We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Blackpool”
Review of The Hotel Wilmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hotel Wilmar
Ranked #175 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2012

From the friendly welcome with cup of tea/squash to the photos in the lounge when you leave, the Hotel Wilmar is like a home from home.
Derek and Rhian are so welcoming to everyone who stays, and they go out of their way to make you feel at home. The Wilmar is the cleanest place I have stayed at in many years of visiting Blackpool, and the rooms/beds are all well kept and comfortable.
When you arrive, you complete a tick list of what you want for your breakfast each morning, so that unlike most other places, you only get the stuff you want, and when it comes, freshly cooked by Derek, it doesn't disappoint and is delicious and filling.
Night times, the Wilmar comes to life as the dining room turns into the bar, and Derek switches on the karaoke machine, and you all (including Derek) get to have a really fun evening.
The Wilmar is located in a fairly quiet road just back from the seafront on the South Shore and is just a 5 minute walk from the rollercoasters of Blackpool Pleasure Beach.
If you're going to Blackpool, then I would definitely recommend staying at the Wilmar. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

the hotel was very clean,tidy, Derek and Rhiannon were the most friendliest and welcoming people we have ever met. nothing was to much trouble, and he even sang me happy birthday on his karaoke!!!! well done, defo go back. this hotel would suit anyone

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at the Wilmar hotel recently and were very pleasantly surprised, the hotel and our stay was even better than we expected! The hotel itself has great facilities, it's spotlessly clean and is in a good location within walking distance of the Pleasure beach so very handy if you're travelling with kids or don't want to spend all day trekking from A to B. Derek and Rhian (the owners) are the most lovely, welcoming people and throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble for them (and Derek makes a mean breakfast!). If you're looking for a great b&b in Blackpool, I'd highly recommend the Wilmar. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FoodMoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We ( 2 adults 2 teens) stayed 2 nights at Hotel Wilmar. Our stay lived up to our expectations from the friendly welcome and cup of tea on arrival to the request to 'phone us to let us know you got home safe' on leaving.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, though Rhiannon was dismayed at my small appetite and I was encouraged to add vege sausages to my breakfast selection.
We had the family room on the top floor up 3 flights of stairs. We had a double bed with a very small ensuite shower - might be a problem if you are larger than average, a sink in the bedroom and the boys had bunk beds and sink in an adjoining room with curtain across the doorway for privacy. Bottled water and chocolates on the pillows were a nice touch.
The B&B is 10 minutes walk from Blackpool South railway station and less than 5 minutes walk from the Pleasure Beach.There is a newsagents across the road where you can buy your tram/bus passes.
Hotel Wilmar is definitely the place to stay in Blackpool, we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank meezersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The hotel Wilmar is a delightful place to stay, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves the whole time that we were there. Derek & Rihanna are such wonderful people and did above and beyond the normal expectations of any hotel owners. The breakfast was divine and filled us all up for a good 6 hours each day! Breakfast was tailored to just how we liked it and we cannot fault any part of it. The beds were so comfortable, and we all slept very well. The room was a perfect size for what we needed, and i think i speak on behalf of anyone who has stayed,in saying if we ever return to blackpool, the hotel Wilmar will be where we will be staying! Thank you for everything :) Mark, Theresa, Joanna & Sam

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Got home today after spending a couple of nights with Derek and Rhianon at the Wilmar. They made us very welcome, and were super with our kids too. Nothing was too much trouble and we'll defknately be back the next time we are visiting Blackpool. Thanks again and see you soon. Simon, Caroline, Joe and Sam. Ps happy birthday for tomorrow Rhianon

Room Tip: If you have family, ask for number 6, which has a separate room with bunks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buckstats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Welcomed with coffee and biscuits after long drive. Hosts very friendly and very attentative. Rooms spotlessly clean and spacious enough for our needs. Quiet location just a couple of minutes walk from pleasure beach. Breakfast cooked very well and very filling. We would definitely return on our next trip to Blackpool

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davelel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jeanne
Hotel Jeanne
#177 of 863 in Blackpool
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beverley Dean
Beverley Dean
#29 of 863 in Blackpool
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#99 of 863 in Blackpool
211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 134 in Blackpool
155 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Wilmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Wilmar

Address: 42 Osborne Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £58 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Wilmar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Wilmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing