We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of The Trafalgar

The Trafalgar
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Trafalgar
Ranked #528 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

After searching through the Internet for accommodation in Blackpool, we just went without booking any where. The first hotel we came across with a car park we took a look at and was welcomed straight the way.
We where there two weeks ago and we are going again this Friday to the trafalger for the weekend again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonBlackpool, Owner at The Trafalgar, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks very much for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    8
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
8
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

There's nothing I can complain about except the thin walls, but that was probably down to the drunk guys in the next room watching the football with the TV up very loud!

When we arrived, one of the ladies directed us to the car park round the back which was quite simple to find. We were in room 15 so up 3 or 4 flights of stairs and into our room. Unfortunately it was a smoking room, which you could tell as soon as you got on the landing, the smell did linger but as we weren't spending long in the room it was ok.
Breakfast was good, staff really friendly with an okay selection of cereals, fruits and hot food. One bad thing was, they brought our toast out as soon as we came downstairs, so by the time our hot food came out the toast was cold.

The shower in our room took a while to get warm and the water pressure was rubbish when turned to hot. Turned to cold it was really strong!

The hotel is really convenient to Blackpool sea front and far away enough to not hear everyone outside throughout the night! I would visit again!

Room Tip: 12, 14 and 15 are smoking rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GSullivan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonBlackpool, Owner at The Trafalgar, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks very much for your comments Since your visit we have had a more powerful pump fitted onto our heating system which has taken care of the water pressure problem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Well run, clean and friendly hotel. Great service. Fab breakfast, plenty choice. Nothing too much trouble. Very spacious room. Decor lovely. Excellent location. We can't wait to come back later this year. Hopefully to room 5! Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ange202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonBlackpool, Owner at The Trafalgar, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for your very nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed at the Trafalgar for 3 nights on dinner,bed and breakfast. I was so looked after and will definately stay again next year for the British National dance festival. On arrival I was greeted by the owner who was so welcoming, after he parked by car for me and helped me carry my luggage etc to the room. I was given an excellent room on the second floor (NO.7) it was clean and tidy and very comfortable,excellent en-suite with fresh towels daily,ample tea and coffee. The bed was so comfy, food excellent great choice at breakfast and dinner and everything homemade. I was so impressed that I immediately booked on departure for next year. Thanks again you are fantastic hosts,looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonBlackpool, Owner at The Trafalgar, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, Staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The owner of this hotel was very rude on arrival claiming he did not have the rooms we had booked as we had "changed our booking so many times", even though we had let them know of the final changes four days before and should not have affected anything!
We requested rooms at the front of the hotel on booking but was given 1 back room (out of 3), we were promised a large double to fit in our babies travel cot (room 5) but this suddenly became unavailble on arrival?? The evening meals were nice as was the breakfast. The two owners came across as rude most of the time like anything you asked was too much trouble (couldnt be bothered attitude), when they were polite it seemed fake, unless they were talking to their regular guests where nothing was too much trouble.
We went down into the bar area that smelt damp and looked dirty, we were givien out of date bottled cider and crisps when purchasing at the bar. The rooms were not 100% clean, lots of dust, old clothes tags on the floor, lipstick on the mugs and the sugar,tea bags and coffee were stored in a dirty bowl. There are better more friendly hotels to stay for sure, look before you book! We will not be staying here again!

Room Tip: Dont stay unless your a regular guest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keri r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonBlackpool, Owner at The Trafalgar, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I see you did not go into details how many times you changed your booking and it was because of this Room 5 was not available.and it is obvious that is why you have chosen to put several untruthful remarks in your review I note you made no comment on the help I gave you with your car on which the tyres were so illegal you would have been summonsed for it if you had been stopped.but thankyou for your kind remarks about the food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Definitely not a five star, but I didn't expect one. The Good: This hotel was clean and comfortable. It was in a good location and the staff was very nice. There was always someone at a desk which made it seem very secure. There was an in-room safe. There was a coffee/tea maker although they told me via email that there was not one. The "less than good": The bathroom was designed by someone who was inexperienced. Perhaps remodeling an old hotel was a challenge. The shower drained outside of the bathtub, onto the tile, which had another drain. The sink had a flat bottom which limited draining when you brushed your teeth, and the faucet went directly into the drain. The lighting in the bathroom at the mirror was terrible, and the magnifying mirror had no light. The furnishings were modest, which surprised me for a Hilton.

I would stay there again though and would still recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shastaboz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelsonBlackpool, Owner at The Trafalgar, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi You have obviously reviewed the wrong hotel We do not have in room safe ,bath tub etc so I do not know where you stayed but it was definitely not with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

What a super stay we had. From the start of our holiday to the very end we were made to feel part of a lovely family atmosphere. My daughter has four disabled children and everything was done to make their holiday really special.The rooms were most comfortable and decorated with good taste.The food was excellent . well presented and substantial portions.I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience a well run hotel that welcomes everyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boobetty5824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#238 of 856 in Blackpool
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lumada
Lumada
#320 of 856 in Blackpool
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tregenna
The Tregenna
#171 of 856 in Blackpool
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Allendale
The Allendale
#173 of 856 in Blackpool
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Albany Hotel on Albert Road
The Albany Hotel on Albert Road
#116 of 856 in Blackpool
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#95 of 128 in Blackpool
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafalgar

Property: The Trafalgar
Address: 106 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #528 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trafalgar 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing