We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable & great location”
Review of Thornhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thornhill Hotel
Ranked #111 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed for the Elton John concert weekend too and were delighted with the service, friendliness and location of this hotel - in fact there is nothing we can fault. Breakfast was great - definitely no awkwardness which you experience sometimes if you don't know the breakfast routine!! The atmosphere was always friendly and relaxed; easy parking; clean room, comfortable bed. Perfect and greatly appreciated and will definitely come back again - many thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Never had need to stay in a B & B or hotel in Blackpool as we only live an hour away but on this occasion we decided to stay at the Thornhill after the Elton John concert. This was definately my kind of place, spotlessly clean bathroom, very nice matching bedding which you just knew would be spotless also. Breakfast was a good start to the day, with choice of cereal, juice and a full English, what more could you ask for. Parking was just around the corner, an added bonus and all the main attractions are within walking distance. Gaynor and Steve were excellent hosts and I can see why people return on a regular basis, they have definately given the Thornhill a warm friendly feel to the place. I would recommend without hesitation the Thornhill to relatives and friends as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caz48england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The Thornhill Hotel is a excellent place to stay and is located in a really good location, It’s clean or I should say spotless really, the breakfast is really good, it’s got its own free parking available which is always a plus and Gaynor & Steve are really nice people.
I had a really nice time there; the only thing that let it down slightly for me was the fact that the room I stayed in wasn't as big as what I’m use to & the bathroom wasn’t very big. Would I go back there again the answer is "YES" and I will be doing just that later this year, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

I would just like to say Thank you to Gaynor & Steve for a very nice time.

Warren

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thank you for your comments, we have recentley re-decorated room 1, however i have taken note on ref to the lack of space and will be looking to change the furniture in the months to come which should then provide extra space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have stayed with Steve and Gaynor since they took over 'Thornhill', and it's just got better and better. We go twice every year. Excellent food (Thanks Steve) and warm, genuine friendly atmosphere. Keep it up! You're the best!

Pauline and Gillian
Padiham

Room Tip: Best rooms are at the back. But they're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

A big thank you from us this time, you have been our guests for many years, i am glad you enjoy the home cooked dinners . We look forward to seeing you both later on in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel is a great place to stay for families, for a short break. It is quiet and a walking distance to pleasure beach, and the main attractions in Blackpool. This was a clean hotel with lovely rooms; the owners were really welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was fantastic and we will definitely be staying at Thornhill hotel again. Thanks the Renshaw's

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

I would like to thank you all for your reviews.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed in lots of places in Blackpool over the years, This is the best i think good value for money, very good they make you welcome the minute you pull up, loved it here, JUST BOOK IT,
will be going back there next time in blackpool, regards to Ste & Gaynor thankyou Keith Taylor
Stourbridge West Midlands.

Room Tip: just look at the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithbustaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thank you for your very kind comments.
I like the way you simply put it!, just look at the reviews and book.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

Great value for money, the owners are great and will defo be booking ther again in future thankyou for great service

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Manager at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to write your review.
It was so nice to see you both again, look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#32 of 860 in Blackpool
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Deneside Guest House
The Deneside Guest House
#114 of 860 in Blackpool
108 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#22 of 860 in Blackpool
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#125 of 860 in Blackpool
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 860 in Blackpool
1,063 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lexham Hotel
Lexham Hotel
#436 of 860 in Blackpool
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Hotel

Address: 14 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £41 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thornhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing