We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB”
Review of The Glenroy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glenroy Hotel
Ranked #164 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Glenroy is fantastic and excellent value for money Pat and Maureen are amazing hosts. Rooms very clean for the price and breakfast well just Yummy. We have made some amazing friends. Who needs to go abroad when yiu gave The Glenroy. We have booked for August Bank holiday and simply cannot wait!

Thanks guys keep up the good work !!

Sharon and Rob

Room Tip: Swimming pool would be excellent if there was one pressed by mistake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

Other reviewers have identified how helpful the proprietor is, and I certainly cannot disagree with these. However, I was not impressed with the familiarity of first names as if we were long-time friends and acquaintances. The room I had was over generous in its description as a double room than it was in the actuality: It was very small and the pop-up wardrobe was very tacky. If you are used to staying in 3/4 star hotels and therefore have a certain expectation, do not be fooled by this self-assessed 3 star rating. the shower room was barely more than a cupboard with peeling wallpaper and mould on the ceiling (to be fair, there was a dog-eared sign on the inside of the door saying the room was due for refurbishment.)
And don't get me on to Blackpool. I walked a mile to find a restaurant that was not colonised by those over-weight, tattooed, string-vest wearing visitors who obviously think the place is great. Personally I have no desire to ever turn west from the M6 in this part of the country ever again! I arrived at 7pm and left by 9am; that was quite enough.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Izvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patsonic, Owner at The Glenroy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

I am very disappointed in the above review .... we are doing our level best as a small family business to do our level best to make our customers stay as friendly and relaxing as possible .... we have spent thousands on refurbishing our rooms and yes our en-suites are currently being refurbished and are not completed however they are clean and tidy.

With regards to first name terms ....its called being friendly which is in our character and nature however if you found this offensive then you should have said !!!! Can I point out that if you were customised in staying in 3 and 4 star hotels you obviously are not customised in the pricing of these establishments. You paid £50 for a double room ..... if you want to pay me £150 then we can do more.

And with your disgraceful remarks about our town and area .... in 7 years of living here I do not frequent string vested people wandering around which is very offensive.

Their are much worse places to visit than our lovely seaside town and I suggest you refrain from your slanderous remarks which are far from the truth !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Upon arrival we were met with a very warm welcome by Pat who showed us to our double room which was a little on the small side but was nicely decorated. Hotel is in a great location close to the beach and within walking distance of bars, shops etc but also just far enough away from the rowdy crowds. Throughout our stay Pat and his mother were very obliging and were happy to do anything for you. Only stayed one night wish we had stayed longer. Hope to see you both again. Thanks

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shaza1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Went to Blackpool to watch football and stopped over for the Saturday,found this hotel online very good value for money, the owner and his mother is very lovely made us feel very welcome, rooms very clean and comfortable, breakfast was very nice,5 mins walk from beach and pubs,

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

The reason you stay in a privately owned hotel such as this is the personal service you get from the owners and that is exactly what you get at the Glenroy.

I stayed here for work with a young autistic lad who I was taking on holiday and we had a fantastic time. The owner is so friendly and really looks after you during your stay,he is also very helpful and helped with booking pleasure beach tickets and recommended places to eat.

The rooms were being renovated so cant comment on this but they served the purpose. The breakfast was very good and full english avaliable everyday :-p

You don't get this type of service in a chain hotel,places like this need to stay open as it is a much nicer visit when the owners get to know you during your stay.

Highly recommended,ideal location!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josephcave86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I have given this review after reading the ONE poor review i have just read. On behalf of my wife Lisa and myself,we are totally astounded and disgusted at this sad person's , what appears to seem, DRINK FUELLED outburst! Anyway,enough about that, We both,along with our friends , Danny & Irene have enjoyed a number of years at the GLENROY HOTEL, GREAT BREAKFASTS, CLEAN & COMFORTABLE ROOMS, 1 MINUTE WALK(If that!) FROM THE CENTRAL PROMENADE, but most of all, both Pat and his Mum are so so friendly,and i must stress CANNOT DO ENOUGH TO MAKE YOU FEEL WELCOME and LOOK AFTER YOU DURING YOUR STAY.
Thats why ,AGAIN, we are all going back to the GLENROY HOTEL this week,cant wait.
So on a final note,like most people,my wife and I have standards, so I highly recommend the GLENROY HOTEL .
Everyone is entitled to give honest reviews,thats what these sites are for, but come on, please dont be mis-guided by pathetic nonsense.
Stevie Gilchrist - Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sgilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Had a fab weekend at the Glenroy. Met at the door by Pat and he made us feel at home from the beginning to the end. We were given a room on the front of the building with a wake up call from seagulls. (we were at the seaside) Really is a stones throw from beach, bus stop on main road to Pleasure beach and a nice walk to the tower. Weather was brilliant which was such a bonus. there were people there who stay often and they really made us feel welcome. Breakfast was brill. Thanks to Pat and Maureen for their brill hospitality.

Room Tip: Pat did say that front rooms are being upgraded to double glazing which will be a bonus. Until then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bevcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.8 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
865 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
506 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
1.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
525 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenroy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenroy Hotel

Address: 10 Trafalgar Road, Blackpool FY1 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £30 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenroy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We ae a family run traditional bed and breakfast - where we pride ourselves on our friendly and 1st class service with free wi-fi and a fully licensed bar. We have 10 rooms which are all en-suite and have flat screen digital televisions and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glenroy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing