We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another amazing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Boston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Boston Hotel
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
205 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Another amazing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in the Boston, where the staff are friendly and the atmosphere is just brilliant.
The new chef, Chris is following in the footsteps of the legendary Maggie with good food and an excellent menu.
The entertainment is excellent, although the new compere needs to learn to call the bingo rather than switching on a machine to do it for him and he needs to keep the music to an acceptable leve. We were in a room above the bar which reverberated to the noise from the bar at one point. We did have the wonderful Aideen for one night, her personality sparkles and she is loved by the audience.
Gary the manager goes all out to keep the customer satisfied and Joe makes sure the dining room runs like clockwork. Ollie keeps the bar going and if you don't drink alcohol, I can highly recommend his non-alcoholic cocktails.
Our room was spotless, we had to open a window on the first day as it was too warm but we did find the controls to turn down the heating.
Will we be back? Of course we will, as soon as possible

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaKilmarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    229
    55
    10
    16
See reviews for
248
275
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Second time at this hotel.Would not stay in any other when visiting Blackpool.The staff without exception were fantastic.Food was very good always good choices as always Joe ran his wee socks off making everybody seem special.(Dont know his wages but he deserves a bonus.)all the staff made our holiday as nothing was too much trouble.evening cabaret kept us well entertained ,no need to go anywhere else.will DEFINATELY be back thanks to the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for one with good heating.our bathroom was very cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Granmattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Bathroom was a bit small ..knees were up against bath which was not comfortable room basic.bathroom should be shower room bath a bit high to be climbing in you have to be a certain height to get your leg into bath, meals terriffc, entertainment terrific could not fault staff

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

From the reception to the rooms,everything was first class,we had a very enjoyable stay for the weekend,we got upgraded to one of their refurbished rooms on arrival.the room was lovely and tho the bathroom was small it was beautiful,who spends their holiday in the bathroom anyway. Lol the entertainment was brilliant from bar staff to the receptionist !fantastic stay,already planning for my partner to go,not with me, I might add!! Lol dining room was good fast service with a smile and great variety.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amberleafdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Boston. Staff very friendly and put on fantastic evening entertainment. Food tasted lovely, good portion sizes and served very quickly. Bar prices very good. Renovation of downstairs bar area was lovely and a credit to the hotel. Rooms were clean but was very small with little room to move in the bathroom. Rooms could do with further renovation but were clean and the bed was comfortable. On the beach front and a short tram ride to the town. All in all a nice weekend away. Hotel suited at over 60s.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madgebabes1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Brilliant entertainment and food was lovely. Ridiculously quick service in the restaurant and a varied choice of set meals. Location requires a 5-10 minute tram down to the town centre which is a pity. In saying that the tram stop is just across from the hotel and they come on time and are regular. One final note, Blackpool in February is freezing!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

my husband geoff and l,and our friends liz and donny had a wonderful stay in the boston yet again....staff is wonderful and very friendly....TOP MARKS FOR US goes to AIDEEN the compare and MICHAEL the waiter.....these 2 are a credit to the boston.....food was amazing,rooms where spotless and atmosphere was second to none....gary the manager is spot on the boston is a credit to him.....wee joe the head waiter is just magic....what else is there to say....WE WILL BE BACK SOON cant wait njoyed our stay so much xx

Room Tip: we have beenin a few rooms and to us there all nice would recommend this hotel thee best in blackpoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancyredmond123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#28 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#55 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Boston Hotel

Property: The Royal Boston Hotel
Address: 34 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Boston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Boston Hotel in Blackpool, is located on the Queens Promenade North Shore. This Blackpool hotel is well known for great food, great entertainment and for it's quality accommodation. Trams and bus stops are only a few steps away so you will have no problems reaching other parts of this great resort. The Royal Boston hotel has friendly staff who always go that extra mile to ensure your holiday stay will be something you will remember. The Royal Boston Hotel in Blackpool has top class entertainment each evening with Bingo, Disco's and Karaoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Lastminute, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing