We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as our last visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Still as good as our last visit”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Our recent visit was for a Shearing's party weekend (I know, sad isn't it).
Having stayed before, we knew the hotel, and yes the floorboards still creak - it's an old building like most in Blackpool, but it is very clean and well maintained.
The food was excellent, and portions just right - if you really needed more, I am sure they would oblige.
The service was excellent, in reception, housekeeping, and both the dining room and bar (but those beer prices made me wince - although the Saturday four free drinks vouchers made up for it).
The only drawback was not the fault of the hotel, but a group of guests who brought the ignorant practice of bagging the best seats in the entertainment lounge with drinks and coats before having a leisurely dinner. We have seen this in Spain, a bit like pensioners reserving sunbeds with towels and blaming the Germans - It is very selfish.
Overall, the hotel is really good value, and well placed for the Tower, North pier, Houndshill shopping centre (and Poundland!).
All in all, we can recommend this hotel, which is gradually being refurbished.

Room Tip: Same as ever - pay a bit more for a sea view or superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and we do hope to see you again in the near future..

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    214
    91
    48
    18
See reviews for
91
319
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Went to this hotel on a national break, on entering the receptionist was welcoming and got us sorted fast, our room was very clean and bathroom was a good size and well maintained dining room was clean a bit dated but only needed updating, dining room staff worked hard and were very polite and full of smiles.now the bad points the entertainment wasn't very entertaining i like lots of music but seemed they only were there to entertain the older person never really got out of the 50s and 60s and the gala night when we dressed up a little thinking it was going to be like a party night entertainment finished at 10 and evening meal was the usual 3 courses with a sorbet thrown in for good measure, the floorboards all over the hotel creaked so much u couldn't have a conversation on the move they were so noisy and lift sounded as if the cables were going to snap any moment it creaked and groaned all the time wouldnt return here

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindylouharker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Liberty's.
I am sorry to hear you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us, I am pleased that found the staff to be helpful during your stay. I am sorry we did not reach your expectations on this occasion.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We were so pleasantly surprised by this place. It feels nice from the moment you walk in. The staff are great and work very hard to make everything great. The bar area and restaurant are lovely. Yes it's true some of the areas have been 'well used' but this does not detract from the warm welcome and excellent service we received.
There are approximately 4 choices at dinner and all the food was perfectly acceptable and very nice. The service is very speedy and friendly.
We only saw the compere as we had other plans so did not stay for entertainment but the compere was a laugh and played standard party tunes which are fun! No point in going to Blackpool if you don't like a round of the Macarena!
All in all this place impressed us and any criticisms you see in other reviews may have some foundation but the good points far outweigh any negatives and it seems a bit mean to complain when the staff work so hard. As it's a Shearings place, It attracts a certain type of older guest so everyone was really friendly to each other. It is fantastic value and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Firstly I would like to thank you for such a positive review, myself and the staff are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Its really pleasing that the hard work the team put in is noticed and appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back to the Liberty's in the near future.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

stayed in this hotel for a four night stay, really can't complain about the staff they were all very helpful.Entertainment good loved Michael always there with good advice kept everybody entertained. The food was ok not a great deal of it wouldn't fill up my man. The hotel itself is something else tired and shabby paint and wallpaper peeling off walls, tape all over carpets. every where you walked the floorboards made so much noise, glad i was on top floor. My bed was like sleeping on plain boards. Only one lift for the whole hotel and only carrys four people at one time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
I am sorry to hear that everything was not perfect during your recent stay with us, Although I am pleased you found our staff to be helpful and attentive.

We do have a on-going refurbishment programme but I am sure you will appreciate we cannot possibly do everything at once

I do hope you return to the Liberty's in the future.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull east yorksshire england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just got home after a long weekend at the Liberty's,from the reception to the waiters/waitress the staff were more than helpful....I had read the reviews on this hotel before we went and to be truthful wasn't looking forward to it,it was nothing like people were saying.We were in a refurbished room and it was fabulous ....food was great always piping hot...we will certainly be visiting this hotel again and i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us here at the Liberty's Hotel, I am really pleased you had a enjoyable stay with us, and that you found the staff helpful and friendly. I believe the staff here at the liberty's are real asset to the hotel and I am glad you agree.

I will be sure to pass your kind comments to the team and we all hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

we booked with National for a gala weekend the rooms are a great size not cramped the bathroom is nice and clean and a good size. the meals were great with good choices the staff went out of their way to put 2 groups of us on the same table in the dining area. the waiter service is very good. There was entertainment each evening so no need to go out when its cold. Will be going back to this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your dining experience.

I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to Rob and his team in the restaurant.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the last weekend of The Illuminations, the main reason for our visit and well worth it.
Did the self drive option but the hotel car park (£5.00 a day) was already full when we booked our stay so we paid £9 for 72 hours in the Public Car Park opposite. The only downside to this was that if you take the car out at any point you may not find a space on your return so we kept the car there and used the excellent public transport.
The hotel itself is like many of the other Bay Hotels.
On check-in to our room (101) I found a ladies wedding and engagement/eternity ring in the bedside cabinet which I promptly took to Reception. I hope the owner realizes their loss and gets them returned. These should have been found by the maid.
There were minimal hangers in the wardrobe and some of these were broken but a visit to reception sorted the problem.
We paid for a sea view double bedded room, large bathroom with bath and good shower. The bed was lumpy and pretty uncomfortable and the mattress definitely needs replacing.
The good point was that being above the bar we were able to get Wifi in our room. The bad point was that the entertainment and music being directly underneath us was noisy.
You no longer get biscuits or hot chocolate on the beverage tray but they can be purchased in reception.
The entertainment was not to our liking and not the best "Party Weekend" acts we have seen.
The food was fine and the service was very good. We were served by various waiting staff so it was hard to decide who to tip. We gave it to the waitress who had served us most at dinner. Not sure if the tips are shared.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galapagosbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Liberty's, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals and found the staff friendly and helpful.

I'm disappointed to hear your stay was not perfect and in reply to your comments we have a on-going refurbishment plan which will see 16 newly refurbished rooms available to us early next year, I am sure if you return you will find them much more comfortable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Peter Sisson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 69 in Blackpool
1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 69 in Blackpool
1,501 reviews
2.5 mi away
Silversands Hotel
Silversands Hotel
#42 of 69 in Blackpool
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 69 in Blackpool
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 69 in Blackpool
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Property: Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Address: 1 Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With weekend and mid-week short breaks available, Liberty's on The Square offers high standards of luxury accommodation. Situated close to the centre of Blackpool, with its famous Blackpool Tower and Golden Mile, Liberty's on The Square is the ideal base to make the most of your holiday. Each of our bedrooms have been appointed and tastefully designed to create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertys On The Square Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing