We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hotel in Blackpool will beat this.”
Review of The Glenroy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glenroy Hotel
Ranked #185 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We stayed at the Glenroy Hotel as a group of 6 - me, my girlfriend and a few friends - on 30th January 2010. We were apprehensive at what the hotel would be like at first, purely because Blackpool are renowned for the worst places to stay, but we can happily say that our fears weren't just.

Pat and Maureen, the owners, were very friendly and helpful, and made sure we were comfortable and catered for. The rooms are very basic but clean and comfortable, all with en suites and freeview TVs. The downstairs bar was very convenient and good value, and Pat even called us a taxi to take us to the clubs and saw us out of the door! Breakfast was excellent, with full-english, cereals, juices and hot drinks on offer included in the price of the room.

Overall, very good, and great value for money. Apart from the hideously expensive hotels that hardly anyone could afford, no hotel in Blackpool will beat this. Would recommend it to anyone who are visiting Blackpool for any reason.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for The Glenroy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 122 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2009

We first stayed at the Glenroy hotel in 2008 as a one night stop for a night out with my partner his cousin and partner and myself. and couldnt fault the hotel at all. service is 5* food is brill and we liked it so much we have been back 2 times this year for 2 and 3 night stays. It is just off the sea front so you dont have all the traffic noise but you can sit in the front garden which has a little water feature and look at the promenade. bedrooms are clean and comfortable. It is perfect if you dont want to be treated as just another number, Pat and his lovely mum run the glenroy together and they have a much more personal touch where they will happily help you with anything and will gladly sit with you and have a chat. I have stayed in big hotels in blackpool and you just dont feel as comfortable and relaxed as you do at the glenroy. We will be going back again next year with our new arrival who is due in feb as they have facilities for families too.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayandash09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed at the Glenroy for two nights, the hotel is clean and tidy and the room we stayed in was a good size. The decor is like many hotels in Blackpool, a bit dated, but Pat who owns the hotel has grand ideas for it and if he puts even half the enthusiasm he has for his guests into the refurb it will be a success.
If I go back to Blackpool I will definately stay here, great breakfast, great host, great location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotgirllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

pat and his ma were great company and you could not ask for a betetr reception on arrival from pat his hotel is spotless warm and inviting an going back again in september me and some more girls cant wait xxx
value for money definetly and wel worth it too.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellex32x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2007

We were a hen party of 16 girls and chose this hotel as all rooms were en-suite and with this many girls all needing to get showered and ready that was a bonus.

For the price we paid we were a little anxious before we went but we needn't have worried, the hotel is clean and comfortable and Pat and Maureen who run this hotel are sooo friendly and willing to help you ou in anyway to make your stay enjoyable.

I would definately reccommend this hotel to anyone and we are already planning on going back next year for another girls hen weekend

Thanks

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flopsy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2007

we have just returned from a weekend at the glenroy hotel. i would definately recommend this hotel to people. this hotel and the rooms are very clean and comfortable, and have everything you need. pat and his mum who run the hotel are lovely and make you feel really welcome. there always there if ever you need anything. you also get a good laugh with the stories that pat tells you. (he likes gossip). if you stay at this hotel the breakfast is worth getting up for, hungover or not.
thanx again.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmcnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#9 of 73 in Blackpool
1,252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
1.8 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,102 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#19 of 859 in Blackpool
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#4 of 859 in Blackpool
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenroy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenroy Hotel

Address: 10 Trafalgar Road, Blackpool FY1 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £41 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenroy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We ae a family run traditional bed and breakfast - where we pride ourselves on our friendly and 1st class service with free wi-fi and a fully licensed bar. We have 10 rooms which are all en-suite and have flat screen digital televisions and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glenroy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing