We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not cheerful accommodation...sorry but we wont be back”

Jollies Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jollies Guest House
Ranked #701 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap but not cheerful accommodation...sorry but we wont be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed recently in room 1. The room was large in size although the bathroom tiny. The sheets and bed linen appeared clean. There was a leak over the bunk beds and paint peeled off the wall which was all over the top bunk. Not very nice to have scattered paint all of your bed and the risk of a flood above your head! We did tell the owners, but nothing done about it. The bunk beds mattress was very hard. The double bed was really uncomfy and far too soft (was two thin mattresses one of top of the other). Not a great nights sleep for any of us. Also the window does not close properly so luckily was not too cold when we went.

The smell of smoke was overpowering from the moment we walked in and is really quite disgusting. As non smokers this is not very nice and made us all feel quite ill.

The bathroom was small and as others have said was dirty. I went out and bought some cleaning sponges and anti bacterial cleaner! Not what I want to be doing on holiday. Getting in the shower cubicle was a bit of struggle as the door does not open properly as the sink is in the way. The loo seat was broken, which my husband went and fixed! Also no hooks to hang anything.

The tv is above the door and is hard to see being so far up. Breakfast was ok and was hot and we were served quickly although a menu with choices would be nice.

Overall the accommodation was not great. We would not return unfortunately. I know you get what you pay for, but this is an average priced B and B

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callmechar_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgemaxxxBlackpool, Owner at Jollies Guest House, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Yes you got it right!!!!. Cheap bed and breakfast not boutique bed and breakfast. Like you say you get what you pay for.As to the fear of flooding I explained that the small damp spot in the corner of the ceiling was the result of a previous incident and was no threat. You were hard to please and glad you wont be returning.Hope you have better luck on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

GOOD POINTS- The owners were very friendly and the B&B was in a good location.
BAD POINTS- The room was TINY. We could just fit our bags in and had to climb over them to get to the bathroom. The bathroom was so tiny that you had to basically straddle the toilet to get in and close the door. The bathroom itself was also quite dirty. Moreover, the room and sheets stank quite strongly of smoke. As this was supposed to be a non-smoking B&B, this was obviously unexpected and was quite unpleasant for a non-smoker like myself. Breakfast in the morning was pretty good and service was quick, though we weren't asked what we actually wanted on our plates and it was just brought out to us before we even had chance to ask.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missfairycupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

As a family we've stayed in many B&Bs in Blackpool, but this is the only one we've made a point of going back to. The owners are a great couple, and George in particular does everything he can to make you feel welcome and at home.

The house is in a great location, five minutes walk to South Pier, and a couple more to the Pleasure Beach. It's a quiet street so there is no noise disturbance during the night, great when you've had a long day with the kids and really need some sleep!

The rooms vary in size but even in the smallest you have plenty of room to swing a cat! The beds are comfortable and spotless. Tea/coffee etc are provided in the rooms and there is a station where you can help yourself to more without having to find the owners and ask. A front door key is provided so you can come and go as you please, and if returning in the dark, the eco-conscious lights in the hallways are a great idea.

George's Scottish breakfasts are delicious according to my family. As someone who doesn't eat pork, I found that George was willing to provide alternatives such as vegetarian or fruit. There is also plenty of cereal, milk, fruit juice, toast and as much tea & coffee as you like.

There is no car park but on street parking is free if you can find a space. Depending on time of day, you can also find free parking 1 minute walk away round the corner.

We've never returned to other B&Bs because the rooms were cramped, the beds uncomfortable, the owners unfriendly etc. You won't find these problems in Jollies and on this basis, we will return time and time again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumOfThreeRugrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Stayed at jollies this weekend .Given a nice warm welcome.\Rooms were very nice clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great.Will be back

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICKY91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

nice guest house are room was a bit small but it was fine for what we wanted it for goerge the owner even asked us if we wanted to change rooms when a bigger room came available but we said it was fine george was very friendly he even found a space for our car thank you goerge breakfast was fab i would stay there again i'll just finish off by saying U MUST BE GUTTED LIKE george u no what i mean

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

me & my partner stayed here for august bank holiday as a little break away from home..arrived here and the owners were pleasant, but we wernt told when breakfast was, what time checkout was or anything. got in to the room and all i can say is....dingy dump!! so old fashioned and smelt of grease and smoke! ther was dog hair on the headboard which knocked me sick. ino its a cheap b&b, but they still have got to have it nice for guests, otherwise you get comments like this. great location but thats about it really.stuck in a time warp! dont stay here!! and they dont have a car park,..parking is a nightmare!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney-lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

very friendly and close to all amenities . kids enjoyed the time spent . worth the money i think . breakfast was nice but would have been even better if there was a vegetarian option . overall had a good time and would go there again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khan786786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#335 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#236 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,802 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#225 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jollies Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jollies Guest House

Property: Jollies Guest House
Address: South Shore 9 Rawcliffe Street, Blackpool FY4 1BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #701 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jollies Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing