We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mornington Hotel
Ranked #207 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Stayed at the Mornington were we were greeted by our hosts John and Kay with a warm friendly welcome. Felt as if we had known them for years! Rooms warm and clean and tidy with everything that you would possibly need for that weekend break. The Bar was a great bonus after having a great day walking round Blackpool sites on the recommendation of both John and Kay. At the end of the day all we wanted to do was have a relax in the bar but so relaxed that we stayed far longer than we intended to! Socialising with other guests that John and Kay introduced and they stayed with us to make a great night. Will be recommending to all our friends and have already booked up for a break in June but can see that we will not be able to wait that long. We've made friends for life! Mark and Deb - Birmingham

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucky1961_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2011

From the moment my friends and I arrived at The Mornington Hotel in Blackpool the staff made us feel so welcome. John and Kay helped us out with our luggage and filled us in on where to go and what to see in Blackpool.
Be for we went out in the evening we had a couple of drinks in the hotel bar which has a pool table , dart board etc.. plenty to keep you occupied. A quality little bar with a great atmosphere !
In the morning John and Kay did us a great English breakfast with all the trimmings, we'll definately be going back soon . The rooms are so well maintained and comfortable , brilliant value for money

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rushy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

My husband and I have been to stay at the Mornington twice since Kay and John took over in November 2010.
The hotel is ideally situated for the beach, amusement park and other attractions.
The receptions we were given by Kay and John on both visits were fabulous along with beautifully cooked breakfasts every morning that set you up for the day.
The hotel even has its own licensed bar where both John and Kay make you feel very welcome in the evenings. We have had several pleasant relaxing evenings in the bar playing pool and socialising with our hosts and other guests.
John and Kay having children of their own make everyone welcome, families, couples and groups alike of any age group.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay whilst visiting Blackpool.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michele186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

My Husband and I went upto blackpool on a flying visit and stayed at the mornington. We enjoyed it that much we went back a month later for 3 days with our teenagers.
We were made very welcome by the hosts Kay & John. Our teenage boys loved it as it was situated in a ideal place. The Mornington was Very clean and the breakfast was lovely. We made great use of the bar after long days activities(on both visits!).....again where the Hosts & their Family made us very welcome ......we will be going back (again) and would recommend this hotel.......as we have been to many over the years and never gone back to the same place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneday_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Have just returned from a midweek mini break with my husband and 2 children ( aged 10 & 14).We all had a fabulous time.New owners John & Kay made us feel so welcome, we felt more like part of the family that guests.The rooms were spacious and really well equipped with wonderfully comfy beds,which was much appreciated after a long day at the pleasure beach!!the breakfast was big and hearty just the thing to start your day.We had a great time in the bar in the evening and even played a few games of cards & charades with the hosts!!!! have already booked for New Year, cant wait.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieboo2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

I have just returned from a long weekend at the mornington hotel, and can honestly say i havent got a bad word to say. the place was beautifully cleaned, the room was spacious and had a tv with quite a few channels we were also warmly welcomed by simon and jayne who bent over backwards for us. breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. will definitely return again its a very well looked after place. 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelleyhawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

blackpool is slated for having b&bs/hotels with no personnal services well this is all wrong..we have been staying @ the mornington a number of years with jayne & simon & they are truly great.... one year my car broke down i was stressed but they helped me as best they could with reassurance that it didnt spoil me weekend... the breakfast is ace the rooms are fab & as a couple they are fab nothing is to much trouble & thats 100%
Its right on south pier & is a ideal all round hotel :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mutawaffeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#92 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,432 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#149 of 864 in Blackpool
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mornington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mornington Hotel

Address: 16 Station Road, Blackpool FY4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £41 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mornington Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mornington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing