We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We booked two more stays straight away - say no more”
Review of Rubens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rubens
Ranked #105 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We booked two more stays straight away - say no more”
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We booked this B&B for two nights on recommendation from another B&B owner who was on holiday and were absolutely delighted with the whole experience. Lots of B&Bs say they offer a warm welcome, but it doesn't often feel that way. However, Ashley and Lara couldn't have been more welcoming and hospitable, from the moment we first called to the moment we left. The room was spotlessly clean (even on top of the wardrobe!), with a lovely powerful shower, flat-screen TV, original art on the walls and lots of little touches that really made it welcoming - someone obviously has a talent for fabrics! The breakfast was the best I've ever had in a Blackpool B&B, and you absolutely couldn't ask for better value. We're going back again in March and September this year, so we've put our money where our mouth is. Book with absolute confidence.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
108
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Another great stay at Rubens Hotel. Everything about this little hotel is fantastic. Lara & Ashley offer friendly &warm service. Rubens is clean & welcoming. It is handy for all the bars & shops. The breakfasts are large & tasty, & Lara makes the best poached eggs 'in the Shire!'
We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Blackpool!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DumfriesTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

This was the first time we had stayed here. We received a very warm welcome and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The room was well appointed with a comfortable bed and a large bathroom. Rubens was lovely and warm which was most welcome considering the temperature in Blackpool was very cold. The owners were very approachable and the grilled breakfast was excellent and used high quality ingredients, and there was a plentiful supply of tea and toast. The hotel was also excelllent value and is close to shopping,nightlife and attractions. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

My partner and I had a very nice time here in early December- I wouldn't agree necessarily with the 'rave' reviews but do agree that it's a nice, friendly, very well-situated B & B offering excellent value accommodation.

My partner (vegetarian) was more a fan of the breakfast that I was- I'm quite picky about quality of sausages/ bacon etc. Also disappointed that there wasn't an option for wholemeal toast- the white stuff was plentiful but not great.

Rooms were comfy and clean, but the bed was slightly too soft for me (again, my partner disagrees with this and had a brilliant night's sleep!) Shower was not very highly-pressured.

Does sound like I am being picky, but I'm really not- for £80 for two nights this was a really good choice and I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ab0681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Just got back from an overnight stay at Rubens found everything lovely Lara and Ashley were very welcoming and helpful room lovely and cosy, breakfast very nice, will definately be staying again, also location is fantastic for shopsand nightlife thanks girls see you soon Yvonne and Pete Davies

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petersoulmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenster, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2010

There were 7 of us on our Bingo Babe's Tour from Muenster, Germany and we were all very well accomodated. All the rooms were warm, clean and airy. Breakfast was fabulous with perfect eggs every time! The owners are lovely friendly people who added to the fact we had a great stay. The hotel is located in the north of Blackpool with only a 2 minute walk to the train station, although we never once heard a train?! Only a 5 minute walk, if that, into the main shopping area and down to the beach. With a whole range of nightlife just round the corner, including the world famous Funny Girls! Again tucked away enough that you cant hear any noise. Cant wait to go back sometime next year! Fabulous hotel and i would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sezj127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Excellent location to most places ie shops, pubs and restaurants. Train station 2 mins walk away. Ashley and Lara make you very welcome from the moment you arrive, booked us in to Tiramisu for dinner that evening, which we were very grateful for. The rooms are decorated to a high standard and comfortable. Home cooked brekkie is a must!!!! You will not be disappointed with this hotel. Many thanks for a wicked weekend!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajp-teyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.4 mi away
Strathdon Hotel
Strathdon Hotel
#99 of 859 in Blackpool
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#31 of 859 in Blackpool
279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#92 of 859 in Blackpool
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lenbrook
The Lenbrook
#198 of 859 in Blackpool
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#299 of 859 in Blackpool
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#20 of 859 in Blackpool
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubens

Property: Rubens
Address: 39 Lord Street, Blackpool FY1 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rubens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashley and Lara offer a warm welcome to all customers old and new to Rubens . We are conveniently situated in the North Shore area of Blackpool, and is only 200 yards from the North Shore British Rail and Coach Stations. Less than 100 yards from Rubens, the new entertainment complex now comprises of the new Flying Handbag, the multi million pound new Flamingo Club and the now world famous “Funny Girls”. Just a short walk takes you to the promenade, Winter Gardens, theatres, town centre shopping and of course Blackpool Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rubens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rubens Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing