We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality”
Review of The Glenroy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenroy Hotel
Ranked #309 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just come back from a weekend trip in Blackpool where we stopped at the Glenroy Hotel. Pat and Maureen are both fantastic and polite guests, and we were given a lot of good information about where to eat, drink and see around the surrounding area when we arrived. Pat also moved his car, so that we could leave our car in the on street parking, and avoid the £10 per night charges of the cafe across the road.

We'd like to thank Pat even more so, as when mum left her glasses in the room, Pat sent them to us by Special Delivery to reach us the next day - fantastic service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just returned from a break in Blackpool where my sister and I stayed at the Glenroy. I cannot praise Pat enough - what a wonderful host he is and with the help of his mum runs a lovely little business. Comfy beds with feather duvets and pillows and lovely white bed linen. Breakfast cooked to order and always a friendly word and smile. It's a hard time to run a B&B - and I wish Pat all the best and sincerely hopes that he comes through this recession with a thriving business. Good luck and if we are up that way again we will certainly look you up!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Wendyh0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Glenroy is fantastic and excellent value for money Pat and Maureen are amazing hosts. Rooms very clean for the price and breakfast well just Yummy. We have made some amazing friends. Who needs to go abroad when yiu gave The Glenroy. We have booked for August Bank holiday and simply cannot wait!

Thanks guys keep up the good work !!

Sharon and Rob

Room Tip: Swimming pool would be excellent if there was one pressed by mistake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Other reviewers have identified how helpful the proprietor is, and I certainly cannot disagree with these. However, I was not impressed with the familiarity of first names as if we were long-time friends and acquaintances. The room I had was over generous in its description as a double room than it was in the actuality: It was very small and the pop-up wardrobe was very tacky. If you are used to staying in 3/4 star hotels and therefore have a certain expectation, do not be fooled by this self-assessed 3 star rating. the shower room was barely more than a cupboard with peeling wallpaper and mould on the ceiling (to be fair, there was a dog-eared sign on the inside of the door saying the room was due for refurbishment.)
And don't get me on to Blackpool. I walked a mile to find a restaurant that was not colonised by those over-weight, tattooed, string-vest wearing visitors who obviously think the place is great. Personally I have no desire to ever turn west from the M6 in this part of the country ever again! I arrived at 7pm and left by 9am; that was quite enough.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Izvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patsonic, Owner at The Glenroy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

I am very disappointed in the above review .... we are doing our level best as a small family business to do our level best to make our customers stay as friendly and relaxing as possible .... we have spent thousands on refurbishing our rooms and yes our en-suites are currently being refurbished and are not completed however they are clean and tidy.

With regards to first name terms ....its called being friendly which is in our character and nature however if you found this offensive then you should have said !!!! Can I point out that if you were customised in staying in 3 and 4 star hotels you obviously are not customised in the pricing of these establishments. You paid £50 for a double room ..... if you want to pay me £150 then we can do more.

And with your disgraceful remarks about our town and area .... in 7 years of living here I do not frequent string vested people wandering around which is very offensive.

Their are much worse places to visit than our lovely seaside town and I suggest you refrain from your slanderous remarks which are far from the truth !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Upon arrival we were met with a very warm welcome by Pat who showed us to our double room which was a little on the small side but was nicely decorated. Hotel is in a great location close to the beach and within walking distance of bars, shops etc but also just far enough away from the rowdy crowds. Throughout our stay Pat and his mother were very obliging and were happy to do anything for you. Only stayed one night wish we had stayed longer. Hope to see you both again. Thanks

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shaza1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Went to Blackpool to watch football and stopped over for the Saturday,found this hotel online very good value for money, the owner and his mother is very lovely made us feel very welcome, rooms very clean and comfortable, breakfast was very nice,5 mins walk from beach and pubs,

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

The reason you stay in a privately owned hotel such as this is the personal service you get from the owners and that is exactly what you get at the Glenroy.

I stayed here for work with a young autistic lad who I was taking on holiday and we had a fantastic time. The owner is so friendly and really looks after you during your stay,he is also very helpful and helped with booking pleasure beach tickets and recommended places to eat.

The rooms were being renovated so cant comment on this but they served the purpose. The breakfast was very good and full english avaliable everyday :-p

You don't get this type of service in a chain hotel,places like this need to stay open as it is a much nicer visit when the owners get to know you during your stay.

Highly recommended,ideal location!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josephcave86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#4 of 863 in Blackpool
1,228 reviews
0 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#92 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#140 of 863 in Blackpool
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 135 in Blackpool
157 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenroy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenroy Hotel

Address: 10 Trafalgar Road, Blackpool FY1 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £52 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenroy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We ae a family run traditional bed and breakfast - where we pride ourselves on our friendly and 1st class service with free wi-fi and a fully licensed bar. We have 10 rooms which are all en-suite and have flat screen digital televisions and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glenroy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing