We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kays birthday”
Review of Funny Girls

Funny Girls
Ranked #1 of 95 Nightlife in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Funny Girls is an utterly unique and altogether unforgettable experience. Few experiences in recent years have created so much amazement and wonderment as this, creating a window into a magical world of entertainment.We are dedicated to maintaining unrivalled excellence in live entertainment and passionate about providing extraordinary value to our customers.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“kays birthday”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

we always try to visit the show each year,year 10 for us, and this years show was a top night out,great entertainment, great service at the bar, thanks zoe and the boys and girls, sunday 18th sept

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank kaysbirthday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,222
    443
    197
    113
    104
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Awesome night - for everyone”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

First time to Funny Girls and had an awesome time. Great cabaret and funny host. Will be back many times. We took a booth upstairs which was great although the fun is to be had in the standing area downstairs.

I was also amazed by how many hen doos were there. As it is a drag/female impersonator caberet I'm guessing most stag parties don't fancy it - but I have to say it would be the best place to find hen parties and the one or two stag parties I saw were loving it!!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The English Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venue, Let down by Mediocre Show”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

On arrival, we waited to meet our friends who had pre-booked but no tables were available. The Door Staff were less than courteous and this came as a surprise as we are a middle aged, well dressed couple. There were no cloakroom facilities, despite the fact that the cloakroom was open to those who had booked a table and it is situated at the entrance. Perhaps we were in the minority, having dressed for a windy and rainy evening in Blackpool unlike most of the clientelle!
The majority were hen parties who seemed to be having a good time! Being Overdressed seems to be un-necessary for the young.
The Venue is an old Art Deco Odeon Cinema, beatifully restored and providing a seated and tabled area at the rear with a sloping floor towards the stage. The Stage iteself has the Bar in front and shows took place every 15 minutes or so. Meanwhile the DJ kept everyone involved but not always entertained. One problem was the poor sound system that needs serious repair. It is working well over capacity.
Being old enough to remember seeing Danny La Rue at the Theatre, I expected a Tranny variety show with plenty of humour and perhaps a bit suacy like a seaside postcard.
The Performers almost without exception looked just what they are Men in Womens clothing. There was not a live performance it was all miming to soundtracks played through the poor sound system.

Some of Costumes were good.

At £8.50 admission I suppose its cheap entertainment except for the price of drinks.

All in All, Good Hen Party Venue, but for us oldies would not go again.

Wife is still getting over bumping into Tranny in the Ladies!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good but not Funny”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I have seen other drag shows before which have been really funny. I found the Funny Girls show good but not funny, when I have seen other shows they do funny songs etc. this was just a lot of men dressed as women singing. Food not worth £16.00 for two courses, quite bland.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 334Dandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Night”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Went with a group of 9 friends for my birthday. Have wanted to go for a long time. Paid 6 pound for standing tickets. Was not disappointed. One previous review said drinks were expensive. Don't the 3.10 (pound sign not working) for vodka and lemonade bad price at all. Zoe the compare was very funny and thought the whole show was very professional. Staff were friendly too. Would recommend it for a good girlie night out in Blackpool without being hassled by drunk men!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Funny Girls also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Funny Girls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing