We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break”
Review of The Berwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Berwick
Ranked #199 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the Berwick as a base for visiting relatives. Yvonne & Eddie gave us a warm welcome and we enjoyed our stay
in clean, comfortable surroundings with excellent food and services.
Would recommend this hotel in every way and it's in our diary for
our next visit.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Thankyou for choosing the Berwick for your stay in Blackpool to visit relatives. It was a pleasure to meet the two of you and we appreciate the time taken to write this review.
Spending time in welcoming guests as they arrive has always been one of our priorities and an opportunity to get to know you a little better, and you us.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at the bewrick on 26/08/2012 and found the hotel owners Eddie and yvonne made us feel very welcome , even though we turned up early. the room was very clean and spacious, the room was quiet and bed very comfortable.
the 4 course evening meal was fantastic and the breakfast was to die for, well worth the money, and we will definatly be staying at the Berwick Hotel Blackpool again. i have already recommended this to family and friends if they visiting the area.

Top marks Eddie and Yvonne !

Room Tip: Tips for rooms not needed with this hotel, all rooms are equally fantastic .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy_Mark_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

It was a pleasure to meet the two of you during your short stay with us. We appreciate the comments you have made in the review and the time taken to write it. We pride ourselves in the quality of our home made meals, both at breakfst and evening meal and we are pleased that you enjoyed them both.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Just had a weekend break at the Berwick after being in London for the olympics and breaking the journey home, room was booked at very short notice but a gem of a find. Yvonne and Eddie were wonderful hosts from the minute we arrived to the day we departed. Made us feel like family rather than guests staying at their hotel. Food was excellent and the hotel is very clean tidy and welcoming. Room was clean tidy and very comfortable. Would have no hesitation recommending it and we will deffinately be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for your comments about the Berwick. We are pleased your experience with us was enjoyable and you felt like 'one of the family'. We have always tried to create a home from home feeling and your comments show that we are achieving that.
Congratulations on your recent wedding and we wish you a long and happy married life.
Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

yvonne and eddie are the best hosts ever we went as guests but were treated as family good food excellent service clean and very comfortable they could not do enough for us we would not stay any where else would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone value for money too in every way

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for the kind comments you have made about ourselves and The Berwick. We always endeavour to maintain high standards in every aspect of the hotel, but cleanliness, good food and excellent customer service are our priorities.
We look forward to your next visit to Blackpool and your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

just had a few days break at The Berwick with our Grandson. Excellent food and very high standards. Would recommend to anyone. Evonne and Eddie were very helpful and accommodated us at very short notice

H & B with J

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

We give a friendly welcome all our guests to The Berwick, but it is particularly good to meet people who have been recommended by one of our regular guests. This is the best form of advertising for us and shows that our guests appreciate our hard work.
It was a pleasure to meet all of you and we are especially pleased you enjoyed your short break in Blackpool with your grandson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

we stayed at the berwick during the open golf championship at royal lytham and had a very enjoyable time.evonne and eddie were great hosts and could not have been more hospitable.the accomadation was very comfortable and very clean and the breakfasts tasty.we would have no hesitation recommending it.

bill m

Room Tip: first floor front roon was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Berwick. The golf week was a busy week for all of us and it was good to have people staying from all over the UK and Ireland. We endeavour to create a home from home experience and were glad that you found our hotel comfortable for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Having attended every Open golf tournament since 1998 I would rate The Berwick as the best place I have stayed at in that time.Yvonne and Eddie were the most accomodating hosts, from tea and biscuits on arrival to Eddie collecting my case from my room on departure. The hotel was close to the local tram and bus stops making access to the town centre and golf easy.My room was clean, comfortable and well furnished. A hearty breakfast was always followed by a good chat with the hosts and the other guests. Anyone travelling to Blackpool should check out The Berwick first. I hope Yvonne and Eddie are still running The Berwick the next time the Open is at Royal Lytham.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you for your appreciative comments and taking the time to post a review. After a long journey it is nice to receive a welcoming drink and it is something we have always provided for our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the open golf and our proximity to the transport systems to make your time getting to the venue easier.
We look forward to seeing you at the Berwick again, even if it is in 8 or 10 years time when the open possibly returns to Royal Lytham and St Annes!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#92 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#140 of 863 in Blackpool
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 136 in Blackpool
157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#342 of 863 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berwick

Address: 23 King Edward Avenue | North Shore, Blackpool FY2 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £50 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berwick 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berwick is a small, family run guest house in the North Shore area of Blackpool. Recently awarded a 4* rating from The AA. We have 8 en-suite bedrooms providing for mature couples, singles and responsible groups. We pride ourselves on our clean comfortable accommodation with good food and a friendly atmosphere. Evening meals are an optional provision and drinks from our licenced bar are served in the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Berwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing