We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SHORT BREAK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Boston Hotel
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SHORT BREAK”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Thank you to Angela in reception Ollie and Andy in the bar and the rest of the staff at the Boston hotel,entertainment every night,all the the singers excellent,clean room food great,only thing was the weather,would go in the summer next time.

Room Tip: all the rooms comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killiegirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    241
    58
    12
    18
See reviews for
256
290
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Nine of us booked this long weekend away (Friday-Monday) to see the lights, the hotel was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful, entertainment was great on the first night OK on the second (sorry didn't really like the compare for the evening) and good on the 3rd night (Oli the barman doubles up as a singer as well) Karaoke was available and some of the guests availed themselves of this facility

Location meant there was a bit of a travel to get to the centre of Blackpool (10 mins on a tram) but as you get a tram/bus pass (covers both) as part of the deal then it wasn't a real problem.

The food was excellent 4 course evening meal and full english breakfast every day meant that we all came home a few pounds heavier

My only complaints are
1) The heat in the hotel was a bit overwhelming, had to turn off the heating and open the window in the room but couldn't do anything about the rest of the hotel.
2) The shower didn't work properly (room 109)
3) The drain in the bath was a bit noisey (the drain in the bath gurgled as the sink drained away, expect it needs an airvent installed somewhere in the system)

There is some refurbishment work being carried out over the winter time so it may have changed slighty by the time we get there next year, which we are starting to arrange already.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hlaverty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Had a great weekend away, staying in the Boston. The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean, and the food was good. Although we didn't stay for the nightly entertainment in the bar, we were assured it was excellent. We are considering a return trip to Blackpool next year and will be booking the Boston.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCFaulds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Just on our way home from yet another fab weekend and the Boston. Staff are all so lovely and friendly, foods fab and entertainment is great. Booked up for Jan before we left today and already can't wait to go back and see the refurb

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmuir14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My family and I stayed at the Boston for a week's holiday. The service was first class. The decor is a wee bit dated but still very clean and tidy. (It's about to get a make over). The Staff were excellent and couldn't do anymore for us. They wre always friendly, courteous and very helpful.
I would definitely reccomend this Hotel for a friendly relaxing family holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stay here with our friends and family every year that we go to Blackpool. The reasons for this is
1) the staff are welcoming and let us get booked in before normal check in time as we have at least a 5hr drive
2) some of the staff know as us soon as we walk in the door
3) as we take a mini bus, we have the knowledge that we have got the space at the side to park
4) we have anywhere between 12-20 people our group and not once have they had trouble getting us all booked in for the weekend that we would like to go. We go in October so that we can also see the lights

When you check in you get your card so that the staff all know that you are staying there, your room key and a menu for dinner on the first night and you pay £5 deposit for your travel card to use on the bus or trams and you get that back at the end of your stay as it is valid for a week.

When looking at your menu, after you have filled it in, you hand it to one of the staff in the dinning room and they will then show where you shall be seating for the duration of your stay for any meals that you have. Breakfast you can have a choice of cereal or a fried breakfast or both, the cereal you help yourself to along with juice. With the fried breakfast, you get one sausage, piece of bacon and a fired egg and they then give you either fried break, potato slice, hash brown black pudding, tomato and beans on different days. At the end of breakfast you hand your menu for dinner to one of the staff if you are staying there, we tend to eat in on the friday night and out on the saturday and sunday as we have got a couple of regular places that we go to

The rooms have all recently been refurbished and I have seen the progress of all the changes that have been happening and there are more changes to be made. Any way, I digress, the rooms have all got either a double or single bed with built in furniture, a wardrobe, a chest of drawers and bedside tables. You will either have a shower or a bath all depending on the size of the room. You have got tea/coffee making facilities which get replenished every day as house keeping will come and make the beds, towels get changed on departure days which are mondays and fridays as you can stay either mon-fri or fri-mon (fri-mon is what we do).

The hotel has got entertainment and bingo every night. You tend to have an bingo first and then 1 act followed by more bingo and the final act. We found out that they have got Karaoke there this yr, but as they did not have any of the books out, we were not able to do it as did not know what was available. We think that 2 rounds of bingo is a bit to much in one night, would be better if it was just the one round.

The location of the hotel is very good as you are just outside town, but are within walking distance if you are getting fed up with waiting for a tram or bus as they don't seam to run to the time table and they can get busy so, even if one does come along, you may not be able to get on it. One thing to bear in mind, is that there are a lot of Scottish people that stay at the hotel as the company (blackpool promotions) avdverties a lot in scottland, but other than that, you have a fab time and the staff look after you realy well and they always remember us coming up from surrey every yr

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffy19811980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Have stayed in the Boston on several occasions. The bedrooms have been refurbished and this has made a difference.

Dining and Bar staff are always friendly. Main problem with this hotel is the poor quality of the food. I've never seen a breakfast so small! One morning, my mum asked if I'd ordered a child's portion! But no, one sausage, one rasher of bacon, one fried egg (hard yolk!) and one small bit of fried bread is a standard breakfast! No beans!! Have never been in a Blackpool hotel where they didn't give you beans for breakfast. Also the salmon, arrived drowned in butter (i don't eat butter!) When I requested one without butter, I got a very dry piece of salmon!

And! Two things to beware of!
1) £10 deposit for travel cards for Blackpool Promotion Customers if you arrive on a Friday!
2) This hotel caters mainly for pensioners! When we were there, it was only myself, the couple sitting next to me and a girl in her late teens that were under 60!!! This is not a criticism but just to let you know!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glaschelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#29 of 70 in Blackpool
846 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,905 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Boston Hotel

Property: The Royal Boston Hotel
Address: 34 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Boston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Boston Hotel in Blackpool, is located on the Queens Promenade North Shore. This Blackpool hotel is well known for great food, great entertainment and for it's quality accommodation. Trams and bus stops are only a few steps away so you will have no problems reaching other parts of this great resort. The Royal Boston hotel has friendly staff who always go that extra mile to ensure your holiday stay will be something you will remember. The Royal Boston Hotel in Blackpool has top class entertainment each evening with Bingo, Disco's and Karaoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing