We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From 5 star to Blackpool”
Review of Blencarn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blencarn Hotel
Ranked #187 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My girlfriends always laugh at me from staying in 5 star hotels to loving going to great small hotels in the UK. I love Blackpool out of season (never go on a Saturday night if under 30 ! Sunday is much better and you can enjoy the bars )
We found the Blencarn 3 yeas ago as another favorite B&B had closed. Could not fault and have stayed many time since. Dave the owner makes sure everything is run well. I like the room on the very top floor with sea views - nice and large and although only a small shower room - perfect for a few days - spick and span clean which is more important. Great excercise too climbing the 3 floors but there is a lift from basement to top. Great British breakfast, and always obliging with check in / check out and drink when you get back in - if not too late! It is also only 10 to 15 mins walk into town, or quick cab ride - always available and the parking outside is safe ......which is important to me ! Definitely worth a try for that break at the seaside without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Chose a Sea View .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We needed and electric outlet converter having left one behind at the last B&B. Dave the owner was very accommodating. He found one immediately and allowed me to take it when I left. Parking was a bit of a challenge in that cars had to be rotated when we needed to get it out, but there was always a spot. We were helped with our luggage and shown around. The place is a bit old, but clean, quiet and worth the price. The neighborhood is somewhat seedy, but so is the town. The linens, breakfast room & breakfast were better than expected. A good value.

Room Tip: There is a lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

booked this last minute after doing a run in blackpool and deciding to stay over. The owner Dave was very accomodating and a great guy. The room although small was very clean and had a lovely sea view. Breakfast was superb and plentifull. I would definately go back and reccomend to anyone.Please ignore any negative reviews as clearly these people dont understand the concept of traditional b+b accomodation and obviously expect 5 star for the price!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millsg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

It is true that the decor is quite old-fashioned and dated, but this hotel is spotlessly clean, with crisp white bed linen, and the best, friendly, helpful and personal service you could possibly ask for. Dave was happy to offer suggestions, and nothing seemed too much trouble, He even arranged for a mobility scooter for my mother-in-law, and sorted out charging it up each evening. The lady in charge of the breakfast room was also friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very good. If you want a boutique hotel or an impersonal bland chain, then Blencarn Hotel is probably not for you. But if you can see past the dated decor, then the Blencarn offers great value for money (also with family rooms), and Dave is a super host.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northwind1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Not what we expected. This is two star b&b. stayed right at top and our room was small, tired and grubby.
There was tea and coffee facilities in the room which consisted of dirty limescale kettle.
No hair dryer in room which was not very helpful.
The bathroom needed a good clean.
There was a television it could only pick
up one channel and we could not get any sound!
Full English breakfast was average at best and there was no choice but have what they gave u.
Only good thing is that we only stayed there for two nights so we could put up with it. Any longer and we would have complained.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayleybarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights as I was attending a nearby music festival. Great first impression on arrival, Dave is a very attentive host. Our room was spotless and smelled really fresh. There is a large lounge for the guests use and a bar in the breakfast room.

Good location right across the road from the beach and only a 5-10 minute walk into the centre of town. So this is perfect for those wanting the hustle and bustle during the day and the peace and quiet on a night. We talked to many of the other guests on the balcony during our stay and found that there were a few repeat visitors - always a good sign.

The breakfast is tasty and plentiful and the lady serving is absolutely lovely (apologies I didn't catch her name) but she offered us more toast and milk everyday.

I compared this place with some that my friends were staying at nearer the centre of town and I honestly don't know how the level of accomodation at the Blencarn is on offer for this price. Will I be back? Absolutely!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Dave and Madge certainley make you welcome.Stayed at the end of july on a 2 day break.Food was terrific.Loaction is great near enough to walk to the Tower but far enough away from the wild night life for it not to be a disturbance.Good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michalean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,310 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#46 of 73 in Blackpool
214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Helmshore Hotel
Helmshore Hotel
#229 of 863 in Blackpool
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#255 of 863 in Blackpool
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#99 of 863 in Blackpool
211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#117 of 863 in Blackpool
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blencarn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blencarn Hotel

Address: 294 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £44 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blencarn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blencarn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing