We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B and B Why all the bad reviews !!!!!!!!!”
Review of South Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Crest Hotel
Ranked #798 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Firstly i just want to say i don t know why this hotel is getting such bad reviews we have just come back from a 3 day stay at the hotel and we have no complaints yes granted it is not the Hilton or the Ritz but for the price and the location it is what it is we are actually going back to this hotel on Monday with our children and have extended our stay an extra night. The rooms are basic but there workable the showers were nice and hot the bedding was clean as were the towels, Breakfast was ok cerial toast and full english what more can you ask for the staff were friendly and curtious and helpfull as was the owner. Looking forward to our return on Monday.

Room Tip: You can t beat the views of Blackpool Prom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennie002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

The place is vile! Smells musty and damp and is dirty. Toilet didnt work properly, beds were not fit for a dog let alone a family. Should not be allowed to operate until the place is cleaned out! We paid for a breakfast but there was no way i was eating there. Even my 6 year old commented on how bad it was!
You get what you pay for... NOT A CHANCE! We paid £89 for a family room for 1 night but it wasnt worth a tenner!
Horrible, horrible place.
Been on plenty of stag do's in Blackpool but never had a place like this.
Its just wrong, dont stay here!
Great time in Blackpool, tower, circus, pleasure beach etc but this just left a bad taste.. (and smell!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nimble32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

The place is a little grubby,our extractor fan in the bathroom was dusty and cobwebbed on the inside,dust on top of the cupboard a cm thick,wall paper peeling off in parts..
I don't care about any of that,lets face it,your not eating your meals off the top of the cupboard or sleeping in the bathroom are you and if your too posh to put up with a bit of tatty wall paper then stop expecting the Hilton hotel for b&b prices..
Room was small but we didn't book it for a party,it's just somewhere to crash down.
Bottom line is,it was cheap,the bed and bedding was spotlessly clean,as was the dining tables and cutlery .
The breakfast was tasty and of good quality for only £2.
Staff where friendly and the nice chap who seemed to be the owner was polite and funny having a joke or 2 with my child...
I would stay here again for sure.
As I say in title,just a good top to bottom clean and a bit of decorating is its only shortfall.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamus81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a family room which had two very old small lumpy double beds in we spent two nights with the room not being cleaned while we were there. There was no choice for breakfast it was what you were given. Would not recommend this hotel very dirty and run down.

Room Tip: Dont choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed there one night never again nothing like the pictures on there site trust me. When we arrived the looks said it was bad when we went in the lounge was smelly needing totally refurbished says it has licenced bar but doe's not sell drought lager only a fridge with a carry out in it. The Hallway carpets were filthy dirty the rooms which we booked 2 room were the same as soon as you opened the door the smell hit you had to leave windows open to air the room.The. room I was in had a hole in the celling covered up with a piece off ply wood painted over. The staff were unfriendly rude unhelp full had no manners or respect to customers young or old. My friend asked if she could have some milk for her 2yr old baby bottle so she could put her to bed the staff refused and told us to go to the shop and by some around the corner .this was after 10 pm. She had to give the baby flavoured water to put her down with. In the morning at breakfast there was Weetabix the glasses the orange juice were in were the size of thimbles. The staff didn't come to your table to ask what you would like for your breakfast they just made a fry up and put it in front off you take it or leave it was there attitude ..There was a guest who taken a glass of orange juice up to her room to take to her partner to take his medication .the owner stopped her and told she couldn't take it up to her room he had to come down stairs to take his medication this happened in front of hotel guests I WOULD NEVER ASK ANY ONE TO STAY THERE

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

stayed in the south crest hotel for 5 days ,the staff was friendly and breakfast was good and close to the beach too ,but it goes down hill from here i wish i,d read the reveiws first b4 we stayed this place needs a full makeover top to bottom in the days i stayed here never seen the place hoovered once never mind the rooms the windows were dirty and very small it was just a case of the cleaner coming in and changing the towels n that was it ,dont know if its the cleaner not doing her job or the owner just telling her what to do it dosent cost much to hover the place and clean the windows and they will have a great wee place plus the curtains needed a wash there was a smell coming from them just hope the owners take note

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runrig37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

as soon as the door was opened I was horrified, smelt of old houses, run down tired and DIRTY, paid for 2 nights did not stay for 10 minute's let alone 2 nights, went to room as soon as door opened I knew it was bad, bed pushed up against the wall is a no no straight away, if partner needs loo they have to crawl over you, that should not be allowed in any hotel room, carpets were stained bedding stained and even the walls were stained, I would not recommend this hotel to a dog never mind a human being, GO ELSEWHERE, A TENT WOULD EVEN DO....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#98 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#139 of 863 in Blackpool
85 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 136 in Blackpool
157 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#344 of 863 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Crest Hotel

Address: 359 Promenade | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #798 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £41 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — South Crest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Crest Hotel is situated on the promenade mid-way between central and south piers. Our location is such that you may leave your car on our car park yet still be with in easy walking distance of Blackpool's main attractions i.e. Tower, Pleasure Beach, Sandcastle and all three piers. Trams and buses stop right opposite the hotel. The railway station and airport are both within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your South Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing