We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic - can't praise it enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penny Farm

Penny Farm
Ranked #25 of 78 things to do in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: horse rescue
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic - can't praise it enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The work done by the volunteers here is second to none. We visit at least twice a month and are never dissappointed. The horses are all happy and calm and despite the obvious trauma some of them have been through, are very settled in their new home. The stables are always clean and well kept and the volunteers are always on hand to show you round or answer questions. There is also a small cafe on site, run by volunteers, that has lovely cakes!

We were at the open day last weekend and the weather couln't have been worse but, the show must go on as they say and so it did. They did exceptionally well cosidering the weather and Dealer looked great in his fancy dress!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AKA_Wiccan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    19
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“brilliant for horse lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Although it is quite small the tour around is great and it educated me greatly on the matter of horses! We were staying in north wales but took the 4 hour trip up just to go there!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashoflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A fab FREE venue!!!��”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We visited today for their Teddys Bear's picnic fun day (fun day every Wed throughout Aug), 2 adults 3 children (8,8,5). We really enjoyed it - today there was a bouncy castle, a little train ride, a bbq, a fun trail to do for £1, party games, prize for best dressed teddy and a name the teddy. They encourage you to take your own picnics so we sat looking onto the fields. Very clean, lovely friendly staff really enjoyed it and didnt spend too much which is always a bonus when you are looking for things to do with the kids that are inexpensive. Would definitely go again!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“how to get the feel good factor for little money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

since this place is free to visit and there are plenty of picnic tables overlooking the paddocks, you can make this a very inexpensive visit. we have either put money in the collection box at the desk or patronised the cafe. our grand daughter would go more but it is open on Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday. the atmosphere is very friendly and you can teach children to read the body language of horses and try to win the trust of the more 'introverted' horses and ponies. I fell in love with Crunchie and spent a lot of time quietly talking to her. I hope she gets better, this is the place to help her.
thank goodness places like this exist.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“another nice couple of hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

had a lovely lunch and couple of hours here on Saturday with my grandaughter she loved it as much as ever and so did i keep up the good work at this FREE venue

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrsw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penny Farm also viewed

 

Been to Penny Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing