We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no body does it better”
Review of The Berwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Berwick
Ranked #206 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 November 2012

we had booked a short break for our 25th wedding with our two sons who had never stopped in a guest house before .We were welcomed and treated better than the queen herself .The rooms were spotless the meals were of the highest standard fresh hot and pentiful .Yuonne and Eddy encompassed our lads and all the other guest in conversation and a genuine interest in what they had done during the day we all had good interactions post dinner. Any request was honoured and the host went an extra mile. Ihad never found such proffessionalism of this standard an excellent place to stay

Room Tip: no woorries on any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOSTINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed here with our 6 week old daughter and was accommodated extremely well. We were offered a travel cot and was placed in a room where we had enough room for our daughter to sleep and for us to move around. The breakfast was amazing and I could eat the toast all day. Before we left we booked ourselves in for next year. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derbycouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Just returned from a short break to see Blackpool's illuminations. Son booked The Berwick near to the Cliffs without knowing what to expect. What a revelation! In 'old man's' terms, this is a B&B Guest House but step inside and the quality will take some beating, anywhere! Superb quality decoration, space to move in all the rooms and the food, "home cooked" might suffice but that has been overdone elsewhere and this is real quality home cooked "with a twist". You want the tastiest poached eggs without that taste of vinegar? Got it. Melt-in-the-mouth choccie pudding with Baileys you can really taste? Got it. Roast beef that doesn't taste like roast leather? Got it. Value for money? ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS.

Room Tip: The rooms will not disappoint you - all are quite superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyT49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for such positive comments about the Berwick and us. We appreciate all comments made, but these were especially heart warming. Our home cooked food is very popular with all our guests and requests are frequently made for certain dishes, steak and mushroom pie being a prime example, as well as chocolate sponge with Bailey's cream! All I can say is thank you to your son for choosing The Berwick for your short break to see the illuminations. We look forward to your next visit.
Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

andy and jayne from stoke on trent we stayed at the berwick this weekend been there before standards were exellent as we new they would be yvonne and eddie were their usual friendley selves warm welcome when we arrived and hot drinks rooms were warm and very clean and comfy had a lovley weekend looking forward to our next stay with them

Room Tip: had room on south side very quiet and warm and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Berwick again. It was goood to see you and also to meet other members of your family. It is good to hear that our standards are still as good as you remember. We always endeavour to provide quality service and facilities so that guests feel they can return to The Berwick.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the comments you have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

my sister and myself went back for a second time this year in august 2012, evonne and eddie welcomed us with tea and coffee as we arrived , food once again realy nice an home made ,rooms were superb spotless ,

Room Tip: stairs a bit narrow so no lift choose a room on the bottom floor if your getting on in years
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for your review about the Berwick. We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a positive response. We are asked all the time whether we have a lift or ground floor rooms, but unfortunately due to safety regulations, we are unable to have a lift installed. We unfortunately have no ground floor rooms. We always assist guests with their luggage to their bedroom and will 'fetch and carry' if requested.
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Our reason for visiting Blackpool was to meet up with relatives from the South who wanted to see the Illuminations and The Berwick provided an excellent base for us. Yvonne and Eddie never let their high standards slip once. Excellent accommodation, very clean and welcoming. The bedroom we had was roomy, warm, well furnished with extremely comfortable beds. We were expecting a very small en-suite shower but were pleasantly surprised. All towels and bedding were of good quality and well-laundered. Breakfast was excellent (perfectly poached eggs!) and the choice for both breakfast and dinner very good indeed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Berwick. We welcome all comments made by our guests and are very pleased when we succeed in satisfying their needs. It was lovely to meet the two of you and hope the next time you visit relatives you will use us as your base again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Blackpool is reviving and in no small part due to excellent little hotels like the Berwick. Owners Eddie and Yvonne provide above and beyond service with a personal yet non intrusive touch. The rooms are also a very pleasant surprise - roomy, airy and with all amenities. Would definitely recommend and would stay there in preference to the many larger establishments.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyvon, Owner at The Berwick, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

It was lovely to meet the family of two of our regular guests.It is always good to be able to put a face to a person we hear so much about. when your parents stay with us.
We thank you for taking the time to write a review and appreciate the comments you have put.
Blackpool is moving forward with lots of changes and improvements and we hope to be a part of that for the foreseeable future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,259 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,375 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#92 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#140 of 863 in Blackpool
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#102 of 135 in Blackpool
157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#347 of 863 in Blackpool
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berwick

Address: 23 King Edward Avenue | North Shore, Blackpool FY2 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berwick 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berwick is a small, family run guest house in the North Shore area of Blackpool. Recently awarded a 4* rating from The AA. We have 8 en-suite bedrooms providing for mature couples, singles and responsible groups. We pride ourselves on our clean comfortable accommodation with good food and a friendly atmosphere. Evening meals are an optional provision and drinks from our licenced bar are served in the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Berwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing