We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Thornhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thornhill Hotel
Ranked #102 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The Thornhill Hotel is a excellent place to stay and is located in a really good location, It’s clean or I should say spotless really, the breakfast is really good, it’s got its own free parking available which is always a plus and Gaynor & Steve are really nice people.
I had a really nice time there; the only thing that let it down slightly for me was the fact that the room I stayed in wasn't as big as what I’m use to & the bathroom wasn’t very big. Would I go back there again the answer is "YES" and I will be doing just that later this year, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

I would just like to say Thank you to Gaynor & Steve for a very nice time.

Warren

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Thank you for your comments, we have recentley re-decorated room 1, however i have taken note on ref to the lack of space and will be looking to change the furniture in the months to come which should then provide extra space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
104
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have stayed with Steve and Gaynor since they took over 'Thornhill', and it's just got better and better. We go twice every year. Excellent food (Thanks Steve) and warm, genuine friendly atmosphere. Keep it up! You're the best!

Pauline and Gillian
Padiham

Room Tip: Best rooms are at the back. But they're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
A big thank you from us this time, you have been our guests for many years, i am glad you enjoy the home cooked dinners . We look forward to seeing you both later on in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel is a great place to stay for families, for a short break. It is quiet and a walking distance to pleasure beach, and the main attractions in Blackpool. This was a clean hotel with lovely rooms; the owners were really welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was fantastic and we will definitely be staying at Thornhill hotel again. Thanks the Renshaw's

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
I would like to thank you all for your reviews.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed in lots of places in Blackpool over the years, This is the best i think good value for money, very good they make you welcome the minute you pull up, loved it here, JUST BOOK IT,
will be going back there next time in blackpool, regards to Ste & Gaynor thankyou Keith Taylor
Stourbridge West Midlands.

Room Tip: just look at the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithbustaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments.
I like the way you simply put it!, just look at the reviews and book.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

Great value for money, the owners are great and will defo be booking ther again in future thankyou for great service

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Manager at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write your review.
It was so nice to see you both again, look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scalloway, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stopped here with friends over the May Day weekend in 2012. Having stayed in Blackpool many years ago, and worked in the trade, a little bit of nostalgia for the legendary B&B stopover was the aim.
We were not disappointed. For a couple of nights stay the rooms were great value and the breakfast was the business. Its a B&B, just get the 2 B's right and your onto a winner. The Thornhill delivered on both fronts.
Gaynor and her hubby pointed us in the direction of the Bllomfield Social Club and what a great night we had. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you for your very posative comments and feed back on your stay.
Glad you both enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Good hotel with parking and an excellent breakfast. ideally suited for tower where we attended the northern soul weekend. What a fantastic event with a great atmosphere. Will be back again and definitely will stay at The Thornhill Thank you ....... Sharon and Stewart

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for you kind and very posative review.
Glad that you enjoyed your week-end stay , especially your northern soul event.
Also staying in the ground floor room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.4 mi away
The Headlands
The Headlands
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sutton Park Guest House
Sutton Park Guest House
#6 of 859 in Blackpool
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#32 of 859 in Blackpool
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#210 of 859 in Blackpool
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#154 of 859 in Blackpool
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Hotel

Property: Thornhill Hotel
Address: 14 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Thornhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing