We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yet another fantastic stay at the best hotel in blackpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Scala Hotel

The Scala Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Scala Hotel
Ranked #345 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yet another fantastic stay at the best hotel in blackpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

just had another 3 day stay at scala hotel now been going for 6 years, Sandra and Arthur are the most pleasant and helpful people you could ever meet, no task to to much for them . the hotel is kept very clean and tidy, the breakfast is a very good to say the least, and a stay at the scala hotel is highly recommended and well worth the money

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank para6378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
19
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Arriving in Blackpool early on a Friday morning to give my kids a full day at the Pleasure Beach, I contacted the Scala to ask if it was possible for me to get a pass out to pop back later to book in. I spoke to the owner who couldn't have been more helpful, inviting me to book in immediately, also allowing me to park my car on the frontage of the hotel avoiding finding a parking space. Having originally booking this hotel for a 3 night stay, I was so impressed with the comfort & cleanliness, not to mention the friendly attitudes of the owners Sandra & Arthur Fenton, I booked an extra night at the request of my children. My family room, although compact, was quite airy & not at all crowded, well decorated with a great on suite shower and extremely clean & comfortable beds.. we all slept like logs The breakfast was unquestionably 5 star .. I have very picky kids who demolished their breakfast with a relish never before witnessed!
Although no longer a smoker, I was quite impressed that this hotel offers in room smoking facilities .. a definite + for smokers; as I have family who do enjoy a smoke, I shall be recommending the 'Scala Hotel' to both friends & family .. smokers/non smokers alike. A great experience .. well done Sandra & Arthur! .. 'see you again soon'

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomjonkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We've just returned from a great 2 day stay at the Scala Hotel. What a find that was ! Trying to search out a hotel that allows smoking in the rooms was a nightmare before coming across this little gem. The owners, Sandra and Arthur were so welcoming and during our stay they couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were excellent, with a good choice (including vegetarian) and plentiful helpings. The young staff were really attentive and, I have to say, were being well trained by Sandra. Overall, excellent customer service in a hotel where guests are treated with respect and for whom nothing is too much trouble. Some of the bigger hotels could learn a lot from the Scala !
The hotel is in a quiet area near the South Shore and is very handy for the Pleasure Beach. Bus and tram stops were only a few minutes walk away. Parking was easy, with 4 spaces at the front and free on-street parking close by.
We had a two-room annexe on the first floor (Rooms 1 and 2) which was ideal for us, having two single bedrooms sharing a shower and toilet - which wasn't a problem. The rooms were basic and in need of redecoration (for which Sandra apologised and insisted we saw the rooms as soon as we arrived to make sure they were satisfactory). However, they were spotlessly clean and there was plenty free coffee and tea and biscuits. As a smoker, the joy of being able to smoke in the room, and not having to go outside in all weathers, was brilliant. One of us is a non-smoker, and she had no complaints at all about her room, which did not smell of smoke. Sandra and Arthur make no bones about the fact that the Scala allows smoking - and they certainly did not feel the need to apologise for it. Their main concern was that smokers these days have such little choice of hotels so they are pleased to be able to offer smoking accommodation. How refreshing ! Interestingly, we noticed at breakfast on the first morning that there were as many children staying there as there were adults.
On the ground floor is a sun room, a comfortable bar with lounge seating, a room with a pool table and the dining room. This latter was very pleasant to eat in.
All in all, we had a wonderful two days and would have liked to be able to stay longer. We certainly intend to go back again to the Scala and wouldn't look at anywhere else for good value (Hint: phone the owners direct for best prices), excellent service and a comfortable place to be.
Thank you SO much Sandra and Arthur and staff.

Room Tip: Wide range of rooms from the two-roomed annexe to large double and family rooms. No air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We have very happy memory's of The Scala and the owners as this was the b n b we went too upon leaving our original holiday park site mid week during our yearly holiday . I cannot praise the welcoming genuine attitude you receive from Sandra and Arthur the owners right from speaking to them to book to leaving the b n b , which we stayed in for 3 nights . When we arrived at the Scala our children's moods were low as they were unsure of what to expect after we had endured 3 days off rudeness at the original holiday site we were staying on , but with in five mins of walking in to the Scala our children's spirits were lifted . It was the little touches , like Sandra telling the children they were free to play on the pool table , just with the white pool if they didn't want to spend there pennies , Sandra showing the children around the sun room , bar lounge and telling them they were free to watch the television as and when they wished, letting my youngest play with cards and rearrange cushions off chairs etc . Upon arriving each off us were given a breakfast menu and the way Sandra spoke to all 3 of our children and laughed and giggled and helped them fill out there breakfast orders , made you feel relaxed before you'd even entered the room . The personal touches make your children feel like they are visiting nanny and grandad . The rooms were clean , tidy , basic in sense of white linen and white walls , but this works as you feel like you have more space , as let's face it , 3 children and two adults in one room could be a recipe for disaster . But it wasn't , it was a unplanned and our first b n b experience with our children and actually pulled our holiday around . I personally like the fact that mugs were in the room as it always irritates me having small cups when your in need of that first hot drink in the morning . Nothing is too much trouble for the owners , they are just lovely people , and you feel so welcomed words can't express this . We are chatty people and enjoyed the fact that we could chat with Sandra in the mornings at breakfast and Arthur's in the evenings at the bar area . The drinks are incredible good priced . The breakfast was fantastic and there is no scrimping , if you want lots , you get to eat lots . We ordered a evening meal one night and it was by far the best home cooked dinner of our holiday , and very reasonably priced . You are able to smoke in the bedrooms but this wasn't something we did due to the children , as there is more than adequate facilities outside . You couldn't smell smoke , and the rooms didn't smell smoky either as this was a worry of mine when I saw the "smoking room sign on bedroom doors". If you were a avid none smoker then I couldn't guarantee if the Scala was full that you wouldn't get a whiff , but for us , it didn't smell of smoke . The rooms are well ventilated and the whole building is quite spacious . I also need to add that Sandra bends over backwards to save you as much money as possibly as a young family with vouchers , and fantastic information on events and days out and activities, not a day passed where she hadn't passed us a voucher for saving offer . I honestly can't fault The Scala and can't thank Sandra and Arthur's enough , to return there later in the year . Oh and I can't forget , Sandra waving us off , that was a lovely touch that finalised a holiday perfectly .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenb79_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is our second visit to the Scala and many more will follow! The welcome has always been warm, there's never been a problem of any sort and the breakfast is always top notch! Sandra and Arthur are superb hosts and do everything to make sure your stay is the best it can be! We visit Blackpool alot and we really wish we'd discovered this little gem sooner. I had the best nights sleep here, the bed was so comfortable. The location aswell is great, just around the corner from the sea front and a stones throw from the Pleasure Beach for those that enjoy it. A superb stay, the best hosts and we cannot wait to go again!

Room Tip: All rooms here will be perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNDepotPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

my wife and I have stayed many times here at the scala and have brought both my sons and partners who also enjoyed their stay. Sandra and Arthur are good hosts and are always prepared to make your stay enjoyable. rooms very clean and a good standard, breakfasts that will keep you going all day. will be back soon

Room Tip: any room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primera786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

I have stayed in many hotels and B&B's in Blackpool over the years and this is the most friendly and the best managed of the lot. Arthur and Sandra the owners are so flexible and cannot do enough for you. Have stayed here as a couple and also for a weekend where we took over the whole hotel as a group. A great stay both times. We particularly enjoyed the group stay as everyone in the hotel knew everyone else. If you have a party of 15 to 20 you can book the whole place for your own party use. The hotel is spotlessly clean in all areas and the bed was very comfortable indeed. Breakfast was fabulous, you choose the hot items when you arrive and ask for as little or as much as you like. It's possible to have an evening dinner if you order the same morning and there's also a bar meals menu. In the group, the owners were happy for us to order in take aways on one of the nights. There are four parking spaces on the forecourt and ample on street free parking right outside. Situated just a street behind the Promenade and just below the pleasure beach, it in the quieter part of town which for us is ideal. 5 minutes walk to the nearest tram stop. If you're searching for an affordable place to stay in Blackpool which offers great value and service, look no further than The Scala, it's absolutely ideal. The hotel has designated smoking rooms and even though we were all non-smokers, it didn't bother us in the slightest, so please don't worry about that, the hotel is deep cleaned regularly. Thanks to the owners, we will definitely be back soon!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleBulgaria15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#9 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Vidella Hotel
Vidella Hotel
#72 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
#312 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scala Hotel

Property: The Scala Hotel
Address: 22 Clifton Drive, Blackpool FY4 1NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Scala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated Smoking Bedrooms, WIFI, Bar Lounge, Sun Lounge, Pool Table. Situated in Blackpool south shore close to the Pleasure Beach, we are a small licensed hotel. We have a car park & there is unlimited on street parking. The bedrooms are all en suite clean & comfortable, with freeview TV, complimentary refreshments, fresh towels, serviced daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Scala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing