We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three night stay”
Review of The Berwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Berwick
Ranked #199 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Our reason for visiting Blackpool was to meet up with relatives from the South who wanted to see the Illuminations and The Berwick provided an excellent base for us. Yvonne and Eddie never let their high standards slip once. Excellent accommodation, very clean and welcoming. The bedroom we had was roomy, warm, well furnished with extremely comfortable beds. We were expecting a very small en-suite shower but were pleasantly surprised. All towels and bedding were of good quality and well-laundered. Breakfast was excellent (perfectly poached eggs!) and the choice for both breakfast and dinner very good indeed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Berwick. We welcome all comments made by our guests and are very pleased when we succeed in satisfying their needs. It was lovely to meet the two of you and hope the next time you visit relatives you will use us as your base again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

Blackpool is reviving and in no small part due to excellent little hotels like the Berwick. Owners Eddie and Yvonne provide above and beyond service with a personal yet non intrusive touch. The rooms are also a very pleasant surprise - roomy, airy and with all amenities. Would definitely recommend and would stay there in preference to the many larger establishments.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

It was lovely to meet the family of two of our regular guests.It is always good to be able to put a face to a person we hear so much about. when your parents stay with us.
We thank you for taking the time to write a review and appreciate the comments you have put.
Blackpool is moving forward with lots of changes and improvements and we hope to be a part of that for the foreseeable future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at "The Berwick" for a few days from 5th September and would like to take this opportunity of thanking Eddie and Yvonne for their friendly welcome and thoughtfulness during our stay. We were bed and breakfast which was magic. Our room was very comfortable and extemely clean. A credit to Eddie and Yvonne. Would certainly recommend this hotel and will most certainly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Berwick.
One of our priotities here is the comfort of our guests and according to your comments we are achieving this. WE like to think of all our guests as being part of an extended family and we look forward to your return in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the Berwick as a base for visiting relatives. Yvonne & Eddie gave us a warm welcome and we enjoyed our stay
in clean, comfortable surroundings with excellent food and services.
Would recommend this hotel in every way and it's in our diary for
our next visit.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Thankyou for choosing the Berwick for your stay in Blackpool to visit relatives. It was a pleasure to meet the two of you and we appreciate the time taken to write this review.
Spending time in welcoming guests as they arrive has always been one of our priorities and an opportunity to get to know you a little better, and you us.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at the bewrick on 26/08/2012 and found the hotel owners Eddie and yvonne made us feel very welcome , even though we turned up early. the room was very clean and spacious, the room was quiet and bed very comfortable.
the 4 course evening meal was fantastic and the breakfast was to die for, well worth the money, and we will definatly be staying at the Berwick Hotel Blackpool again. i have already recommended this to family and friends if they visiting the area.

Top marks Eddie and Yvonne !

Room Tip: Tips for rooms not needed with this hotel, all rooms are equally fantastic .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy_Mark_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

It was a pleasure to meet the two of you during your short stay with us. We appreciate the comments you have made in the review and the time taken to write it. We pride ourselves in the quality of our home made meals, both at breakfst and evening meal and we are pleased that you enjoyed them both.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Just had a weekend break at the Berwick after being in London for the olympics and breaking the journey home, room was booked at very short notice but a gem of a find. Yvonne and Eddie were wonderful hosts from the minute we arrived to the day we departed. Made us feel like family rather than guests staying at their hotel. Food was excellent and the hotel is very clean tidy and welcoming. Room was clean tidy and very comfortable. Would have no hesitation recommending it and we will deffinately be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for your comments about the Berwick. We are pleased your experience with us was enjoyable and you felt like 'one of the family'. We have always tried to create a home from home feeling and your comments show that we are achieving that.
Congratulations on your recent wedding and we wish you a long and happy married life.
Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

yvonne and eddie are the best hosts ever we went as guests but were treated as family good food excellent service clean and very comfortable they could not do enough for us we would not stay any where else would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone value for money too in every way

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for the kind comments you have made about ourselves and The Berwick. We always endeavour to maintain high standards in every aspect of the hotel, but cleanliness, good food and excellent customer service are our priorities.
We look forward to your next visit to Blackpool and your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#92 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#140 of 863 in Blackpool
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 136 in Blackpool
157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#342 of 863 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berwick

Address: 23 King Edward Avenue | North Shore, Blackpool FY2 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £50 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berwick 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berwick is a small, family run guest house in the North Shore area of Blackpool. Recently awarded a 4* rating from The AA. We have 8 en-suite bedrooms providing for mature couples, singles and responsible groups. We pride ourselves on our clean comfortable accommodation with good food and a friendly atmosphere. Evening meals are an optional provision and drinks from our licenced bar are served in the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Berwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing