We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not recomended”
Review of Chorlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chorlton Hotel
Ranked #60 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“not recomended”
Reviewed 6 October 2010

no heating on, no t- v , because it fell of the wall . could not sit in lounge due to family and children. beans everyday for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THE_CHORLTON, Owner at Chorlton Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
It has taken a couple of days to take in the irrelevance of many of the points you have raised and calm down from the initial feelings your review has caused. Heather and I are passionate about our business and when for the first time ever someone actually posts libelous comments on the internet we are extremely concerned.
Your first point that there was no heating on, simply there was no need for it to be on, other guests had commented how hot they were, which we were in agreement with. Had we actually put the heating on other people would have had their stay spoilt. Windows would have been open wasting money. The other point of this you never asked, or mentioned you were cold. We do have a portable electric radiator which could have been provided, as we understand guests have different needs.
Secondly no TV, this is totally untrue. The problem was with the set top freeview box that had lost the adhesive strength in the double sided pads which kept it on the wall. Designed to sit on a TV but not when it’s only an inch wide. We have since taken the advice from an electrician to provide a safe secure way of attaching it to the wall. This problem had been increased by you having trouble with turning the TV and the freeview, when you asked for help it was instantly given ensuring you had full viewing before the room was left.
Thirdly your point about the family being in the lounge. Our family is polite and respectful, when guests want to use the lounge, they will discretely disappear. On the other hand many times you passed the lounge we were taking the time being sociable with other guests.
Your point about breakfast makes it sound like that’s all you had. We listen to our guests and others had expressed a dislike for tomatoes, which we regularly swap with beans, which is why no swap was made. You had expressed a wish for brown bread, we specially went out to purchase this for you and as the only loaf we could get was a small loaf with quite thin slices the next day we went out and purchased another loaf more suitable for toasting.
Being part of the star accreditation scheme means we regularly allow professionals into our business for them to judge ever aspect, many of these visits are unannounced. For you to grade service, cleanliness, rooms and value as you have contradicts trade professionals in every way. However we stand by their judgments rather than yours, though we will be more aware in future. It would be nice if other guests staying at this time were to post reviews. I am also extremely glad that you did not repeat comments you made on another web site as I would certainly be seeking legal representation
It would appear that you have missed the point about a seaside family hotel, and chosen a holiday that did not suite you needs. The service we offer is a safe, clean, place where family members are there almost 24/7 to help you have a great experience before returning home refreshed and relaxed after your time away. This is the service you received but failed to embrace. However if you had gone to the supermarket and picked up a tin of beans instead of a tin of tomatoes you would not have complained about what was inside the tin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    30
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
71
63
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We booked to stay at the Chorlton as a spur of the moment trip to check out blackpool. The owners Ian & Heather were very welcoming and took time to interact and play with our young daughter. The room was was very clean and comfortable. Great location and close to the delights of blackpool at the end of the road. Chilled out in the bar on the night whilst the little one slept and were well entertained. Very relaxed atmosphere and overall superb stay, could not recommend enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tykes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We originally booked to stay at the disastrous hotel next door, but at the last minute changed our minds (separate review). Well, that has to be the best decision we made! The management team here were truly professional, so kind, caring and conscientious. The room was clean, beds comfortable, breakfast delicious! But you always remember those 1st impressions so regardless of anything else we will always be grateful that you were so kind and supportive.
We come to Blackpool every year for this event so will definitely be staying again next year!! Thank you

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danceteacher1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Chorlton and would like everyone to know that the Chorlton is a very clean, friendly and well run B&B. Everything was very satisfactory with very high standards in customer care - nothing was too much trouble. Was very impressed with the Halloween decorations - certainly wasn't expecting that! Would definitely recommend the Chorlton and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knotty67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THE_CHORLTON, Owner at Chorlton Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2009
Thank you for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to help your family enjoy your experience of our hotel and some of what Blackpool has to offer. We very much look forward to seeing your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#33 of 856 in Blackpool
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Craimar
The Craimar
#12 of 856 in Blackpool
1,306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Return Hotel
Happy Return Hotel
#34 of 856 in Blackpool
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#58 of 856 in Blackpool
279 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Middleton
The Middleton
#74 of 856 in Blackpool
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almar Hotel
Almar Hotel
#296 of 856 in Blackpool
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chorlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chorlton Hotel

Property: Chorlton Hotel
Address: 38 Hull Road | Central Holiday Area, Blackpool FY1 4QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chorlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ian and Heather look forward to welcoming you to the Chorlton Hotel in Blackpool, Lancashire. Situated in the main attractions area of Blackpool, we are ideally placed for your holiday. All the entertainment venues, restaurants and shopping are just a few minutes walk from our front door. All of our rooms are en-suite, well equipped and for the comfort of all our guests, the hotel is now entirely NON-SMOKING. We also have ground floor accommodation available for those experiencing difficulty with stairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chorlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing