We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of The Scala Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Scala Hotel
Ranked #301 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We where looking for a quiet and friendly place to stay for a couple of nights and came across the scala,read all the reviews and they where totally true,a friendly super clean hotel with owners to match.
Bedrooms where spotless and smelt so nice with an ensuite just as nice,nothing was too much trouble for Sandra & Arthur they really are a super friendly couple who willingly go that bit extra for guests so much you feel like a good friend and there local knowledge is great too,(buy your daysaver for the trams at the local co-op sandra told us and she was spot on.
Breakfast is plentifull and you can select your own choices daily,cooked fresh it was delightful and really set you up for the day ahead,rooms are serviced daily and towels etc all fresh.
theres a lounge/bar which is great if you fancy a night cap,pool table available or opposite a sun lounge to sit and relax,the hotel is set in a really nice area close to pleasure beach but just far enough away to be nice and quiet,we really liked the fact that you are left alone not fussed over but Sandra & Arthur where always available should anything be required.
All in all a great place to stop that we would be happy to recommend to anyone looking for a good quality place to stay while in Blackpool and leagues above most places,we are hoping to stay again in the future it really was that good

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
21
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Spent two nights here with my boyfriend this weekend and absolutely loved it! Rooms are a good size, clean and so cosy! Couldn't have found a nicer hotel if we tried! Owners are absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough for us! Will definitely be returning! Really close to the fair, great price and a lovely place! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Have just spent 2 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although it is smoker friendly, the room did not have that smoked in odour. I'm an ex-smoker so notice the give away smells normally. The hotel has a sort of 70's feel to it, but is spotlessly clean The room was very adequate for 2 nights, clean and warm with a modern shower. Breakfast is to die for, served by pleasant and friendly staff, and more to the point, served piping hot and fresh. None of that dried up, luke warm food that is found in lots of hotels/guest houses from hot plates that have been on the go for an hour or so. You can select whatever you want on a sheet given to you on day of arrival. Tick what, and how many items you want and then keep that daily or change it as you want. The choices are good too. There is also a cereal/fruit bar to start off with. Toast and orange juice is provided and replenished if required. The bar is very pleasant and there is a pool table in the front room. One thing though, shorter cues are required due to limited space!! All in all, though, this is an ideal place to spend a few nights and will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just got back from a Saturday night stay with friends. We were looking for accommodation and knew this area was good and saw vacancies available so called in. It was the best decision we've ever made, we were shown the rooms which were clean and well decorated and £24pp our friends were glad as they were allowed to smoke in the rooms and as non smokers we couldn't tell they were smoking rooms. We were given a list to fill out for breakfast which is good as not everyone has the same taste so we could pick what we wanted. Even though it's in a quiet area the tram stop is 2 min walk and for £4.50 you can ride all day up to 1.15am so after a busy day it's nice to come back to somewhere quiet.
We will deffinatly be coming back
Thanks Sandra for making our stay great

Room Tip: Lower floors if you don't like a lot of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed here for just one night for my cousin's birthday. We were supposed to be staying at The Roker hotel around the corner but due to a double booking we were moved here which we were very relieved about after seeing the state of The Roker which looked very run down. The decor of The Scala is lovely and more modern than most traditional b&bs. Sandra was very welcoming and we found our rooms and en suites beautifully kept and lovely and clean. Despite smoking being allowed through the hotel as a non smoker I did not notice any strong smell of tobacco which you might expect to hit you as you entered the room in fact it smelt very fresh. The breakfast was also very nice and we were given a choice card when we arrived so we were able to choose exactly what we wanted. The only let down for me was the location of the hotel as we would have preferred to be more in the heart of things where as this hotel is in the quieter end of Blackpool however I can imagine this would suit many other guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights really enjoyed it. Was like a home from home. Rooms are well equipped and beds are extremely comfy and clean. Location was great near pleasure beach and sandcastle. Not any noise at night from people passing which is a big plus. The breakfast was great and service was good there was also alot on offer. Enjoyed the friendliness of Sandra and the staff. Will be visiting the hotel again in the near future again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameswg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceredigion
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I agree with all of the other reviews - Sandra was a gem and the staff couldn't have done enough for us. The room was clean and comfortable and the food was beautiful. The location was perfect for people travelling by train and for access to the Pleasure Beach.
My only complaint was that as a non-smoker, the smell of smoke throughout the hotel was off-putting. Having said that, at the end of the day the hotel caters for smokers so I shouldn't really have been surprised by that.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 69 in Blackpool
745 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 69 in Blackpool
1,266 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Viagra
Hotel Viagra
#68 of 69 in Blackpool
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,046 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#30 of 69 in Blackpool
847 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#11 of 69 in Blackpool
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scala Hotel

Property: The Scala Hotel
Address: 22 Clifton Drive, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Scala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated Smoking Bedrooms, WIFI, Bar Lounge, Sun Lounge, Pool Table. Situated in Blackpool south shore close to the Pleasure Beach, we are a small licensed hotel. We have a car park & there is unlimited on street parking. The bedrooms are all en suite clean & comfortable, with freeview TV, complimentary refreshments, fresh towels, serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Scala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing