We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Promenade Hotel
Ranked #248 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wouldn't stay here again”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Walked inside and people were smoking inside the door, not a good first impression. The lift had no door and felt dodgy. The room had broken toilet seat, cracked sink and ashtray's lying when I had booked non-smoking and there was filth round the corners of the room, with mould on the wall. The karaoke bar that was open til 4am across the road kept us awake at night. The beer bottles outside the lift and stink of fag reek in the morning was disgusting on the way to breakfast.
The only plus side was a delicious, fresh, hot cooked breakfast and the helpful quick service.

Room Tip: no good tips I'm afraid as smoking was allowed on all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottishwifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    68
    20
    17
    47
See reviews for
106
76
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

myself and my family with my parents stayed for 2 nights 21/7/12 to 23/7/12. i cant understand where all the negative reviews are coming from. my parents had stayed in room 15 to which they had no complaints, myself , my husband and 9yr old child stayed in room 33 which had a brilliant seaview, to which we had no complaints. ok it was a bit noisy on the saturday night but what do you expect from blackpool on a saturday night. the food was superb and the staff was first class, thank you to you all. we are now looking to rebooking for october for the lights

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SANDRA1971_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed for one night with my partner and 5 kids aged 12, 11, 4 & 2 and had such a good time that we stayed another nite and kids enjoyed entertainment with the other residents who had them up dancing. Breakfast was good and served very quickly. Staff were so friendly and went out their way to deal with any problems we did have. Room was a seaview and had 4 single beds and a double bed and was great for a large family. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LPHug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I have been going to this hotel for years.the staff are brill they cant do enough for you.The rooms are clean and tidy.The breakfast is nice and you can have as much tea and toast as you can handle.The bar is great beer is cheap and open till late.This hotel is a good place to stay try for your self.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 38andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The New Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review.We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

as we got up too the hotel they are not as seen in pictures! walked in and had a horriable greasy smell. Went to use the toilet to find urine all over the seat. Never looked at the rooms as all of that was enough! Never got welcomed or anything. Wouldn't recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caaathunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The New Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
you arrived at 10.30 a.m. before the cleaners had a chance to clean the room and you were obviously upset the room was not ready but if you think about it how can we get the room clean before the previous people have left.The previous night we had driving rain and gales and as we are on the sea front the front of the property did look scruffy with the windows needing cleaning but every other hotel on the sea front would have been the same.You complained about the urine on the toilet seat in the public toilets,so I checked this out and I admit that there was a tiny drop but I had to look twice to see it as it was so small an amount but an hotelier can only put in place regular cleaning of the toilet and cannot follow every single customer who uses the toilet.The rest of the toilet was immacculate.We do care about all of our customers and we are very friendly as most reviewers have said.I understand that one of our customers did say to you that we were very friendly people as you were going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This great family run hotel is the best value for money ive spent in Blackpool this year so far.
as decorating is taking place the hotel will only look better and better as the year goes on.

I had a very spacious sea view room, and is right were you need to be to be within walking distance for all the main attractions!

The food was 10/10 with the cook using fresh local products she is an absolute wonder in the kitchen the three course meal wouldnt of looked out of place at a posh restauraunt.

The breakfast was again 10/10 on taste but would of liked a touch more to be honest.

Room Tip: Sea Front available so dont for get to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanBibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

stayed at the new promenade,Peter+Gem were fantastic,rooms clean,food excellent,will return again,thanks to them both for looking after me so well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isobel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The New Promenade Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for the review.we really enjoyed your company and we are looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#33 of 73 in Blackpool
861 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Carlton Hotel
The Royal Carlton Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stuart Hotel
Stuart Hotel
#42 of 73 in Blackpool
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,015 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#55 of 73 in Blackpool
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blenheim Mount Hotel
Blenheim Mount Hotel
#218 of 859 in Blackpool
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Promenade Hotel

Property: The New Promenade Hotel
Address: 229 Central Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Promenade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The New Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing