We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Guest House”
Review of The Hotel Wilmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hotel Wilmar
Ranked #165 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

High Five to Derek & Rhian on there hospitality!!

Your welcome is presented with a hot cuppa after any journey. Excellent!!! Much needed, even more so, depending on the journey. Lol.

Breakfast, well!!! What I can I say!! You get a choice when you book in, for the next day, very good choice, I
Will say that what they offer, you may have to sleep or walk it off. What you ask for they will not hesitate to give... Brilliant!!!!

Rooms they offer! Me and my Partner was with our 2 year Daughter and more than pleased on the room. Nice Cot and adequate room needed for your stay.

Truly a very friendly couple...

Will not hesitate to book again and pop in to see them if on a visit to Blackpool!!! Especially on Illumintions period.

Anyone who is not happy with the service that Derek & Rhian give need testing..or HELP

The Guest House is not situated in the Central part of Blackpool which is nice, but a couple minutes from the Pleasure Beach Complex. Opposite South Pier. While sleeping, never heard any noise, so very pleasant.

Enough said!!!!!!

Anyone who is thinking of spending time in Blackpool. Please visit

WILMAR HOTEL..

You won't be disappointed.

Allan, Justine & Baby Charlotte.......

Kisses to-

Rhian & Derek........

100%....... Top Couple!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just back from a short stay in Blackpool and can't recommend this place enough. I had booked 2 rooms between 3 adults and 2 kids and we were all very happy with the overall experience. The hosts were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Location is great being only a 2 minute walk from the Pleasure Beach, The Sandcastle and the South Pier. Although we probably won't visit Blackpool again till the kids are a bit bigger, I already know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianz1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Derek and Rhian are the best at what they do. They could not do more to help you with anything and I mean anything.The welcome is always the same, friendly and accommodating and you are made to feel right at home. The breakfasts are excellent, home cooked and a wide variety to choose from. You can have anything from a piece of fruit to a full English. The rooms are always clean and tidy and well maintained. They are always cleaned if requested. The location is excellent for the pleasure beach and about a 30 - 45 minute walk into the town or you can catch the tram or bus.
I love staying here and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Me and my husband are already planning our 10th trip to Blackpool.
We look forward to seeing you next year for our yearly visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Just got back today after staying at the Wilmar for the last 2 nights. We could not have stayed anywhere better. Derek and Rianne could not have done anymore. They were the perfect hosts, very friendly and nothing to much trouble. The rooms were very comfortable with everything you need. Nice cosy lounge. Well stocked bar. The breakfast was brilliant. We have not only left enjoying our stay but we have left with 2 new friends in Derek and Rianne. We can't wait to return.

Peter, Tracey. Doreen and Dave.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peter528795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

STOP READING ALL OTHER REVIEWS, YOU HAVE FOUND THE BEST B&B IN BLACKPOOL...Just got back from the Wilmar after a long weekend. What a great B&B. Really friendly sorted out a card and a cake for my wife's birthday when we just mentioned the day before. Breakfast was great and Derek and Rhiannon could not have been more helpful, and there recommendations for things to do and places to go were spot on. Will not stay anywhere else but here when we go back to Blackpool. Can not thank Derek and Rhiannon enough for a great stay, looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed in the Hotel Wilmar to visit the pleasure beach. We arrived early but our room was ready. Offerred a cup of tea as soon as we arrived. Derek and Rhiannon were very friendly and welcoming. 5 minute walk to pleasure beach and to tram stop which takes you right along the promenade. Room clean and comfortable and breakfast in the morning very tasty. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank milkybuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just visiting Blackpool for one night for my lads 8th birthday so we could go to the Sandcastle water park. The Mrs selected The Hotel Wilmar for A, It's location to the Pleasure Beach and Sandcastle and B, for it's great past reviews. Totally justified. What a lovely couple and great hosts Derek and Rhian are, made you feel right at home and couldn't do enough for you. They even went to the trouble of getting my lad a birthday card and a cake! Ok the rooms aren't palatial but they are perfectly clean and comfortable and more then adequate with freeview tele and en suite facilities. Kids had a fantastic sized bunk bed which was great and it was even in a curtained off section! Dereks breakfast was phenomenal. You fill out a little welcome form and circle your breakfast requirements and it is definitely catered for, fantastic! Even Lurpak butter for your toast! I must admit I've not sampled any other B&B's in Blackpool and you know what when I go back I won't be going anywhere else but back here. 1st class hospitality. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Oakleysontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#89 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,425 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#152 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Wilmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Wilmar

Address: 42 Osborne Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £44 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Wilmar 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Wilmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing