We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LOVELY STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
NEWAK-ON-TRENT
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A LOVELY STAY”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We self-drove from Newark-on-Trent and used the hotels car park at £5 per day. The outside of the hotel is very well maintained and once we were inside we found the interior was spotless. Our room was on the third floor with a view of the pier. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The food was well cooked and varied and the service was excellent.
The entertainment was good and we thought Claire Morris was excellent. Full marks to all the staff who were very pleasant and helpful.
Our only niggle was the price of the wine - the cheapest bottle was£15-95. However we do not blame the hotel as we paid the same when we went to Durham last year and therefore assume this is Shearings policy. We also visit Daishs hotels and their very acceptable house wine this year was£9-95. We think Shearings should take note of this.
If you are going to visit the Tower go to the Tourist Information centre near North Pier where you can buy heavily reduced tickets
We had a great time at this hotel. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GLENYS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive account of your recent stay with us.
It is always a pleasure to read such a fantastic review and I will be sure to pass on your kind
comments to the team.

We all hope to welcome you back to the Liberty's in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    215
    92
    49
    18
See reviews for
92
322
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

my wife and i booked 3 nights for blackpool pride in a standard room. the hotel is currently being refurbished and definately needs it.There are a few steps to restaurant also the only lift is through the bar/entertainment area to the back through a door - so quite far from reception - Also if you can - upgrade to a standard plus or premier room else the bed will be very hard with flat pillows and our room was between the exit door (banging) and maids cleaning cupboard so was woken early. HOWEVER - apart from when booking in and being whispered " its none of my business but did you know you booked a double bed"!!! -- the staff were very friendly and helpful - from Patrick our waiter who couldnt do enough for you to the cleaning lady who when we put a dnd sign out 1 afternoon as we were tired --- we opened the door to find she had still left us towels/tea/coffee etc outside ( very thoughtful). The food was excellent - 3 choices on each of the 3 courses and all nice tasting plus a caraffe of water.All in all we will be back but would go with an upgrade - thankyou.

Room Tip: upgrade to standard plus or premier - you DO get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us.
I'm pleased you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and enjoyed the food and found the hotel and staff very accommodating.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Liberty's in the near future.

Regards
Peter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

where do i start the manger perter and his team and all of his staff at hotel there are always keep busy to make sure every guests is look after so all i can really say over the years i have ever been at this hotel there never been any problems and also a thank you Simon the maintainers his work his top class how the hotel is upgrading bit by bit it dose take time to do everything at once ,

so i would like to say a big thank you to thomas , partrick, robert,tracey, shirley. karol, petter, simon, j,j entertainer , bar staff and the cleaners and all the rest of the staff they do take a step further and make your stay very enjoyable so if people dose have any problems or want to ask anything pop down to receptions and speak to the lovely staff and they do there best to help you.

on your first day of your holiday there always waiting for uses to arrive there nothing too much trouble to ask i would highly recommend this hotel so why not get your self's down to liberty hotel Blackpool and watch the entertainment and relax and taste the amazing food they all work so hard to make sure everything enjoyable

i stayed in may 2014 and every 5 weeks i come to this hotel i love this hotel because the staff are really friendly to make sure every guests is look after
thanks once again to everyone at the liberty hotel

see uses june 30th 2014 cant wait

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathanm876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Joshua.
Thank you once again for taking the time to leave a excellent review of your recent stay with us.
Its a absolute pleasure for us all to keep welcoming you back to the Liberty's, And myself and the team are delighted you always enjoy your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Many Thanks
Peter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This Hotel is ok for an overnight stay on your way to Scotland, but that is it. this Hotel is in need of a great refurbishment. The rooms are basic and dull, but on the good side the food in this Hotel is excellent, fresh veg, not frozen, and a very good choice on the menu.
The entertainment is hit and miss, depending when you go, its a bit rough down by the North Pier so suggest you stay in the Hotel

Room Tip: Book Early for best rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your short stay with us.
I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay.
I am pleased to see you enjoyed the food and will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the Chef and his team.

I hope you had a nice weekend in Scotland.

Regards
Peter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just back from a 5 day break with shearings holidays. stayed in room 308.
Booked a single room and was given a double with side sea view so makes a change from staying in a room that resembles a cupboard!!
I had plenty of hot water, towels clean and soft even the toilet paper was good quality.
Mattress was uncomfortable and I agree floors creak but its not the Hilton.
restaurant clean and food lovely, plenty of choice. Patrick our waiter couldn't do enough and a credit to the staff.
overall I felt the hotel was good value as were the trips.No rain all week made my stay relaxing and I would definitely return. ty

Room Tip: good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you so much for leaving a positive review of your recent stay here at the Liberty's.
Its really pleasing to read your review and see that you really enjoyed your stay.
We pride ourselves on excellent friendly staff and a good quality value for money holiday, and I am delighted you agree.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Liberty's in the near future.

Many Thanks
Peter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff were excellent and close to the seafront for the local attractions. Food hot and reasonable quality. However the lounge area was dark and dingy. The rooms were small and everything creaked. We had no hot water for washing or showering in the am. The bed was uncomfortable to say the least. Not a great experience to start our Shearings holiday to Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bully1959Canaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to review your short stay with us.
Its always disappointing when we have customers that don't enjoy themselves, but do understand we will not please everybody all of the time.

I take on board your comments and will rectify where necessary.

I hope you enjoyed yourself in Scotland.

Many Thanks
Peter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel, it's the first time we've stayed here and will definitely be coming back and recommending it to our friends. We have stayed in lots of hotels in Blackpool and this is by far our favourite. Lovely staff, good food and our room was perfect. Great location too right near the north pier. Excellent value for money, thank you for a brilliant weekend

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spongebob87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186PeterS186, General Manager at Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I'm delighted to see you really enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the food and the helpful staff.

I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Many Thanks
Peter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#52 of 70 in Blackpool
1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 70 in Blackpool
1,519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 70 in Blackpool
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Silversands Hotel
Silversands Hotel
#42 of 70 in Blackpool
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel

Property: Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
Address: 1 Cocker Square | North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 1RX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With weekend and mid-week short breaks available, Liberty's on The Square offers high standards of luxury accommodation. Situated close to the centre of Blackpool, with its famous Blackpool Tower and Golden Mile, Liberty's on The Square is the ideal base to make the most of your holiday. Each of our bedrooms have been appointed and tastefully designed to create a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertys On The Square Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing