuisance to some hotels, not at Liberty's, the reception staff were happy to help-
Thankyou Ladies.
Russell Bradshaw- you have a great team at Liberty's but you must know that already, I have now retired from the hospitality industry
otherwise I would have been tempted to poach one or two of your
"stars" !!

To sum it all up, we had a great stay, would we return - of course we would.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yankowskionhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russell_bradshaw, Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Hi SueTeesValley thank you for your great review, you are 100% correct I have a great team and we all work well together to make sure our guests have a great holiday and leave with the thought that they would return again. After reading your review you obviously had a great time and would return which means our goals and targets are being met. I will pass on your kind comments to all and we hope to see you again.

Best wishes

Russell and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Silversands Hotel
Silversands Hotel
#41 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Property: Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Address: 1 Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With weekend and mid-week short breaks available, Liberty's on The Square offers high standards of luxury accommodation. Situated close to the centre of Blackpool, with its famous Blackpool Tower and Golden Mile, Liberty's on The Square is the ideal base to make the most of your holiday. Each of our bedrooms have been appointed and tastefully designed to create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertys On The Square Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing