We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silversands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silversands Hotel
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We were transfered here from our origional destination because our hotel was overbooked,,we stayed from 20th june -22nd , the only good thing out of this hotel was colin. And the friends we made,, the food, the only meal i had was the friday night and it was awful, i never had anymore food all weekend as i was bad,but i would have rather went out than eat in there,, the room i stayed in was room 113 as the lady above and to me it was rather musty smelling. Basic and cramped ,,cut a long story short, i woke up on the sunday morning with a lump on my chin, which i thought was a spot.. still not feeling to well either, i was glad to leave tht hotel ,, by tuesday morning i waz covered in bites all over my arms and face, concerned i we t t docs and they confirmed them as BED BUG BITES !!!!. I rang the hotel to speak to the manager richard, his reslonse was oh ill get the bed checked and room and will ring yku back....still waiting for the phonecall !!!.very unprofessional..2 weeks ha e passed and not even an apopogy.. i will never ever ever go back to that dirty hotel.... take note, check ya bed b4 ya even sit on it.. i had to throw my case away and clothes ,incase i brought any back home...!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Louellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rihard4th, Manager at Silversands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We did have a group of 9 girls that booked into the Silversands Hotel over the weekend of the 20th to 22nd June, they we very loud on arrival here to celebrate a 30th Birthday party and obviously had a head start in the drinks department. The package they were on was for 2 night bed breakfast and evening meal to include 6 non-branded drinks per night. The girls on the first night finished the drinks package off and headed up town for a late night finisher, obviously consuming far more alcohol again.
On the second night as well as the drinks package the management also gave the group a complimentary bottle of bubbly to celebrate the 30th birthday. Some of the girls got a bit loud and almost accosted the artist who was performing that night.
We have hundreds of people every week staying at the Silversands Hotel and we have almost no cases of sickness, in this case I think the reason the girl was ‘bad’ was due to excessive indulgence. If your ideal meal is a late night kebab then the food at the Silversands Hotel will not suit you, we have fresh meats and vegetables cooked and served every day and chips are available but on request.
As a manager of a Hotel I cannot apologize to everyone who rings up to say they have been bitten by insects while on holiday, I am sorry this young lady had been bitten by an insect but is very difficult to identify what insect caused a bite and where she got bitten.
The room in question was stripped and checked for any bug infestations while in the process it was decided to redecorate and replace the carpet, which has now brought the room up to a much higher standard.
The Silversands Hotel has a great reputation for its food, entertainment and staff and the antics this group of girls got up to did make my weekend much more entertaining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    61
    20
    12
    8
See reviews for
64
75
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at the Siversands hotel for four day weekend with National Coaches. The hotel is basic but clean. The double room we had was small, but did the trick has we only slept, washed and changed in it. The tea tray was kept replenished each day, and towels changed when asked. The food was basic with little choice, always arrived steaming hot and edible. The breakfast was great and enough to set you up for the day. Service was good from all areas of the hotel. Everything was done with a smile. We has six complementry drinks a day, along with a trip to the Tower to see the Eye, and 4D cinema experience. This we found to be fantsatic, we would recommend anyone to go and see it. Entertainment was ok, what you would expect from hotel entertainment, very enjoyable. The hotel is situated right near the Pleasure Beach, but does not spoil your enjoyment of the surrounding area. It is alot more quieter than being in the resort centre. I think this is good, after spending the day in the centre we found it nice to come back to the peace and quiet. We enjoyed our stay at the Silversands, and would recommend it. We hope that it stays this way, and not get caught up with to many coach parties. We have seen this happen before were the hotel gets run down because there never seems to be enough time to keep the hotel upto standard. This would be a shame.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise. For see view ask for rooms at the front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimkev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

hello everyone my mother and sister and myself stayed her from 23rd june till 27th june and it's more like faulty towers we stayed in room 113 on arrival the room smelled very musky until we opened all the windows check your matresses ours was filthy as for the food this year it was more or less thrown at us always last to get served the salad used to be beautiful but not now a whole lettuce leaf why couldn't it be chopped small as for the rest of the salad I wouldn't bother only 2 good things about this hotel was colin the lovely bar man and the singer tony rydel he is amazing but sad to say we will not be going back to the silversands in which I nicknamed faulty towers

Room Tip: don't get first floor if you want an early night because of the noise downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had a really lovely break, Our room was spotless, house keeping very good, The meals were very nice, I am gluten free and they catered for me nothing was too much trouble, the staff were brilliant,
The entertainment was really good, Especially Tony Rydel, and Colin was a brill bingo caller lol!!!
Richard the host was very pleasant as were all the staff. All in all we could not fault it.

Room Tip: We were in. Room 211 it was at the back of the hotel with a good view of the big dipper in the pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefmumpubmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just returned from the Silversands on a National Holidays 5 day break. Bedrooms are smallish but are kept spotless and bathroom was modern with excellent power shower. Meals were very good (apart from the tinned peas) with generous portions and very friendly service. Entertanment was excellent ,especially for an hotel of this size (30 rooms) with a lady singer on Tuesday, Tony Rydal (superb singer comedian) on Wednesday and a good singer guitarist on Thursday.The drinks choice offered with the free vouchers was limited, but for a pound you could upgrade to premium brands.
The hotel is situated in a quiet position just a stones throw from the pleasure beach and only a five minute walk from bus and tram stops (the no. 1 will take you to all piers ,the tower ,Fleetwood and Cleveleys) and for oldies like me the buses are still free, but sadly not the trams anymore.
Blackpool has never been my favorite holiday destination , but the Silversands went a long way to restoring my faith in this now sadly fading resort....

Room Tip: Our Room 304 was larger than others according to fellow travellers Steps are steep so use the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

stayed at the silversands for 5 days had a fantastic time no complaints about anything food good entertainment good people friendly had a realy good time now I have my bus pass thing will be even better

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Silversands Hotel from 9th June till the 13th of June , and what a wonderful time we had, the Hotel is a bit out the way ,just past pleasure beach. but to get about using our bus passes we managed ok , the No1 bus takes you into blackpool and back , trams are there as well but dont take passes now. we were on an inclusive deal 6 drinks each per day which was quite adequate. the staff at the hotel are really pleasant and are really helpful,meals are really good with choice at breakfast and evening meal which are both efficently served, rooms are small but very clean and beds are comfortable, so you get a good rest, Colin compere and barman and bingo caller calling is something to hear,all in all well done Richard and all his staff

Room Tip: Heard nobody complain about any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.8 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Liberty's on the Square Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#12 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Headlands
The Headlands
#38 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversands Hotel

Property: Silversands Hotel
Address: 3 Burlington Road West, Blackpool FY4 1NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silversands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silversands Hotel is family owned and personally supervised by the proprietors and their friendly staff. The food is of a high standard offering, a full English Breakfast and a traditional five course Evening Meal.The Hotel presents a homely atmosphere with quality service and cleanliness to ensure you have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. All 40 bedrooms are en-suite and are decorated to a high standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silversands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing