We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rubens, Blackpools best kept secret!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rubens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rubens
Ranked #116 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rubens, Blackpools best kept secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Just back from another great break at Rubens in Blackpool. As usual Ash and Lara the most welcoming hosts and even the addition of a four legged host who sneaked in to welcome us. Our room was clean, comfy and had enough tea an coffee to even keep us quiet! We are always greeted like old friends and our peculiarities are catered to, I like toasted crusts at breakfast, Denise has vinegar on her breakfast and Jacquie likes a pot of hot water with her morning coffee, Ash and lara remember these things which is why they are so good at their jobs. Thanks again for a chillin few days. See you again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stirling_Lynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    27
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
102
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Our first experience here was so good that whenever we return to Blackpool we always check with the Rubens first. Sometimes they are full, so we have to go elsewhere, and our stay is never as satisfactory. When we arrived this time it wasn’t like checking into a B&B, it was more like visiting relatives: a warm and relaxed welcome, first names for everyone and loads of good-natured banter. We found ourselves in the same bedroom as before and were delighted to see that the niggles we cited in our previous review had been fixed. As before, Ashley orchestrated the front-of-house in her efficient, unhurried, attentive and light-hearted way. Backstage, Lara was again at her culinary zenith, producing gourmet cooked breakfasts at the speed of a perfectly struck tee shot. Nothing is too much trouble for these two: we asked where to buy long red ladies evening gloves and they enlisted the help of the other guests in scouring the town, with complete success. We don’t need to repeat the superlatives of the other reviews except to say that we heartily endorse all of them. The Rubens may not look exceptional from the street, but come inside and you will find that it is. Stay once, and you become friends; stay again, and you are part of the family. This special relationship between hosts and guests makes a big contribution to the enjoyment of your visit. On a scale of 1 to 5, where 5 means “completely meets all the requirements” we’d happily give the Rubens a 6.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyrobindavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

As always we had a fantastic stay with Ashley and Lara, they are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble, my morning cuppa was always appreciated. Rubens is our "little home from home" and we love staying there. i dont want to sat too many good things as we may not be able to book a room when we next need one (lol) it might get full booked! We would thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a lovely place to stay that is beautifully clean and wonderfully friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms i've stayed in are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Ashley and Lara are perfect hosts, nice bar where you can mix with other guests. Very good service all round... Breakfast, cups of coffee and even ironed my outfit!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louliss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

from when we got there utill when we went home they made us feel so welcome .. we was there with are 3 kids for my sons 18th . lots to do even in the winter we find lots of places to eat and drink and lots to do in the day... the rooms at this b&b where very very clean and the curtains and bedding more like what you get a 4 star b&b very good value for money i would go any where else...........well done to the both of you we will be back soon claire and gaz from skeg

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

just want to say that Lara and Ashley were great hosts and the breakfast was to die for and their hospitallity was second to none and would recommend this B&B to anyone who is reading this review. many thanks B and S in Dorset.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

we stayed at the rubens for the very first time this weekend 12th nov2011 the rooms were super they were spottless and the hosts were really friendly they made us feel welcome as soon as we got there we would recommend anyone to stay there as we will stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasis Guesthouse
Oasis Guesthouse
#479 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelham Lodge
Pelham Lodge
#2 of 127 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edward Hotel
Edward Hotel
#173 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Seacroft
The Seacroft
#262 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brene Hotel
Brene Hotel
#114 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#7 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubens

Property: Rubens
Address: 39 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rubens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashley and Lara offer a warm welcome to all customers old and new to Rubens . We are conveniently situated in the North Shore area of Blackpool, and is only 200 yards from the North Shore British Rail and Coach Stations. Less than 100 yards from Rubens, the new entertainment complex now comprises of the new Flying Handbag, the multi million pound new Flamingo Club and the now world famous “Funny Girls”. Just a short walk takes you to the promenade, Winter Gardens, theatres, town centre shopping and of course Blackpool Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Rubens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rubens Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing