We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Lovely Stay!”
Review of Thornhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thornhill Hotel
Ranked #87 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Steve and Gaynor made us very welcome on our return to the Thornhill Hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We really enjoyed the meals and our room was excellent. Would gladly return and recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you for your review, it was so nice to see you both again, look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

Can thoroughly recommend this hotel we were met at the hotel , shown where to park and settled in very quickly, we were up to see the lights and the hotel's location was great , about halfway along the promenade so easy to reach both tower one way and pleasure beach the other. The hotel was situated one street back from the prom so was a lot quieter which we like, the breakfast in the hotel set you up for a good day and the owners were friendly and knowledgeable of places to go for meals , etc, the room was excellent , nice decor , en suite and a comfortable bed, we would definately go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

It was so nice to meet you and your lovley family, thank you for taking time to do
us a review. Hope to seeyou all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed at The Thornhill Fiday & Saturday, Accommodation clean & comfortable, very good breakfast & lovely home cooked evening meals, Steve & Gaynor a very nice couple, We would gladly return if in Blackpool. F&L

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank geo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your 2 nights stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

As a gay couple, we always wonder what our reception will be when staying in a UK Hotel or B & B. We need have not be concerned aS the welcome from both Gaynor and Steve was wrm and genuine. We stayed in room 2 on the ground floor. It had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The main room is of a very good size, though the on-suite was a little cramped; but this did not cause us any problems. We decided to go for the traditional full English breakfast. It was lovely, not a scrap of grease anywhere and piping hot. The Thornhill is well placed. Close enough to be able to walk into town and see the Tower and the other attraction available. But far enough always to be nice and quite when its time to sleep. If you don't fact the walk into town then it is a short walk to he St. Chads stop on the tram system. £1.50 gets you there. So all in all a good stay.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bbri879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your one nights stay.
Hope you both enjoyed your show on the Sunday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed at the Thornhill Hotel for 3 days, which is in a ideal position to get anywhere in Blackpool, just off the prom on a nice small road and we would recommend to anyone. Steve and Gaynor were very nice, friendly hosts who couldnt do enough to help anyone. Very clean rooms, ours was on suite with tea/coffee making facilities, very good food, 3 great breakfasts and one enjoyable evening meal.
We would recommend to families and couples.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe2421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you for your posative review. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Eight of us went to Blackpool for the weekend and were recommended to stay in this hotel by some friends. What a recommendation! Steve and Gaynor are fantastic hosts - home cooked food was delicious with the option to take evening meal (which compared to London prices was so cheap!). Rooms were reasonbly compact but clean and tidy with tea & coffee making facilities which is lovely in the morning! The hotel is centrally located to all the sites and within easy reach of trams & buses. We certainly stay there again and would recommend on to our friends and family if they were to visit Blackpool.
Liz & Brian

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

I was so glad that you enjoyed your first visit to Blackpool, and hopefully not your last.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We have stayed at this Hotel 16 times so i think that says it all.Gaynor and Steve are great hosts,they are always ready to have a chat with you. They remember your name from the moment you arrive.Steve's cooking is brilliant and we always compliment him on the roast beef Sunday lunches.Hotel is nice and clean,you have tea making facilities,large television on the wall,and is central for everything ,tower pleasure beach and sea front. We book up the day we leave the hotel for next year. We sometimes go in June also and have been in March when it has been 6 inches of snow but still had fantastic service. Cant wait to go back.
Marion and Tony , Blyth.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marionandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words, it is always great to see you both.
see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.4 mi away
The Astor Hotel
The Astor Hotel
#144 of 864 in Blackpool
207 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Collingwood Hotel
The Collingwood Hotel
#284 of 864 in Blackpool
161 reviews
0 mi away
Vernon Hotel & Self Catering Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#21 of 864 in Blackpool
341 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Oakwell Hotel
Royal Oakwell Hotel
#103 of 864 in Blackpool
161 reviews
0 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#100 of 137 in Blackpool
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Hotel

Address: 14 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £30 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Thornhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing