We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”
Review of The Scala Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Scala Hotel
Ranked #267 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I have stayed in many hotels and B&B's in Blackpool over the years and this is the most friendly and the best managed of the lot. Arthur and Sandra the owners are so flexible and cannot do enough for you. Have stayed here as a couple and also for a weekend where we took over the whole hotel as a group. A great stay both times. We particularly enjoyed the group stay as everyone in the hotel knew everyone else. If you have a party of 15 to 20 you can book the whole place for your own party use. The hotel is spotlessly clean in all areas and the bed was very comfortable indeed. Breakfast was fabulous, you choose the hot items when you arrive and ask for as little or as much as you like. It's possible to have an evening dinner if you order the same morning and there's also a bar meals menu. In the group, the owners were happy for us to order in take aways on one of the nights. There are four parking spaces on the forecourt and ample on street free parking right outside. Situated just a street behind the Promenade and just below the pleasure beach, it in the quieter part of town which for us is ideal. 5 minutes walk to the nearest tram stop. If you're searching for an affordable place to stay in Blackpool which offers great value and service, look no further than The Scala, it's absolutely ideal. The hotel has designated smoking rooms and even though we were all non-smokers, it didn't bother us in the slightest, so please don't worry about that, the hotel is deep cleaned regularly. Thanks to the owners, we will definitely be back soon!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleBulgaria15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for The Scala Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

My self and partner spent the weekend here (compleate with snow)the reason we chose here was because of the excellent reviews fron this site and we were not dissapointed , we vist blackpool quite a few times over the year and have stayed in alot of places none of them have come close to offering the quality of service clenliness and food than from sandra at the scala , from the moment we arrived nothing was to much trouble from telling us of places to eat nearby and getting what was on locally for entertainment the room was clean tidy massive 6ft bed all you want then of course the famous breakfast it was really pleaseing to see that you can choose what you wanted for breakfast it was georgeous infact we did not even contemplate on eating anything the rest of the day it was so good and filling.im hungry just writing about it now when we visit blacpool again we will alays return to this warm freindly hotel i recomend to all.

Room Tip: just book one
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I didn't realise when I booked that this hotel has all designated smoking rooms. As a non-smoker the smell is faintly noticeable but it didn't really bother me that much and the room had been cleaned and aired well so that was OK. Sandra was very concerned when I made the mistake and rang me to ask if I wished to cancel, which was over and above normal service. I decided to go ahead and stay there and I'm very glad I did, they couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was fantastic. They have a nice little bar where we sat and had a good gossip with whoever was in. Comfortable beds, lovely shower, convenient location. It had everything I wanted for a short stay to see the lights. If you really want looking after, this is the place to go. If you smoke I'd say this would be paradise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notpastityet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We where looking for a quiet and friendly place to stay for a couple of nights and came across the scala,read all the reviews and they where totally true,a friendly super clean hotel with owners to match.
Bedrooms where spotless and smelt so nice with an ensuite just as nice,nothing was too much trouble for Sandra & Arthur they really are a super friendly couple who willingly go that bit extra for guests so much you feel like a good friend and there local knowledge is great too,(buy your daysaver for the trams at the local co-op sandra told us and she was spot on.
Breakfast is plentifull and you can select your own choices daily,cooked fresh it was delightful and really set you up for the day ahead,rooms are serviced daily and towels etc all fresh.
theres a lounge/bar which is great if you fancy a night cap,pool table available or opposite a sun lounge to sit and relax,the hotel is set in a really nice area close to pleasure beach but just far enough away to be nice and quiet,we really liked the fact that you are left alone not fussed over but Sandra & Arthur where always available should anything be required.
All in all a great place to stop that we would be happy to recommend to anyone looking for a good quality place to stay while in Blackpool and leagues above most places,we are hoping to stay again in the future it really was that good

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Spent two nights here with my boyfriend this weekend and absolutely loved it! Rooms are a good size, clean and so cosy! Couldn't have found a nicer hotel if we tried! Owners are absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough for us! Will definitely be returning! Really close to the fair, great price and a lovely place! Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Have just spent 2 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although it is smoker friendly, the room did not have that smoked in odour. I'm an ex-smoker so notice the give away smells normally. The hotel has a sort of 70's feel to it, but is spotlessly clean The room was very adequate for 2 nights, clean and warm with a modern shower. Breakfast is to die for, served by pleasant and friendly staff, and more to the point, served piping hot and fresh. None of that dried up, luke warm food that is found in lots of hotels/guest houses from hot plates that have been on the go for an hour or so. You can select whatever you want on a sheet given to you on day of arrival. Tick what, and how many items you want and then keep that daily or change it as you want. The choices are good too. There is also a cereal/fruit bar to start off with. Toast and orange juice is provided and replenished if required. The bar is very pleasant and there is a pool table in the front room. One thing though, shorter cues are required due to limited space!! All in all, though, this is an ideal place to spend a few nights and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just got back from a Saturday night stay with friends. We were looking for accommodation and knew this area was good and saw vacancies available so called in. It was the best decision we've ever made, we were shown the rooms which were clean and well decorated and £24pp our friends were glad as they were allowed to smoke in the rooms and as non smokers we couldn't tell they were smoking rooms. We were given a list to fill out for breakfast which is good as not everyone has the same taste so we could pick what we wanted. Even though it's in a quiet area the tram stop is 2 min walk and for £4.50 you can ride all day up to 1.15am so after a busy day it's nice to come back to somewhere quiet.
We will deffinatly be coming back
Thanks Sandra for making our stay great

Room Tip: Lower floors if you don't like a lot of stairs
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,148 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#32 of 73 in Blackpool
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
792 reviews
3.5 mi away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
0.3 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scala Hotel

Address: 22 Clifton Drive, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £38 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Scala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated Smoking Bedrooms, WIFI, Bar Lounge, Sun Lounge, Pool Table. Situated in Blackpool south shore close to the Pleasure Beach, we are a small licensed hotel. We have a car park & there is unlimited on street parking. The bedrooms are all en suite clean & comfortable, with freeview TV, complimentary refreshments, fresh towels, serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Scala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing