We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out for the bell and the out of date milk!!”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Cavendish Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #436 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“watch out for the bell and the out of date milk!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

the room was a good price and was fairly comfortable.
Cleanliness was ok, a bit of dust & hair here and there, breakfast was ok but on our first day we were told 8.30 dead for breakfast time- a bit restrictive on a weekend!
On the second day our friends were late coming down (10 minutes) causing the landlady to vigourously ring the breakfast bell which was a first for me & a bit Butlins circa 1949!!
As some have stated the landlady was very friendly but her hubby less so.....
Definately stayed at worse and would stay again but would be lower down my list than some others....
tip: check the date on the UHT milk before using!

Room Tip: front rooms look bigger....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antonyschn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    24
    6
    6
    10
See reviews for
23
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We both went for a double room, which was very small indeed! The floorboards were very squeaky, making us feel very concious of the noise we were making, and practically tip-toeing around after 8pm in order to be mindful of fellow customers! The bed was not good at all, it was very very very squeaky when moving around, and dipped into what felt like a void giving us a back ache the following day.

There was no wardrobe provided, instead just a rail hanging from a shelf. The decor was amazingly outdated for this current era. Towels and such were hidden away in some drawers; what happened to displaying them on the bed with complimentary handcreams, etc?

The communal shower was adequate, but the same problems presented themselves here. The shower was a joke, and vibrated like a..... Well, a vibrator I suppose, but it resonated throughout the floor we was on. Funnily enough in the morning, we was woken by odd tapping noises and vibrating pipes because of the communal shower being used, which was 3 rooms away from us! I know there is a need for pest control, but as we opened our window we was met with a row of razor sharp spikes to deter pigeons. A bad eye-sore, and potential for an injury to take place with it being practically in your room.

Parking didn't exist for this place, instead we had to use a car park 5 minutes away; price is not too bad though, and it does provide 24hr secured-parking.

I could go on and on, but I won't! Overally, this place was shocking and I advise people not to bother unless you are happy to settle for the bare-minimum

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccfc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRITISH
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The cavendish Hotel on Pleasant street was a very nice guest house al though some of propertieson the street not to good,espially next door which is empty ,howevey some new houses due to to built over roadsoon,willimprove the area, but in side the guest house VERY clean ,decor though out, very friendly couple, good sized room we had ,a twin , single room, with on suite and a tv, WITH DVD, though we didnt use it, DIDNT GET / have a evening meal,get inpression, only did evening meals MON to FRI . we only stayed over weekend. A little bit out of blackpool, bit good location if want to be in quieter location,would recommend it for defiantly, though a bit short if parking spaces on a weekend. Hope to be back,soon. Good value for money 325 pppn.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

A group of 23 of us stayed here for a hen party, I mainly dealt with Christine she was really friendly and helpful even when things got confusing trying to sort rooms out for everyone, I couldn't have asked for better for the price we paid. Everyone commented how nice the rooms were, Roy was great sorting us out at the bar when we arrived and I am sure we must have been a bit rowdy there was no problem. Will definatly recommend to friends. Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa35_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

we stayed last year at the cavendish and as such rebooked for this year. the hotel seems to have gone down hill a little. Christine is as lovely as ever but i got the feeling she was tired and stressed when we arrived. this year we did not have an ensuite room but when i went to the shared bathroom i found the hot water tap was broken. my husband also said the water at the sink in the room was barely warm too.
we went out in the evening and on our return had a couple of drinks in the bar and i mentioned the hot water to Roy who said he was going to get a plumber in when he got round to it.
the next morning at breakfast my husband noticed the quality had gone down somewhat from last year and yes i have to agree. i paid £50.00 for our night's stay and I did feel it was a little expensive for a meagre breakfast and no hot water.
on the whole they are two little things and I wouldnt say that they spoilt our weekend and i would return to the Cavendish again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jovidiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We Were Delighted with our stay at Cavendish Blackpool. A very freindly Hotel. Clean and Cozy Fantastic home cooked full english breakfast, Christine and Roy are really helpful and went out of their way to help us have the best stay possible, we took our 3 small dogs with us and this was not a problem, we will definately stay here again and would recommend to anyone without question, we are planning to have our christmas break here next year,

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymaggiescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2010

On arriving,were greeted by christine,then taken up to our room,which was very clean and tidy. Mealtimes were slightly earlier than i would wish,breakfast could have been around 9 ish and evening meal could have been around 6 ish,the food itself was excellent,couldnt fault anything. My daughter and i stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed it very much,would go again sometime,so i would reccomend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezza067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Viagra
Hotel Viagra
#68 of 69 in Blackpool
584 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#43 of 69 in Blackpool
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 69 in Blackpool
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#95 of 128 in Blackpool
133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#300 of 856 in Blackpool
119 reviews
1.9 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#230 of 856 in Blackpool
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 11 Pleasant Street | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #436 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavendish often offer last minute deals. Cavendish is a minute walk to the Promenade sea front, immediate access to the golden sandy beach, trams and local bus services. A short walk to Blackpool North Train Station, North Pier, Funny Girls, theatres and restaurants and bars, including Blackpool Tower, Winter Gardens, Grand Theatre. Free Wi-Fi.Perfect for those wanting a fun filled break, we even offer children discounts including a special 2 or 3 night child reduction when sharing with adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing