We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best b&b”
Review of Thornhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thornhill Hotel
Ranked #90 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

well what can i say about the thornhill hotel, got back today from a weekend break and i have to say the hospitality from gaynor and steve was just brilliant, nothing was too much trouble if you needed anything, our room was spacious enough for me and my other half and very modern.....we was in the centre of everything, walking distance between the pleasure beach in the south to all the entertainment in the north, all in all had a great time and would definitely stay and recommend the thornhill hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debs441970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking time to do us a Review on Your Stay with us at The Thornhill. Glad you enjoyed your 3 Night Break with us and your very kind Words .
We look forward to seeing you both again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Thornhill Hotel for one night & everything was great.
The room was very clean & the bed was really comfortable.
Steve & Gaynor are very welcoming & friendly & happy to help if you need anything.
The breakfast was beautiful & served very quickly, plenty of choice & lovely quality, I especially liked the vegetarian breakfast with Linda McCartney sausages! :)
Having somewhere safe to park your car at the back of the B&B is a big bonus.
Very impressed for £25pppn, we would definitely stay here again.
Thankyou for a lovely stay :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kirsty a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your very kind review of the Thornhill.
We are so glad that you both enjoyed your stay and was pleased with EN--Suite Room.
We look forward to seeing you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend with friends and found the accomodation to be in a very convenient location, Steve and Gaynor were first class hosts and if I was in this location again I would not hesitate to book into the Thornhill Hotel

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank downeyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to do us a review. Glad you Enjoyed your Week-end
and all the Facilities were up to your expectations, It was great to meet you and your Friends.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed for a long weekend with a small group of friends. Was more than happy with this B&B. Nice and quiet and very friendly and well run. Hosts Steve and Gaynor are a lovely couple and nothing was too much trouble. I initially booked a single room, but when a friend asked to be booked in too they upgraded me into a double for the same price :-)

On the first day I noticed my shower head was faulty (suspect it had been dropped by a guest). It was fixed that day as soon as I informed Steve about it.

The place was very well run, very clean. We were all very happy with the Thornhill and enjoyed our stay immensely. They were very flexible with breakfast times and allowed us all a lie in each day, which was very much appreciated as we were there for quite a social weekend. Breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day and they were both always on hand to assist us with anything; be it in the B&B itself or regarding the local area, calling cabs for us etc.

Free Parking was also a boost, for which we were grateful.

I would wholeheartedly recommend the Thornhill to anyone looking for a small, friendly, clean, quiet, inexpensive, value for money B&B. It does 'exactly what it says on the Tin', Thanks to Steve and Gaynor for your warm and genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac3561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your amazing Review of The Thornhill.
We do pride ourselves on trying to offer a good service and be Flexible as well.
It was great to meet you and your Friends and colleague's on your Reunion week-end.
Thank you for your recommendation of the restaurant , Which we will be visiting very soon.
Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Lookin for a reliable hotel in blackpool I found was hard as there's soo many to choose from but I choose the thornhill hotel and it did not disappoint. Me and my family stayed in the family room which was spacious clean and well maintained. Gaynor and Steve (owners of the hotel) were very friendly, made us feel welcome and my 7 year old loved chatting their heads off :) the hotel is in a great location just minutes away from black pools attractions! Breakfast in the morning was 100% spot on! Can't fault the hotel what so ever. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family. We're looking forward to coming back to the thornhill later on in the year! :)
Brendon sam and family :) x

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a really great review.
Glad that you all enjoyed your Week end, Your children were a Delight and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

In a great location this hotel is 'the one'. Gaynor & Steve make you very welcome and are friendly. The room was spacious, spotless and fulfilled our needs, including baby facilities. The free parking is a bonus and the full English breakfasts are unbeatable - fab! We look forward to returning to Blackpool and staying with you again in the near future :)
Ste,Leanne,Leyton xxx

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerfly89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guests, Thank you so very much for taking the time to write us a great Review.
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family at the Thornhill.
We very much look forward to seeing you both and your most gorgeous baby again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Big thank you to Steve and Gaynor for making us so welcome into their lovely guesthouse, despite us running quite late arriving from Nottingham for various reasons! The stay met all of our expectations from cleanliness, hospitality, room and food quality; all of which were fantastic. Hassle free and excellent stay all round and would genuinely stop again Thanks both, we hope you have a happy and healthy 2014.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bear8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynor01, Manager at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking time to write your review.
It was nice meeting you all especially on New Years Eve !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.3 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#20 of 864 in Blackpool
347 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Astor Hotel
The Astor Hotel
#123 of 864 in Blackpool
210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rubens
Rubens
#122 of 864 in Blackpool
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Collingwood Hotel
The Collingwood Hotel
#290 of 864 in Blackpool
161 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#196 of 864 in Blackpool
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#87 of 864 in Blackpool
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Hotel

Address: 14 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £34 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Thornhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing