We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Caroldene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caroldene Hotel
Ranked #155 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Our family stayed at the caroldene for my sons eightieth. We had one family room a double and a single room.
We had a warm friendly welcome. All rooms were more than what I had expected for the money. Especially impressed with the family room with adjoining room with twin beds and a tv for my 12yr old daughter as I expecting to be sleeping in the same room. Full english breakfast in the morning was lovely and nothing was too much trouble.
Very clean and comfortable homey place to stay. Would highly recommend. Will be my first choice when staying in blackpool again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzzbee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caroldenehotel2003, Owner at Caroldene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Were glad you had a good time.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sue, Andrew, Ken and Kate at the Caroldene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

At first glace our week-long stay in Blackpool England looked like a long one when we saw our small room at Carolene's. The place grew on us quickly and by the end of our stay we were sad to go. Sue and the staff work hard to keep everything running and very clean. They could not be nicer. Not fancy but a nice place.

Room Tip: Room is a 6 min walk to Winter Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earlslikegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caroldenehotel2003, Owner at Caroldene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Were really grateful for all your comments.

Congratulations on your daughters success in the dance competition and we hope to maybe see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed at The Caroldene for one night during May half term. Despite the busy time of year they still managed to find us their last room at late notice.
The staff are extremely friendly and hard-working and would bend over backwards to try and satisfy a guest. (Including providing alternative meals to those on the menu and getting newspapers for guests- both of which we witnessed them do during our stay.
The hotel is extremely clean and fantastic value for money.
The food is yet again brilliant value for money as it is great quality with a lot of choices on the menu.
We had a long journey the next day and were provided with a huge packed lunch- yet again at a very minimal cost.
A fantastic stay with welcoming, friendly staff and extremely clean facilities!
We will certainly be stopping by again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caroldenehotel2003, Owner at Caroldene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Thank you for your great comments. We are really glad you had a great time and hope to see you again very soon.

From Sue, Ken, Andrew and Kate at The Caroldene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night. I found the hotel clean and staff friendly and helpful.
We had a double room which was rather small. The bathroom floor could do with some attention as it was bubbled up and raised in areas. The shelf above the sink needs moving as I you could not access the sink bowl without hitting the shelf. The room would really benefit from a black out blind as the curtain did absolutely nothing. Something that the room description on the website states it has but ours certainly did not....
Breakfast was satisfactory, nothing to rave about.
We arrived 6pm ish and sadly there was a group of loud drunk men outside which was not a good first impression, but it turned out they were not residents to the caroldene, thankfully.
We booked this hotel last minute and it met our needs but If I were to return I don't think I would stay at this hotel again.
Overall I found my stay satisfactory.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bee088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caroldenehotel2003, Owner at Caroldene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay and we will take your comments on board as we are constantly working to maintain and improve the standard of our rooms. I will be reviewing our website as none of our rooms have blackout blinds and I was unaware that they were advertised as such.

We are now working with your comments to improve our guests' experiences in the future, and we hope that you would consider staying with us again. Best wishes from Sue, Andrew and Ken at the Caroldene.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed at this Bed and Breakfast last week. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast was good but the whole time I was there (5 days) they never cleaned my room or gave me fresh towels or made the bed. I had to ask for tea and coffee for my room. They never gave me clean cups they just left the dirty ones there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gizgog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caroldenehotel2003, Owner at Caroldene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay especially given that providing a clean, welcoming environment for our guests is our top priority.

I wish that you had brought these issues to our attention while you were staying here so that your stay could have been more enjoyable. We are now working with your comments to improve our guests experiences in the future. Best wishes from Sue, Andrew and ken at the Caroldene.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Me, my boyfriend and his parents stayed in this hotel. We planned to stay last minute and found this one online, was really cheap.

When we arrived we parked outside and went in. As soon as we went in Sue was there straight away, greeting us, she helped us find a parking spot just up the road and was very helpful.
We was then shown our rooms, we had a twin room and a double room. The rooms were very clean and tidy.
Twin room- walked in and had a double bed, en suite, another room with two single beds. Kettle with tea bags, coffee, milk. Freeview television, dressing table. Wardrobes, draws.
Double room- double bed and a single, en suite, wardrobes, kettle, hair dryer e.c.t
As we was too late for dinner at this hotel Sue recommended us I go to a few places. And she got us some drinks ready at the bar for when we got down stairs. We had our own tab at the bar an paid for it at the end, which was easy and handy.
Breakfast is from 8.30-9.30 every morning. There is a selection of cereals, toast, jam. Also a full English breakfast, all prepared. Orange juice, tea, coffee and milk.
During our stay there Sue helped us out in a minor medical emergency and we were very great full, thanks.
We were never rushed to leave, like some hotels you stay in. Always there when you needed them.

Lovely hotel to stay in, lovely staff, very friendly.
Will come back here if we come back to blackpool.
Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8286holt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Sue is a lovely lady. Sadly we didn't get to meet the other half of the team!
Very helpful, friendly and cheerful.
We stopped for one night and took Millie our Staff.
Room was cosy & clean with all you need. Tea,Coffee, TV, shower has gel, bathroom sink has soap, fresh clean towels. Bed was firm and comfy, didn't take long to drop off to sleep.
Central heating wasn't on all the time late afternoon/early evening, but we was warm enough.
Had a wonderful night and breakfast was delicious. Again, Sue couldn't do enough. Cereal, fruit juice, Full English, Tea, Toast...more Toast, More Tea if we wanted, but the first pot with extra boiling water was ample.

Thank you Sue, we will return soon we hope.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooster_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#89 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,425 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
0 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#152 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caroldene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caroldene Hotel

Address: 12 Woodfield Road, Blackpool FY1 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £26 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caroldene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits everyone at the Caroldene. We have been awarded a three star rating by Visit Britain for quality and tourism. We pride ourselves on the high quality personal service given to all our guests. The Caroldene is a pet-friendly establishment. We are situated off the promenade between central and south pier, just a short walk from all major attractions, including Pleasure Beach, Blackpool Tower and The Zoo to name just a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caroldene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing